Post Reply 
Respironics Error Code Meaning
Author Message
evrgreen Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: Philips Remstar Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 7.2
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Respironics Error Code Meaning
I have a Philips Respironics Remstar Auto A-Flex with the System One heated humidifier. Have used it for about 4-5 years now.

Two nights ago after about 3-4 hours it started beeping and flashing. I couldn't shut it off by pressing the button so I unplugged it and quit it for the night.

Last night after three hours of use it started the double beep, the ramp light started flashing and the unit quit operating. The screen said "service required". I unplugged it and plugged it back in; the screen said 4.5cmH2O, but it worked normally for the rest of the night.

Do I still have a problem and if so, what might it be?
06-17-2015 08:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
evrgreen Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: Philips Remstar Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 7.2
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #2
RE: Respironics Error Code Meaning
(06-17-2015 08:47 AM)evrgreen Wrote:  I have a Philips Respironics Remstar Auto A-Flex with the System One heated humidifier. Have used it for about 4-5 years now.

Two nights ago after about 3-4 hours it started beeping and flashing. I couldn't shut it off by pressing the button so I unplugged it and quit it for the night.

Last night after three hours of use it started the double beep, the ramp light started flashing and the unit quit operating. The screen said "service required". I unplugged it and plugged it back in; the screen said 4.5cmH2O, but it worked normally for the rest of the night.

Do I still have a problem and if so, what might it be?

E-5 ERR_FIQ_STACK_UNDERFLOW Defective RAM chip Replace Main PCA
Under info I found an E5 error code which translates as "E-5 ERR_FIQ_STACK_UNDERFLOW Defective RAM chip Replace Main PCA"

Does anyone know what a FIQ_STACK_UNDERFLOW IS or means? And why would the problem be intermittent? Might that mean it's not serious and might go away? (Hope, hope).
06-17-2015 09:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Respironics Error Code Meaning
Hi evrgreen,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
When you get that error code, that means yoou will need to take it back to have it checked.
Hang in there for more answers to your questions.
Much success to you with your CPAP therapy and getting your machine checked out.

trish6hundred
06-17-2015 09:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Terry Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 553
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics RemStar Auto with A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P/R Nuance & Pap Cap
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #4
RE: Respironics Error Code Meaning
(06-17-2015 09:47 AM)evrgreen Wrote:  
(06-17-2015 08:47 AM)evrgreen Wrote:  I have a Philips Respironics Remstar Auto A-Flex with the System One heated humidifier. Have used it for about 4-5 years now.

Two nights ago after about 3-4 hours it started beeping and flashing. I couldn't shut it off by pressing the button so I unplugged it and quit it for the night.

Last night after three hours of use it started the double beep, the ramp light started flashing and the unit quit operating. The screen said "service required". I unplugged it and plugged it back in; the screen said 4.5cmH2O, but it worked normally for the rest of the night.

Do I still have a problem and if so, what might it be?

E-5 ERR_FIQ_STACK_UNDERFLOW Defective RAM chip Replace Main PCA
Under info I found an E5 error code which translates as "E-5 ERR_FIQ_STACK_UNDERFLOW Defective RAM chip Replace Main PCA"

Does anyone know what a FIQ_STACK_UNDERFLOW IS or means? And why would the problem be intermittent? Might that mean it's not serious and might go away? (Hope, hope).

It means it's broken. 8-)

Unless you're good with a soldering iron and and can find and replace the bad chip, the unit is going to have to be repaired or replaced.

You should get a quote for repair, and see what a new one goes for online, then decide what to do. the machines are usually considered to have a 5 year lifetime, so you probably shouldn't spend a lot on repairs.

Terry
06-17-2015 10:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #5
RE: Respironics Error Code Meaning
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...E-0_-_E-20

Yeah, it's dead, Jim.

On the supplier's list are two repair places. You can try contacting them to see what they say or if they give estimates.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-17-2015 12:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #6
RE: Respironics Error Code Meaning
Did you actually see this error code displayed on the machine?

Not sure if the error codes apply to PR System One machines
Usually, unplugging/plugging sort it out
06-17-2015 07:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
evrgreen Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: Philips Remstar Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 7.2
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: Respironics Error Code Meaning
Yes, it was under "INFO".
06-17-2015 08:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
GWild Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 88
Joined: May 2014

Machine: RemStar Sys1 560P
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Ultra Mirage
Humidifier: Sys1
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 20 auto / 8.9 avg
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #8
RE: Respironics Error Code Meaning
One possible and less expensive problem is the power supply could be failing... or the connectors. But this suggestion is based on the idea the error is intermittent; generally speaking, a hardware failure, like RAM, is usually persistent. Dust or dirt on the PCA (printed circuit assembly) could also be a factor.

By persistent, I mean dies and stays dead. Repowering - or rebooting - usually won't fix a hard memory failure, and hints at the actual cause of the memory error is something else.
(This post was last modified: 06-17-2015 10:38 PM by GWild.)
06-17-2015 10:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] Respironics blower failure SleepyinMTL 2 101 12-03-2016 12:52 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 19,972 11-30-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
  respironics pillow covers? metropical 3 236 11-08-2016 11:02 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Respironics Sleep Easy Question Rich 5 4,571 11-01-2016 10:56 PM
Last Post: Star
  Respironics Wisp Mask Questions Dreams of Green 6 381 10-23-2016 06:17 PM
Last Post: Ezil71
  advice please for Philips Respironics DreamStation gobisubbu 4 1,010 10-21-2016 06:21 PM
Last Post: Bompa
  Respironics Flex setting VTSleeper 12 5,603 10-17-2016 02:49 AM
Last Post: Dreams of Green

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)