Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Resmed Airsense 10 ramping too fast
#1
I have been using the Airsense 10, CPAP machine for about 6 months.

Pressure is set at 7-15.

Yesterday, while napping, I noticed the pressure zoomed from 0 to 15 in a matter of minutes. I turned off the ramp feature, same result. When turning the ramp feature back on, the same thing happened. The 14+ pressure practically blew my ears off! I unplugged the machine before bed last night, and plugged it back in, hoping for some kind of sane reset. No such luck; same result, with the pressure zooming to 14+ in a matter of minutes.

Getting a hold of my DME (Apria) is challenging and I cannot wait "24-48 hours' for a call back.

Has anyone experienced this and if so, how did you resolve?

Thanks,
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Make sure there is no excessive moisture in your mask and/or tubing. If so dry everything out. When all dry unplug the machine from the power brick and unplug the power brick from the outlet. Wait at least one minute. Then try again. If this still happens with ramp off you definitely should return it under warranty.
Coffee
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(03-14-2016, 12:23 PM)dwlims Wrote: I have been using the Airsense 10, CPAP machine for about 6 months.

Pressure is set at 7-15.

Yesterday, while napping, I noticed the pressure zoomed from 0 to 15 in a matter of minutes. I turned off the ramp feature, same result. When turning the ramp feature back on, the same thing happened. The 14+ pressure practically blew my ears off! I unplugged the machine before bed last night, and plugged it back in, hoping for some kind of sane reset. No such luck; same result, with the pressure zooming to 14+ in a matter of minutes.

Getting a hold of my DME (Apria) is challenging and I cannot wait "24-48 hours' for a call back.

Has anyone experienced this and if so, how did you resolve?

Thanks,

I no longer use my ramp , Try changing the ramp time. something doesn't sound right though, I don't think it should go to your maximum pressure right away.
Hopefully your DME can resolve this issue for you.
Good luck and let us know how it goes.
Eat-popcorn
Sleep-well
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi dwlims,
That doesn't sound right, you will more than likely have to get a hold of your DME. Good luck to you.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
There is a ramp feature on your machine, but it will start at a lower pressure and go to the low therapy setting over several minutes. Going directly to the max is not right.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(03-14-2016, 12:23 PM)dwlims Wrote: I have been using the Airsense 10, CPAP machine for about 6 months.

Pressure is set at 7-15.

Yesterday, while napping, I noticed the pressure zoomed from 0 to 15 in a matter of minutes. I turned off the ramp feature, same result.
Sound defective to me, but first need to confirm machine settings (not in CPAP mode), Ramp starting pressure and period, and take a look at SleepyHead detailed data graphs and statistic data such as median, 95%, and maximum pressures
As for Ramp. I use Ramp for 10 minutes starting at 10, same as minimum pressure to avoid the machine scoring events while adjusting mask fit, scratching my nose, setting down, etc ...

It doesn't sound right here too http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...in-columns
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
I visited the DME, and they cheerfully replaced the unit (within warranty period). I was unable to reproduce the problem in their office but that was not an issue.

Thanks, everyone!




I have been using the Airsense 10, CPAP machine for about 6 months.

Pressure is set at 7-15.

Yesterday, while napping, I noticed the pressure zoomed from 0 to 15 in a matter of minutes. I turned off the ramp feature, same result. When turning the ramp feature back on, the same thing happened. The 14+ pressure practically blew my ears off! I unplugged the machine before bed last night, and plugged it back in, hoping for some kind of sane reset. No such luck; same result, with the pressure zooming to 14+ in a matter of minutes.

Getting a hold of my DME (Apria) is challenging and I cannot wait "24-48 hours' for a call back.

Has anyone experienced this and if so, how did you resolve?

Thanks,
[/quote]

Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Noise level of Respironics Dreamstation vs Resmed Airsense 10 scottlink96 36 6,015 Yesterday, 07:29 AM
Last Post: Newbee2016
Sad [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 noticeable noise hungrycactus 5 394 02-10-2017, 05:00 AM
Last Post: nanbar
  Can someone with a Resmed Airsense 10 help me with preventing rainout? Ihaveapnea 19 1,084 02-04-2017, 10:59 PM
Last Post: shylock31
  ResMed Airsense 10 - very dry mouth dnthomas 4 421 02-03-2017, 05:52 AM
Last Post: pupcamper
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 menu item: Pressure Relief vs. EPR darianmiller 3 468 01-24-2017, 07:31 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 34 4,199 01-24-2017, 05:40 AM
Last Post: nanbar
  All you wanted to know about the ResMed Airsense 10 sharp56 217 125,360 01-06-2017, 04:03 AM
Last Post: MaErl

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.