Post Reply 
Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. Help, please?
Author Message
LostGOG Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Quattro ™ FX Full Face Mask System
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Question Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. Help, please?
Before I start, I just wanted to mention that I've seen similar topics to this but they've failed to answer the question and I've also spent a couple of hours trying to find specific info on this problem.

I was diagnosed within the last 2 months and prescribed a cpap. My first cpap purchase was last week with the Resmed Airsense 10 Auto set. It works well, looks great, and just blows my expectations out of the water.

The only problem is I have no idea how to set my pressure. I've been prescribed at 11 but the machine is on the default of 4-20. Which has me waking up occasionally from too much pressure and a morning full of unrelenting flatulence... So I have two questions. How do I set a specific pressure? How do I set a maximum and minimum?

Thanks
09-16-2014 09:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #2
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. Help, please?
You'll find the link describing how to get the Clinician manual for this machine at http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...7#pid83437

Once you get into the menu's, I would suggest you set your minimum pressure at something higher than 4, I think I'd go about 7 at this point, and your max at something other than 20 --- probably around 14. The other issue is the ramp beginning pressure is probably set at 4. That's too low for me to be a happy camper, so I'd move that up to at least 6. I'd also reduce the ramp time to something more like 10 minutes max.

Then download the ResScan software from the information here http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...=99#pid99. Install the software and you'll be ready to start reviewing your results on the computer.

Enjoy your new machine! Keep us posted as to how it's working out for you.
(This post was last modified: 09-16-2014 09:44 PM by retired_guy.)
09-16-2014 09:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. Help, please?
(09-16-2014 09:28 PM)LostGOG Wrote:  I've been prescribed at 11 but the machine is on the default of 4-20. Which has me waking up occasionally from too much pressure and a morning full of unrelenting flatulence... So I have two questions. How do I set a specific pressure? How do I set a maximum and minimum?

Thanks
Hi LostGOG, welcome to the forum
All explained in the clinical manual, available via email, scroll down to "HOW TO ASK FOR A MANUAL VIA EMAIL"
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

You can start 2 cmh2o below and above prescribed pressure and see how it works out
Are using using EPR, EPR can be helpful to people having problems exhaling against pressure

Tips for new CPAP users and avoiding 10 common problems
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...CPAP_users
09-16-2014 09:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. Help, please?
Hi LostGOG,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
CONGRATULATIONS on the new machine and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
Hang in there for more responses to your post.

trish6hundred
09-17-2014 10:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Lahanna44 Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Testing ResMed Airsense 10 Aotoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX Nasal
Humidifier: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: WNC, USA

Post: #5
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. Help, please?
[quote='LostGOG' pid='83755' dateline='1410920910']
Before I start, I just wanted to mention that I've seen similar topics to this but they've failed to answer the question and I've also spent a couple of hours trying to find specific info on this problem.

I was diagnosed within the last 2 months and prescribed a cpap. My first cpap purchase was last week with the Resmed Airsense 10 Auto set. It works well, looks great, and just blows my expectations out of the water.

The only problem is I have no idea how to set my pressure. I've been prescribed at 11 but the machine is on the default of 4-20. Which has me waking up occasionally from too much pressure and a morning full of unrelenting flatulence... So I have two questions. How do I set a specific pressure? How do I set a maximum and minimum?

Thanks
[/quoteI am a current ResMed S9 cpap user,) 2 years at the same level. My pressure level is 8, my machine also has the humidity/heater which I use at a 5 humidity and 73 temp. I have been having issues at night with the use of my machine ( not sleeping well, restless legs, waking up with ears ringing, heart racing, dizzy etc. I made a visit to sleep doc and he recommended loaning me an Apap for a week to see how I would do ( thinking since I have a very small airway that I needed multi levels during the night ) and hopefully this would fix me up. Wink I picked up the loner Machine , a ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset with the pressure settings at 8-14 and Humidity at 5. I set up this machine last night and was excited to get a good nights sleep Dielaughing Boy was I wrong ! I was awake more than I was asleep , all night !! Every time the machine increased the pressure it woke me up ( due to the force of the air blowing out of my lips) and I spent several mins trying to get back to sleep. Also each time the pressure was increased , my nasal mask would start whistling around the hose connection ( geesh) and that drove me nuts Sad I woke up enough a couple of times to check the pressure and It was at 10, then around 5:30 am I woke with my chest hurting, burping and had acid reflux, hose whistling and a feeling of having swallowed way to much air, checked the pressure and it was at 11.3
( OMG) So...... I got up and set my S9 back up and went off to a restful slumber for the next 3 hours. GEESH !!!!! Epic fail. I am supposed to use this loner machine until Wed and I cant even use it one full night. Cannot reach a tech at my supply office ( weekend) to get help with this newfangled machine. I JUST WANNA SLEEP PEACEFULLY Big Grin. I know your pain Wink
09-20-2014 01:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Lahanna44 Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Testing ResMed Airsense 10 Aotoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX Nasal
Humidifier: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: WNC, USA

Post: #6
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. Help, please?
(09-20-2014 01:52 PM)Lahanna44 Wrote:  [quote='LostGOG' pid='83755' dateline='1410920910']
Before I start, I just wanted to mention that I've seen similar topics to this but they've failed to answer the question and I've also spent a couple of hours trying to find specific info on this problem.

