Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Respironics Resistance Settings
#1
If you are not using a Respironics mask how do you set the resistance level X1 to X5?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
(08-06-2012, 01:01 PM)jfmusil Wrote: If you are not using a Respironics mask how do you set the resistance level X1 to X5?

You could guess by looking at a Respironics mask that's similar.

All Respironics full face masks have a PRS1 Resistance setting of X1.

It really doesn't matter anyway. It's all just a marketing scheme. When you dial up a resistance of X1 it'll simply lower the pressure by something like, I'm guessing, 0.1 cm or 0.2 cm.

Since you have a APAP the machine will just automatically adjust the pressure washing out this small effect.

If someone had a CPAP instead of a APAP, and they were switching masks that required a huge change in the resistance setting, it would make a small difference. But you could just adjust the pressure by 0.5 cm one way or the other and accomplish the same thing.

If you're the type who monitors and adjusts your pressure to maximize your therapy, PRS1 Resistance just doesn't really do anything for you other than mess you up if you happen to make a big change in the resistance setting without changing masks.
Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
You might want to check out this thread. PR System One Mask Resistance Settings

It will help you with the question you have asked. :grin:
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Its not important as the S9 mask type selection where the S9 report unintentional leak while PRS1 report total leak (intentional leak plus unintentional leak). I've read it is "0" for non Respironcis masks otherwise whats the point of having "0" as a selection
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/attachment.php?aid=188

The other link seem gone bad. Mask settings for PRS1 click to enlarge)
http://z5.ifrm.com/5902/67/0/p1031700/Ma...tanceC.jpg
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Found a groove w/ settings, posting data for comments pls gcritchley 1 64 Yesterday, 08:23 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Perception of increased resistance during day after commencing CPAP? 3mp0w3r 3 106 03-28-2017, 05:01 PM
Last Post: TASmart
  [Treatment] Resmed Aircurve ASV settings jmpower4 16 337 03-28-2017, 01:33 AM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  Respironics Everflo Q-Settings when connected to ClimateLine Oxy for AirSense 10 Auto Orionsnet 6 136 03-26-2017, 04:35 PM
Last Post: Orionsnet
  [Pressure] New AirSense 10 Auto User-Need Help w/initial Pressure Min/Max Settings Orionsnet 48 1,218 03-24-2017, 04:58 PM
Last Post: Orionsnet
Question Adjust Settings or Leave Them Be? Melman 8 258 03-24-2017, 12:39 PM
Last Post: Marillion
  Newbee intro an need thoughts on settings TPeters 10 481 03-09-2017, 10:25 PM
Last Post: TPeters

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.