Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Resmed stink
Resmed stink
I'm new to cpaps (and new to this forum.) I'm experiencing an issue with resmed products that others have noted: the heated tubing stinks as it comes out of the package. I've also noted the same malorder on some of the masks and fittings.  I have a partial solution, but first, the parameters. Not all products with the same model number and the same listed country of oragin has the stink. The stink does not bother everyone, but causes nausea in those it does affect (my wife has an acute sense of smell, but hardly notices it). I can best describe it as a cheap perfume/chemical smell. It reminds me of the chemicals used in portable toilets. My partial solution is to wash the units in a packet of the powder used to clean residue out of coffee pots. It helps more than vinager. I'm going to try lemon next (also an acid).
    Resmed has denied there is a problem, and shows no interest in resolving it. If you are bothered by this issue, feel free to contact me. There are some avenues of resolution we could look into.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Resmed stink
Welcome to Apnea Board. I love the smell of a new Resmed heated hose. Smells just like a new car.

Thumbs-up-2
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.

Post Reply Post Reply
I also like the smell when opening new products, like hoses and nasal pillows, etc.  
Everything smells new, don’t mind it at all.