Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Undiagnosed 36 Obese M in UK…terrified
Undiagnosed 36 Obese M in UK…terrified
I am a 36 year old M in the UK who is morbidly obese and struggling with apnea

My partner has witnessed me not breathing for ages and then I will suddenly jolt and gasp.

I wake often feeling extremely tired with a headache

I have been chasing a referral to a sleep CLINIC since July

I’m desperate to start cpap treatment and I’m wondering wether to just purchase my own equipment immediately?

I have struggled with my weight for he last decade. Never more so than the last 18 months when I lost my beloved father very suddenly.

It’s not that I gorge and eat crap, it’s that I have become extremely sedentary. I’m a graphic designer so my job isn’t particularly physical either.

I am attempting to put new ways of eating and exercise in place at the moment

But the vicious circle of exhaustion is really standing in my way

I’m also terrified that one night I just won’t breath at all and I will die in my sleep

It’s left the very notion of sleep as a terrifying one that no longer embrace

?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Undiagnosed 36 Obese M in UK…terrified
Your NHS offers diagnosis and equipment for treating sleep apnea. The service is extremely slow and inefficient at providing care, but we have many members here from the UK that are treated and doing well. If you want to purchase a machine and pay for it and supplies until you can secure NHS coverage, that can certainly be done. Your best bet in that case is to get a machine like a Resmed Airsense Autoset that will automatically titrate your pressure needs and provides data for therapy feedback.