Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Resmed Airsense 10 Question
#1
Resmed Airsense 10 Question
I use a Resmed Airsense 10 machine and 90 to 95% of the time it works great.  My ramp up pressure is set to 6.  However, once in a while when I first turn on the machine, or when I'm up at night for a bathroom break and return to turn on the machine again, there is a problem.  At these random times the machine does not seem to ramp up properly and I struggle to breathe.  I've tried turning the machine off and back on again, unhooking the air hose and re-coupling it, but the only thing that works 100% of the time is to simply turn off the machine and wait for 45 minutes to an hour.  When I turn it back on, it ramps up fine and I can breathe in and out easily.  Anyone else have this experience and have a better solution ?
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
With a min pressure if 6 I'd suggest turning the ramp off

Download OSCAR and post your daily screenshot and we can provide more specific suggestions.
Gideon - Project Manager and Lead Tester for OSCAR - Open Source CPAP Analysis Reporter

Download OSCAR
New to Apnea? Helpful tips to ensure success
Soft Cervical Collar
Mask Primer
Dealing with a DME
Organize Charts
Optimizing Therapy
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
I've been considering asking for the minimum ramp pressure be increased to 7.  But before I request that I'll see if I can just turn the ramp off as you suggest and see if that works.
Thank you ! Smile
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
I checked on downloading and installing Oscar, but looks like it requires Mac OS 10.12+ and I'm pretty much stuck at OS 10.11 at present.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
Use this simple tutorial to learn how to access settings https://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-airsen...setup-info
Once in the settings, turn the control knob to scroll down to the comfort section where you will find Ramp. You can select ramp by pushing in the control knob, then simply turn it off and select. You can then scroll back to the top and select exit.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
OK, I'll turn off the ramp and see how things go tonight. Many thanks !
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
Will the current Oscar work with Mac OS X 10.11.6  ?
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
Unfortunately, no.   OSCAR uses At 5.12 and dropped support of 10.11 in favor of supporting 10.14.  Here is a link describing this.
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...#pid297358
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
___________________________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead and OSCAR
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
(01-21-2021, 03:52 PM)cpapedj Wrote: However, once in a while when I first turn on the machine, or when I'm up at night for a bathroom break and return to turn on the machine again, there is a problem.  At these random times the machine does not seem to ramp up properly and I struggle to breathe.  I've tried turning the machine off and back on again, unhooking the air hose and re-coupling it, but the only thing that works 100% of the time is to simply turn off the machine and wait for 45 minutes to an hour. 

When you first turn on the machine does the display show the pressure? If so, you can verify if the machine's pressure setting matches what it's supposed to be.

But I doubt anything is wrong with the machine. Before the bathroom break you have adapted to the pressure. Turn off the machine for that bathroom break and when you turn it back on it's now at the lower pressure, waiting to ramp up. You are not used to that lower pressure and you feel starved for air. If you turn the machine off for 45 minutes you adapt to normal atmospheric pressure. Now when you turn on the machine that starting pressure feels high enough.

The ramp feature is really for beginners. Most people report here that they don't use it. As others have advised, try turning it off.
Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#10
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Question
(01-22-2021, 12:21 PM)cpapedj Wrote: I checked on downloading and installing Oscar, but looks like it requires Mac OS 10.12+ and I'm pretty much stuck at OS 10.11 at present.

Do you have an older machine around? If so, you could do a Linux install on it and then install OSCAR on that machine. If you need help with that process start a new thread in the software support forum. You'll get better and faster responses that way.
Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Question [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset astraith 6 85 3 minutes ago
Last Post: astraith
  Please help me diagnose this ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet noise - YouTube link added UncollapseMeThroat 26 1,037 02-22-2021, 02:25 PM
Last Post: AlanF51SA
  ResMed AirSense 10 making noise Sprig 5 168 02-18-2021, 10:00 PM
Last Post: Sprig
  ResMed Airsense 10 Part identification question bdavid01 1 108 02-11-2021, 08:26 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
Information Resmed bipap ST settings question Moemah123 5 175 01-24-2021, 10:12 PM
Last Post: Moemah123
  [Equipment] Resmed AirSense 10 water tub gasket replacement tanker 12 628 01-08-2021, 07:23 PM
Last Post: tanker
Angry ResMed AirSense 10 Burn Smell bsullivan 46 3,947 12-28-2020, 01:46 PM
Last Post: Crimson Nape


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.