Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Resmed S9 AutoSet not changing pressure?
#1
Hello,

I have Resmed S9 Autoset. When I set it to autoset setting to does not change air pressure when I am wearing my mask and stop breathing. I checked it by holding my breath. Is there something wrong with my cpap? Please let me know. Thank you.
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Welcome to the society of Hoseheads, Batman

I am not an expert but your autoset is designed to look for the precursors to obstructive apnea and adjust the pressure before the apnea occurs. It also does not react to central apneas which is what you are manufacturing by holding your breath.

If you want to find out what the machine is doing you need to download either the Rescan or Sleepyhead software which will allow you to download the data and look at it in graphical form including the machine pressure. This presumes that your autoset has been set up in auto mode and is not working as a constant pressure machine which is an option with the autoset.

Along with the software, youwill need an SD card reader and your machine should have been supplied with an SD card. I would give you the links to get the software but I can not remember where they are (part of the creeping onset of senility). I am sure that someone will come along and provide you with the appropriate links. We all like to keep track of what is going on with our therapy.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Hi Batman,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
There are at least two ways that the Autoset can decide to increase the pressure. First, the Autoset uses the forced oscillation technique to determine if the airway is closed, when you stop breathing. See http://www.resmed.com/au/products/s9_ser...nc=dealers for an overview. That page also has a link to a white paper that goes into detail (but it's written for doctors.)

Second, the Autoset is able to detect snoring. If I put the mask on and make snoring sounds, my S8 Autoset II does nothing for about a minute, then on each breath, it increases the pressure by about 1 cmH2O per breath, until it hits the maximum pressure. (If it's actual snoring while asleep, it stops increasing the pressure when the snoring stops.) Try this test.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Thank you everyone for warm welcome and for very helpful info. I will try and use this information. Thanks again.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(04-22-2014, 04:59 PM)Batman Wrote: Hello,

I have Resmed S9 Autoset. When I set it to autoset setting to does not change air pressure when I am wearing my mask and stop breathing. I checked it by holding my breath. Is there something wrong with my cpap? Please let me know. Thank you.
Whats the minimum and maximum pressure setting and are you holding your breath during Ramp period
Whats AHI, leak and pressure displayed on the scren sleep report

I suggest get hold of the clinical manual, have all the information and available via email http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

S9 setup information, pictures and video guide http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup

Download the software so you can see whats going on breath by breath
ResScan and SleepyHead download links http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-P...-and-Links

Post Reply Post Reply


#7
My air pressure Min is 4.0 and Max 20.0. What other setting should I watch out for?
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(04-22-2014, 08:18 PM)Batman Wrote: My air pressure Min is 4.0 and Max 20.0. What other setting should I watch out for?
That is usually an unnecessarily wide pressure range. If you monitor your SleepyHead average and 95% pressures for a while, and search this forum for autoset pressure recommendations, perhaps you could narrow this to a more appropriate and comfortable range. It took a few months to get the range right for me.

Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Welcome to Apnea Board, Batman. I revised the subject line of your thread to be more descriptive of your post.

Thanks
SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Pressure] Changing pressure on HDM Z1 cpap dmh 22 27,131 05-22-2017, 07:38 PM
Last Post: ezhoops
  Changing settings to eliminate Aerophagia Surfbear 8 261 05-21-2017, 04:13 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Resmed APAP Pressure RogerNZ 20 474 05-19-2017, 12:04 AM
Last Post: RogerNZ
  Need help changing start pressure airsense a10 Gary1of2 1 102 05-18-2017, 08:40 PM
Last Post: bonjour
  [Pressure] What is the theoritical correct pressure for a fixed pressure CPAP? Rcgop 13 360 05-14-2017, 09:00 PM
Last Post: ajack
  Follow-Up Appt. with Doctor & Changing Own Settings rooy1960 8 334 05-04-2017, 12:38 PM
Last Post: Melman
  Question on Changing Masks RWhipkey 10 521 05-01-2017, 10:02 AM
Last Post: Cranberry Ray

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.