Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Resmed A10 Pressure runup without apparent cause
RE: Resmed A10 Pressure runup without apparent cause
I'm still new at this, and I use straight CPAP, so I don't get a flow limitation graph in my own data, but here's the definition from the Apnea Board Definitions Wiki: "Flow Limitation - Partial closure of the upper airway, which impedes the flow of air into the lungs."

and here is a chart from Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead with different abnormal breathing (flow) waveforms and what each means.

My understanding is that flow limitation indicates that there's resistance in the airway that isn't severe enough to cause an apnea or hypopnea. Not sure that's correct.

(04-03-2016, 07:16 PM)Ed1101 Wrote: Seems trying to add a chart , I inadvertently posted twice and I cannot delete. One should not be logged in on iPad and then add image on computer without logout on iPad first. See post #9 for chart and reply.

Post Reply Post Reply
(04-03-2016, 06:35 PM)Ed1101 Wrote: I understand that higher is worse. How high would one expect it go if no air is flowing and what is the meaning of the "flat tops" on the flow rate graph? I do not understand the scale on the flow limitation chart.

Thanks for the explanation Vsheline, but I do not see a positive and negative on the flow limitation graph only what appears to be positive?

your "no air is flowing" is not applicable to flow limitations.

look at the tops of the airflow when the flow limitation graph is high, and compare that to the tops of the airflow when the flow limitation graph is low.