Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Respiratory Rate
Question 
Respiratory Rate
I was surprised to see the variation in my respiratory rate. Is this normal or indicative of a problem? Going from 13-15 breaths a minute for extended periods to up to 50 breaths a minute at others while lying in bed  seems very strange. I am new to this and only have four sets of data. I have posted the two most extreme. I moved the pressure graph. My machine is set at a constant pressure of 10 and that is what the graphs show. I realize I had a lot of leakage on Feb 11 but it doesn't appear to correlate with the respiratory rate,
Download OSCAR

Organize Charts
Attaching Charts

Mask Primer
Soft Cervical Collar

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Respiratory Rate
On average, a resting respiratory rate is about 15 BPM.
I cannot zoom in on your flow rate graph; a zero crossing on the flow rate is a start or end of a breath as the machine sees it.
Likely the higher respiratory rates are artifacts of how the machine scores a breath.

You need to control your leaks better. Are you adjusting the straps at pressure? Best to be at pressure.
Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply