Post Reply 
Resmed S9 Cuts out
Author Message
rogbnay Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quatro
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 12 -18
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Resmed S9 Cuts out
Gday all

I have been using my S9 for over a year no problems until last night. If I exhale harder than normal the machine cuts out with an error about voltage. FTR I've tried it today on a UPS but still the same.
Any ideas?

Cheers
12-15-2012 11:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,453
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #2
RE: Resmed S9 Cuts out
Hi rogbnay and WELCOME! to the forum.!
I don't know the answer to your question but hang tight and someone will be able to help you soon.
Best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
12-15-2012 02:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,163
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #3
RE: Resmed S9 Cuts out
Post the EXACT message it gives.

Some things to try:

Unplug the power supply from the machine, unplug the power cord where it goes into the power supply, replug.

Take out water tank first, remove the humidifier from the blower unit, replug.

Turn off heat on the humidifier and hose, if applicable.

Be sure the power supply is sitting on a hard surface, not carpet, with good airflow.

Do you have the humidifier and hose? If so, be sure you have the 90W power supply.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
12-15-2012 04:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: Resmed S9 Cuts out
(12-15-2012 11:52 AM)rogbnay Wrote:  Gday all

I have been using my S9 for over a year no problems until last night. If I exhale harder than normal the machine cuts out with an error about voltage. FTR I've tried it today on a UPS but still the same.
Any ideas?

Cheers
whats the error message say
there is a list of Respironics error codes but not a list for Resmed
machines come with a 2 year warranty
try to unplug the machine from wall outlet, check power brick connections fully inserted (power cord and back of the machine) and plug back
your profile listed not sure about humidifier
S9 comes with 30W power brick to use without humidifier and 90W power brick to use with humidifier
12-15-2012 04:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
rogbnay Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quatro
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 12 -18
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Resmed S9 Cuts out
Thanks for the advice so far
ftr the humidifier is a H5i and the power adapter is the 90w
The message is "Error over voltage fault please contact service provider" which unfortunately I will not be unable to do before the end of the week due to my remote location.
I've tried all variations of unpluging re pluging, running without humidifier, I've even set the machine back to factory default and started from scratch with the settings with no joy.

It's looking like a week long reminder of life pre CPAP :-(
12-16-2012 09:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,453
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #6
RE: Resmed S9 Cuts out
You will probably need to get a new power supply as it sounds like the voltage regulator in the supply might be bad.

trish6hundred
12-16-2012 10:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  sleepyhead- data cuts off after about 6 hours megan_charles 2 1,043 06-25-2013 07:56 PM
Last Post: megan_charles
  [News] Healthcare Cuts Send Patient Treatment Home ApneaNews 0 2,248 04-25-2012 06:08 PM
Last Post: ApneaNews

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)