Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Running AirSense 10 on 24V DC source
#1
Running AirSense 10 on 24V DC source
Has anyone figured out how to get around the third-wire "handshake" and get a Resmed AirSense 10 to run directly from a 24 Volt DC source?

I want to build in a 24V source in my camper. I have an appropriate connector (salvaged from a defunct laptop computer power supply) but the AirSense won't run when connected directly to a 24V DC source. I know it has to do with that center pin in the connector.

Is there a work-around for this?
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Running AirSense 10 on 24V DC source
I'm sure there are other answers, but if it were myself, I would shop for the appropriate ResMed battery connector. In this way, the signal on the 3rd wire gets what it's looking for. And I would not use an inverter of any sort, they are power wasters.

Here's a ResMed PDF battery use guide:
https://www.resmed.com/us/dam/documents/...lo_eng.pdf
Dave

OSCAR
Standard OSCAR Chart Order
Mask Primer
Dealing With A DME
Soft Cervical Collar Wiki
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Running AirSense 10 on 24V DC source
Try searching Amazon for, "KFD 12V 24V Car Charger Vehicle Power Supply 90W". It comes with everything to connect to an A10 for $33USD. For the "just in case" moments, I run my home system through a Battery Tender connected to a deep cycle battery using this power supply. It has worked flawlessly.
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
___________________________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead and OSCAR
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Running AirSense 10 on 24V DC source
I don't know, but I suspect that the Resmed power supply has a switching regulator that has a "power good" output. The way to tell would be to open up the power supply, read the label on the integrated circuit and look up the datasheet. You could check for continuity between the IC and the connector.

On the other hand, Crimson Nape's suggestion sounds easier.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Question [Equipment] Cut & splice Airmini tube to add QTube? Source for 15mm straight connectors? john.mccarthy 4 419 02-26-2020, 09:35 PM
Last Post: booksfan
  OSCAR - Open Source CPAP Analysis Reporter SuperSleeper 0 7,538 04-23-2019, 09:29 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  OSCAR - Open Source CPAP Analysis Reporter SuperSleeper 0 1,462 04-23-2019, 09:29 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  OSCAR - Open Source CPAP Analysis Reporter bonjour 52 17,230 03-22-2019, 02:50 AM
Last Post: SnoringInOregon
  A potential source of funding for the site Arik 3 571 03-03-2019, 10:05 AM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  OSCR - Open Source CPAP Reviewer bonjour 63 8,543 02-23-2019, 08:47 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  Finally up and running with Sleepyhead skylark 3 652 10-08-2017, 08:18 PM
Last Post: skylark


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.