I was diagnosed within the last 2 months and prescribed a cpap. My first cpap purchase was last week with the Resmed Airsense 10 Auto set. It works well, looks great, and just blows my expectations out of the water.

The only problem is I have no idea how to set my pressure. I've been prescribed at 11 but the machine is on the default of 4-20. Which has me waking up occasionally from too much pressure and a morning full of unrelenting flatulence... So I have two questions. How do I set a specific pressure? How do I set a maximum and minimum?

Thanks
[/quoteI am a current ResMed S9 cpap user,) 2 years at the same level. My pressure level is 8, my machine also has the humidity/heater which I use at a 5 humidity and 73 temp. I have been having issues at night with the use of my machine ( not sleeping well, restless legs, waking up with ears ringing, heart racing, dizzy etc. I made a visit to sleep doc and he recommended loaning me an Apap for a week to see how I would do ( thinking since I have a very small airway that I needed multi levels during the night ) and hopefully this would fix me up. Wink I picked up the loner Machine , a ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset with the pressure settings at 8-14 and Humidity at 5. I set up this machine last night and was excited to get a good nights sleep Dielaughing Boy was I wrong ! I was awake more than I was asleep , all night !! Every time the machine increased the pressure it woke me up ( due to the force of the air blowing out of my lips) and I spent several mins trying to get back to sleep. Also each time the pressure was increased , my nasal mask would start whistling around the hose connection ( geesh) and that drove me nuts Sad I woke up enough a couple of times to check the pressure and It was at 10, then around 5:30 am I woke with my chest hurting, burping and had acid reflux, hose whistling and a feeling of having swallowed way to much air, checked the pressure and it was at 11.3
( OMG) So...... I got up and set my S9 back up and went off to a restful slumber for the next 3 hours. GEESH !!!!! Epic fail. I am supposed to use this loner machine until Wed and I cant even use it one full night. Cannot reach a tech at my supply office ( weekend) to get help with this newfangled machine. I JUST WANNA SLEEP PEACEFULLY Big Grin. I know your pain Wink
It is my understanding that ( They) the docs and supply businesses do not want us to adjust our own levels, haha. I just this morning googled a search on how to do this myself , for my S9 . I found what I was looking for and adjusted it from 8 .8 ( I have been told that this needs to be done gradually over a few days ) I will see what happens tonight. Haven't been able to find out how to do it on the Airsense yet, will let you know if I find anything.
09-20-2014 01:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Lahanna44 Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Testing ResMed Airsense 10 Aotoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX Nasal
Humidifier: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: WNC, USA

Post: #7
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. Help, please?
(09-16-2014 09:28 PM)LostGOG Wrote:  Before I start, I just wanted to mention that I've seen similar topics to this but they've failed to answer the question and I've also spent a couple of hours trying to find specific info on this problem.

I was diagnosed within the last 2 months and prescribed a cpap. My first cpap purchase was last week with the Resmed Airsense 10 Auto set. It works well, looks great, and just blows my expectations out of the water.

The only problem is I have no idea how to set my pressure. I've been prescribed at 11 but the machine is on the default of 4-20. Which has me waking up occasionally from too much pressure and a morning full of unrelenting flatulence... So I have two questions. How do I set a specific pressure? How do I set a maximum and minimum?

Thanks Found the info you were needing : from the home menu on the screen ( with the my settings highlighted in blue ) hold down both the dial and the house button below the screen until a screen pops up that says ( Exit clinical Menu) at the top, click the round dial on the settings button and scroll down to max pressure. Do you have an Idea at what pressure you are at when it starts bothering you ? I would consider not setting it below your prescribed 14
09-20-2014 02:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 25 2,258 12-02-2016 11:02 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,200 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 221 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Angry Resmed Airsense/Telstra 2G wireless kerput JamesW 2 183 11-24-2016 11:08 PM
Last Post: JamesW
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 519 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 479 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  [CPAP] ResMed AirSense 10 makes loud noise when inhaling. sanger 86 29,970 11-17-2016 09:14 PM
Last Post: comphelp

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)