Post Reply 
Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
Author Message
seanconnery Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: Resmed S10 Autosense
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 7-12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Vancouver BC

Post: #1
Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
I have to go to the bathroom several times a night but do not want to shut off the CPAP, so that I can obtain readings for my entire sleep. Is there any way I can do this? I have tried removing the mask and going (I get mask leak numbers), I have tried shutting the machine off ( readings only cover the last few hours of sleep.
Help.
11-09-2015 09:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 878
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #2
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
(11-09-2015 09:36 PM)seanconnery Wrote:  I have to go to the bathroom several times a night but do not want to shut off the CPAP, so that I can obtain readings for my entire sleep. Is there any way I can do this? I have tried removing the mask and going (I get mask leak numbers), I have tried shutting the machine off ( readings only cover the last few hours of sleep.
Help.

I haven't found one in nearly a year of using it. Actually I prefer it that way since these events do affect the quality of treatment. I too get up at least once, often twice, and sometimes three or four times to urinate. Since my AHI's are typically below 1 and often 0 its the main problem I have with the treatment and I want to keep track of it, not cover it up.

The MyAir site scores these as Mask on Mask off events and deducts a few points for them. No big deal although it would be nice to score 100% just for bragging rights. The best I've done is 99%. I notice a real difference on nights when I get four or more hours in a single stretch.

Of course SleepyHead tells me a lot more.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
11-09-2015 09:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
Hi seanconnery,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you with your CPAP therapy and hang in there for more answers to your question.

trish6hundred
11-09-2015 10:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
Welcome to Apnea Board, seanconnery
There is no pause button, advisable to turn the machine off. It doesn't matter how many times turn off the machine during the night, it'll always shows the data from noon to the last time turned off during the night or in the morning (until noon the following day). If you take an afternoon nap, will start a new day recording otherwise until you go to bed at night

If you don't see AHI and other data on the machine screen sleep report, go to the clinical menu and set "Essentials" to 'Plus'. From the screen sleep report menu, scroll down to "period" and set to 1 day (default 1 month)

AirSense 10 setup and how to get the clinical manual for your CPAP machine
http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-airsense-10-aircurve-10-setup-info
11-09-2015 10:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
cate1898 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 784
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: PR System One 560BT Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10's/backup-DreamWear
Humidifier: PR attached
CPAP Pressure: 8.5 - 13. A-Flex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP Therapy Sept. 11, 2015. Hx Hypertension, Post Graves Disease, chronic migraines.

Sex: Female
Location: Southern Ontario//SW Florida

Post: #5
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
Welcome to the forum seanconnery!! You will find friendly, helpful people here. Good luck with your therapy!

APNEABOARD - A great place to be if you're a hosehead!! Rolleyes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT BEGINS WITH THE DECISION TO TRY!
11-09-2015 11:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 472
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #6
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
I hit the stop button milliseconds after removing the pillows. The machine picks up the recording from when I put the pillows back on. That way there is no recording of leaks or false apneas while im in the WC. Not sure why your machine is not covering all your sleep. What hours are you sleeping? The machine's day is noon to noon.

Coffee
11-09-2015 11:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
seanconnery Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: Resmed S10 Autosense
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 7-12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Vancouver BC

Post: #7
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
Another great suggestion! Thank you. This is my third day using the Resmed. Great machine. Will check into the settings. Again my thanks.
Sean
11-09-2015 11:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
captio2000 Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Respironics OptiLife Nasal Pillow
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 8-20
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NJ

Post: #8
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
When I started with CPAP 7 years ago I was getting up to go to the bathroom 3 times a night. Once on CPAP that stopped. For me, it seemed I was waking up and just assumed it was to go pee. So, in my mind you don't want to cover up that information - it could be a sign of more, unresolved sleep issues.
11-10-2015 03:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Dagmar Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 97
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp by Respironics
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Michigan

Post: #9
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
(11-09-2015 09:36 PM)seanconnery Wrote:  I have to go to the bathroom several times a night but do not want to shut off the CPAP, so that I can obtain readings for my entire sleep. Is there any way I can do this? I have tried removing the mask and going (I get mask leak numbers), I have tried shutting the machine off ( readings only cover the last few hours of sleep.
Help.

I have my machine set on Smart Start, and when I need to get up in the night I press the on/off button once to set it in standby mode, then I disconnect my mask from the hose without breathing in (or it will re-start). When I come back, I plug it back in and take a breath for the machine to re-start. When I look at my numbers in SleepyHead I see the entire night, it may be split into to sections but all the data is available to me. This may not be at all helpful to you but all the data will be available to you in SleepyHead.
11-10-2015 04:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 878
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #10
RE: Resmed S10 Autosense: Pause button?
With the A10 autoset, pressing the "off" button doesn't actually turn the machine off. It's really just put into standby mode - to turn it completely off you have to pull the plug. So the off button is really the pause button you want, I think. You want some way for it to stop recording the "gaps" when you press "stop" and go to the facilities, but I think that this is data that is just as important for assessing your therapy as any of the other things the machine records. And it's information that might be important to your physician as well.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
11-10-2015 07:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Resmed Autosense 10 - no prescription WomblingFree 7 489 10-26-2016 02:53 PM
Last Post: WomblingFree
  Low pressure auto button off question Lanco 1 226 09-21-2016 04:42 AM
Last Post: Lanco
  [Equipment] Resmed S8 Escape II EPR vs. Resmed Autosense 10 45thronin 6 350 09-18-2016 08:26 PM
Last Post: 45thronin
  how to get to EPR on Resmed Autosense 10 for her? somnia16 3 306 08-18-2016 09:22 PM
Last Post: somnia16
  Please Help Analyze My Data (Pause Event) SkinTone 5 387 08-06-2016 10:55 AM
Last Post: SkinTone
  Humidity button gone chuck6161 5 332 07-31-2016 08:41 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  Cleaning Humidifier Resmed autosense s10 chuck6161 5 800 07-22-2016 06:23 PM
Last Post: foss

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)