Post Reply 
Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
Author Message
rhoodphoto Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 Auto Set
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i Heated Tube
CPAP Pressure: 15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Kentucky, USA

Post: #1
Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
I have a 30 min ramp time on my CPAP but last night it bypassed the ramp and went to full pressure. After a couple of minutes the machine turned off. I tried it a couple of times with the same results both times. I have been using the machine for almost a month with no problems before this. Anyone experience this problem?
10-10-2013 06:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Bobshouse Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 58
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Tap Pap or The Breeze
Humidifier: Resmed H5I
CPAP Pressure: 10 Auto to 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Central California

Post: #2
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
What do you mean by "full pressure"? As in 20 (the max for the machine) or your prescribed pressure? I think you can adjust your ramp time, try setting it to something longer and see if it still happens. If it does, might need to call your dme and get it repaired.
10-10-2013 06:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #3
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
(10-10-2013 06:38 AM)rhoodphoto Wrote:  I have a 30 min ramp time on my CPAP but last night it bypassed the ramp and went to full pressure. After a couple of minutes the machine turned off. I tried it a couple of times with the same results both times. I have been using the machine for almost a month with no problems before this. Anyone experience this problem?

I can't remember the exact name of it but you may want to check your machine settings and make sure that the feature that automatically starts your cpap isn't on even though I can't imagine that bypassing the ramp. Also, check and make sure that your ramp settings haven't changed for some reason.

Hope this helps.
10-10-2013 08:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,068
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #4
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
The Autoset does this every once in a while. It "runs away" with the pressure.

Try unplugging it for a bit and plugging it back in. If it does it again, trade it in for another.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-10-2013 10:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
rhoodphoto Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 Auto Set
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i Heated Tube
CPAP Pressure: 15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Kentucky, USA

Post: #5
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
(10-10-2013 10:37 AM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  The Autoset does this every once in a while. It "runs away" with the pressure.

Try unplugging it for a bit and plugging it back in. If it does it again, trade it in for another.

Thanks, I'll try that. I can't go another night without my cpap.
10-10-2013 12:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #6
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
(10-10-2013 08:36 AM)me50 Wrote:  I can't remember the exact name of it but you may want to check your machine settings and make sure that the feature that automatically starts your cpap isn't on even though I can't imagine that bypassing the ramp. Also, check and make sure that your ramp settings haven't changed for some reason.

Hope this helps.
Hi me50
SmartStart
If enabled the machine start automatically when you breathe into the mask and stop automatically when you remove the mask

Hi rhoodphoto
Check your machine setting as me50 suggested and make sure nothing changed by accident

Have you tried the AutoSet mode? The S9 auto-adjust pressure so you don,t have to be on your set CPAP pressure all night long ... less pressure means less side effects
10-10-2013 02:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Amberbamber5 Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: Unsure
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Unsure
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 6-16
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #7
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
All I can do is empathize. I just got the same machine around the same time and am even having trouble with the warranty replacement. Sad GOOD LUCK!!! Have you asked your tech to troubleshoot with you? They should be able to reset the machine for you...
11-28-2013 08:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Franklyspeaking Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 68
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: Resmed S10 autosense
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironic blue gel mask
Humidifier: Resmed S10 autosense
CPAP Pressure: 4-18
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Longview, Texas

Post: #8
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
(11-28-2013 08:19 PM)Amberbamber5 Wrote:  All I can do is empathize. I just got the same machine around the same time and am even having trouble with the warranty replacement. Sad GOOD LUCK!!! Have you asked your tech to troubleshoot with you? They should be able to reset the machine for you...

I would unplug as suggested. I had another issue where the machine said its time to replace the "new" heated hose. I unplugged and pulled the hose off and put it back on and that solved the problem.

I hate to hear about warranty issues, that is worrisome.
02-13-2014 07:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #9
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
(11-28-2013 08:19 PM)Amberbamber5 Wrote:  All I can do is empathize. I just got the same machine around the same time and am even having trouble with the warranty replacement. Sad GOOD LUCK!!! Have you asked your tech to troubleshoot with you? They should be able to reset the machine for you...

Are you having trouble with warranty replacement b/c of your DME? I had that same issue before and I bypassed the DME and called the manufacturer and got an RMA myself and then gave the info to the DME. My machine was replaced but if I had depended on the DME, it wouldn't have been (I had an RT pick up my machine and humidifier and put it in my case with the water chamber still in it so I insisted that my machine be replaced).
02-13-2014 09:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #10
RE: Resmed S9 Autoset Problem
(02-13-2014 07:10 AM)Franklyspeaking Wrote:  I had another issue where the machine said its time to replace the "new" heated hose.
When first started, my S9 displayed the same message "Heated tube fault, replace tube"? they gave a new one and never had a problem since. That was a common problem with the H5i humidifier in the early days, ResMed seem fixed the problem in the later versions
02-13-2014 09:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Totally Confused by Airsense 10 Data - Centrals - Problem machine... ? mymontreal 28 1,239 Yesterday 09:39 PM
Last Post: richb
Surprised WISP mask problem elbie 12 762 Yesterday 10:00 AM
Last Post: cbokay
  Cloggd Nose elling with ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet edmund36 5 185 12-09-2016 08:41 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Long time CPAP user now with a problem PrkChps 5 206 12-07-2016 09:07 PM
Last Post: PrkChps
  Problem with DreamWear Mask Judy1843 5 315 11-30-2016 04:03 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,298 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  New User Problem with BiPAP AVAPS - Part 1 jmayer180 35 1,341 11-27-2016 09:50 AM
Last Post: jmayer180

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)