Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Resmed autoset h5i humidifier settings
#1
I do not yet have a climate line hose to use with my h5i humidifier (backordered). As such, can anyone help me understand what the difference between humidifier settings of manual & auto are with just a slimline hose? Both settings allow me to set the humidity control between 0-6, is there a difference I am missing?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hi bavinck, welcome aboard
The auto and manual mode options are only available when ClimateLine (heated hose) attached
Auto and manual modes explained http://www.resmed.com/au/assets/document...lo_eng.pdf

You can use either standard hose or SlimLine hose (15mm), just select the type of hose as shown page 8, adjusting humidity level page 6
http://www.resmed.com/us/assets/document...er_eng.pdf




Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(01-04-2014, 01:07 AM)zonk Wrote: Hi bavinck, welcome aboard

Thanks for the welcome, glad to be hereSmile

Thank you so much for the links! I had a pr1 during a home titration I just finished, I found a humidity of 4 on that machine to work for me (albeit lots of rainout). Any idea what the equivalent setting on my s9 might be?
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(01-04-2014, 01:16 AM)bavinck Wrote: I found a humidity of 4 on that machine to work for me (albeit lots of rainout). Any idea what the equivalent setting on my s9 might be?
I have not used PR System One. I use ClimateLIne on auto mode, on auto protects against rainout. While waiting for the ClimateLine, try the middle setting of 3 and see how you get on, adjust upward if you need more moisture or downward if you need less moisture or/and in case of rainout
Placing the machine slightly lower than bed level, covering the hose undr bed cover or get hose cover. You can make hose cover to insulate the hose from flannelette material or something similar and some improvise join old socks (cutting toes end) together
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Do most users of the S9/H5i use the preheat feature? I find warm, moist air is oppressive especially if it starts up that way. I also wonder why the screen turns orange/yellow when I start the machine. Does that indicate that it is heating. I usually push the knob to return the screen to it's usual blue and white appearance. Am I defeating a needed function? I asked this in another thread but got no reply. Hopefully, I'm not testing your patience.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(01-06-2014, 01:01 PM)JimZZZ Wrote: Do most users of the S9/H5i use the preheat feature? I find warm, moist air is oppressive especially if it starts up that way. I also wonder why the screen turns orange/yellow when I start the machine. Does that indicate that it is heating. I usually push the knob to return the screen to it's usual blue and white appearance. Am I defeating a needed function? I asked this in another thread but got no reply. Hopefully, I'm not testing your patience.

I don't use the preheat feature so when I turn my machine on at night, I did notice the color change but never thought twice about it. Hopefully, someone can answer your other question.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(01-06-2014, 01:01 PM)JimZZZ Wrote: Do most users of the S9/H5i use the preheat feature? I find warm, moist air is oppressive especially if it starts up that way. I also wonder why the screen turns orange/yellow when I start the machine. Does that indicate that it is heating. I usually push the knob to return the screen to it's usual blue and white appearance. Am I defeating a needed function? I asked this in another thread but got no reply. Hopefully, I'm not testing your patience.

Hi Jimzzz - you're not trying our patience. We have infinite patience :grin:

The orange screen colour is an indication that the machine is waiting for you to change or confirm a setting. It doesn't happen all the time for me, but when it does it's usually waiting for me to confirm the humidifier temperature. Check what it's set to, make any necessary adjustment and click on the push dial when you're happy.

I like having the slightly warmer air. I have my humidifier temperature set to 27, which is a very comfortable temperature for me.
DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Question Possible for resmed airsense 10 autoset/Sleepyhead to report false 0.0 AHI? pcplus2 4 146 04-27-2017, 05:47 PM
Last Post: dwd1249
  Advice re: changing CPAP settings fyrfyter43 46 1,763 04-22-2017, 12:54 PM
Last Post: fyrfyter43
  Bought New BiPAP - Settings ideas holden4th 4 191 04-21-2017, 08:53 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  AirSense 10 Humidifier is not working spooky101 10 4,844 04-20-2017, 09:40 PM
Last Post: Raysie
  Newbie - need advice on settings and machine tmc712 21 1,132 04-20-2017, 05:20 PM
Last Post: quiescence at last
  [Equipment] ResMed Autoset II w/EPR and humidifier -ERROR thisazlife 2 192 04-12-2017, 03:29 PM
Last Post: thisazlife
  ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset thisazlife 6 417 04-12-2017, 11:43 AM
Last Post: sonicboom

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.