Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Resmed Aircurve 10 VAUTO malfunction
#1
I was dispensed a new Aircurve 10 Vauto near the end of February. Earlier this week it developed an intermittent failure where it would increase to the maximum set pressure, but with inadequate flow for inhalation. It's like sucking air through a small straw to inhale, but he EPAP pressure is so high the mask leaks. This results in a strong flow limited appearing wave form with flat inpiratory peaks and even unflagged hypopnea due to lack of flow, and a very high snore and leak rate.

The DME has stated that if the problem recurs they will swap out the unit. Last night, the machine malfunctioned again so I used a backup (PRS1 760). I won't be able to return the machine until the REMWorks DME opens Monday.

Mostly just want to document this malfunction here in case anyone else experiences it. It makes breathing difficult and you can actually watch the displayed pressure hang at EPAPmax and it goes to IPAP max only if you suck hard, so there is no pressure support. Also a low volume high pitched whistle from the machine that is not normally there.

[Image: hRv36Jil.png]
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
This is a more normal night recorded the night following the malfunction above.

[Image: uUzZCe1l.png]

Post Reply Post Reply
#3
There sure have been a lot of early life failures in ResMed 10 machines.
The QC just isn't there.

For the price, they should be culling the early failures by running (burn in) the machines for 100+ hours like a MIL-SPEC part.
But that costs $, so they do not. Let the end user cull the failures.

BTW -- can you post the high sample rate pressure?

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
Hi Sleeprider,
It's a good thing you had a backup machine.
Hopefully, you can get a new machine that works longer than a couple months, how frustrating.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  ResMed AirCurve 10 S ? monkeybusiness 29 857 1 hour ago
Last Post: Sleeprider
  New machine Aircurve vauto questions mtboy 4 54 3 hours ago
Last Post: mtboy
  Still tweaking Resmed Aircurve Vauto alps 1 46 3 hours ago
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Can you set Aircurve VAuto Bipap to run as an Auto Cpap? bluemom51 11 183 6 hours ago
Last Post: Walla Walla
  New Aircurve 10 ASV machine - help please Kolaphos 53 1,304 02-22-2018, 06:36 PM
Last Post: mhehe
  Prescribed Airsense 10 Autoset, can I use Aircurve S? jdlee2323 8 226 02-21-2018, 04:15 AM
Last Post: jdlee2323
  [Equipment] Aircurve vs Dreamstation Data Recording question bfry 31 747 02-16-2018, 08:31 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.