Post Reply 
S8 Autoset?
Author Message
ShelaghDB Offline

Members-b

Posts: 267
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: S9 Auto-Set +Resmed H5i
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air FF Mask
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 13
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Post: #1
S8 Autoset?
I have looked at the dealers here on the pages for second hand S9 Auto Sets but they have some great ones if you are in the USofA but for Canada, there is very little.
We in Canada are used to this. No matter what we wish to buy online we are very limited in comparison to Americans


Someone is selling a S8 on my locale kijijij which appears to be an AutoSet although they don't yet say how much they want for it but in my looking around i am finding that the S8 is much more common than the S9

Seeing as Im having little luck finding an S9 Auto set, IF its a barely used S8 will it do the same as the S9?


The only advantage of the AUT0 SET for me at this point is that it can read the card and i can see how i am doing and all the things u all do with yours but as nice as I suppose the pressure being lessened might be, its not a problem for me running at full speed the whole night. I don't seem to suffer any claustrophobia, etc........hence, i am wondering IF the ability to read the card, have software, etc, is going to make a huge enough difference for me in the long run?

I know people like others to get the auto set as too many people give up on CPAP as they cannot handle the pressure, which might have been the case for the hubby, seconded by the doctor telling him he really didn't need it anyhow but if i am not suffering that same problem, then getting the ability to lower the pressure at some points during the night is not going to make a difference for me as to whether I remain papping for i will with the Escape model anyhow...?!!
(This post was last modified: 05-23-2014 10:13 AM by ShelaghDB.)
05-23-2014 10:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Online
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,020
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #2
RE: S8 Autoset?
I have an S8 VPAP auto and I like it. If I had my druthers, I would get an S9 VPAP auto. I get data from my machine but not as much info as the S9s. I do not get waveforms nor I get any distinction between OAs and CAs. I do get things like AHI, leaks, minute ventilation, etc. The VPAP machines are bilevel and the S8 VPAP auto can be used in CPAP, S mode (bi-level), and auto bi-level. Of course there are other S8 machines but the VPAP auto is the one that I am familiar with.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
05-23-2014 01:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
becker44a Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 181
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus Lg
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: Rx 10 - 20cm, Usually 10-14cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NE Ohio, USA

Post: #3
RE: S8 Autoset?
(05-23-2014 10:12 AM)ShelaghDB Wrote:  I have looked at the dealers here on the pages for second hand S9 Auto Sets but they have some great ones if you are in the USofA but for Canada, there is very little.
. . .
Seeing as Im having little luck finding an S9 Auto set, IF its a barely used S8 will it do the same as the S9?
. . .

Hi ShelaghDB,
I'm relatively new (PAPing since Jan 2014), and I started w/ the S9 Autoset, so I have no direct experience w/ the earlier model S8.

I'm sure others may jump in here with any corrections, but I seem to recall reading posts indicating the following:

(1) The S8 does not use a standard SD card, but rather a special format card that is specific for the Resmed S8 machines. As such, you would need to obtain an S8 Card reader in order to download the data. I also seem to recall this Card reader costing $50 or more, and it may require loading device drivers in order for ResScan to access it.

(2) I don't think that Sleepyhead supports the S8 series machines. I believe you would need to use ResScan (MS windows only) to look at your data. This would be a downer for me, as I much prefer looking at Sleepyhead for the graphs. ResScan uses Y-axis scaling that is so compressed that it's hard to see much detail.

(3) I believe the algorithms in the S9 for detecting and differentiating types of apneas and treating them appropriately were enhanced over the S8.

(4) I believe the S9 series were the first to use a humidifier reservoir that can be disassembled for cleaning. After reading about mold issues, this is one feature I would not willingly do without.

My suggestion would be to keep on looking . . .

Good luck in your hunt!
A.Becker
05-23-2014 02:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
glfredrick Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Apr 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quatro Mirage
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-18 auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: Bi-vocational Pastor

Sex: Male
Location: Near Sheboygan, WI

Post: #4
RE: S8 Autoset?
It is possible to buy brand new from the web. I just did. That includes getting the Script also.
05-23-2014 02:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: S8 Autoset?
For reason outlined by 'becker44a', I would with S9 AutoSet (not S9 Escape Auto)

Suppliers #2 (sell used machines too) and #10 ship To Canada
Suppliers List http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-CPAP-Supplier-List

CPAP machnes are multi voltages, you need plug adapter but suppose its all the same US and Canada
05-23-2014 05:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Rycharde Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 29
Joined: Sep 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Activa LT
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: CPAP Mode10.6, Auto, 8-16
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: On cpap since Dec, 2009: Type 2 Diabetes: Cancer survivor: 3 lead pacemaker/defib:

Sex: Male
Location: Eastern North Carolina

Post: #6
RE: S8 Autoset?
This may be a little late, but I started with an S8 Elite II, which is data capable, and as a CPAP it works fine. It is not an APAP. Yes, I did have to obtain a special card reader and the software to see the data, but it served me well for 4.5 years. I now have an S9Autoset, and use it in auto mode, and probably will use the S8 as a spare machine. My original titration showed I needed a pressure of 10, but the autoset shows that the median pressure should be 11.5. Quite a difference. That is the simplest data that shows anything worth having as a 1st time user, in my opinion. Keep at it, it is worth it in staying healthy.

I-love-CPAP Rycharde
05-23-2014 07:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
ShelaghDB Offline

Members-b

Posts: 267
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: S9 Auto-Set +Resmed H5i
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air FF Mask
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 13
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Post: #7
RE: S8 Autoset?
Ok, so basically I shall just hang in for an S9 AutoSet.
It seems to me that I only need the AutoSet for its ability to give me the data for if i wish to get better, etc I want to be able to take care of this by myself.
As is stands of today, I no longer have a doctor for this but will be looking for a good one in Toronto IF A GOOD ONE exists here in the near future??!!! ;-)

But a fairly new person to CPAP, although the pressure difference would be nice its not the end of the world if i don't have that ability as I am fine doing this on the constant pressure. I gather it can turn some people new to CPAP off but it hasn't with me..
Last but not least, here in Canada, we cannot import from the US easily online.

The only time worth shopping in the US and having something shipped up here is if it small enough to send by regular registered mail.
The minute something needs a shipping company we get dinged badly with import fees.
I believe it is in an attempt to make sure we stick to buying at home.
What we get "dinged" with can often cost ⅓ to almost ½ of the purchase price, hence, we are best off ordering from home.

Unless there is a way around being "dinged" I am not aware of that some other Canadian might know of, I am generally stuck on where I purchase from.
I saw only one Canadian related dealer in the list and only new products.

I'm not going to spend $1,000 when I can likely get on Kijijij here for half of that or just a bit more than half.
But you didn't know that so thank you though for looking that up for me though! Smile
05-23-2014 11:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,163
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #8
RE: S8 Autoset?
(05-23-2014 10:12 AM)ShelaghDB Wrote:  i am wondering IF the ability to read the card, have software, etc, is going to make a huge enough difference for me in the long run?

I know people like others to get the auto set as too many people give up on CPAP as they cannot handle the pressure, which might have been the case for the hubby, seconded by the doctor telling him he really didn't need it anyhow but if i am not suffering that same problem, then getting the ability to lower the pressure at some points during the night is not going to make a difference for me as to whether I remain papping for i will with the Escape model anyhow...?!!

Are you having problems with the fixed pressure CPAP therapy as you have it now? If you're not in a big hurry, maybe you could just wait until someone local has one for sale. Here in the US, I've sometimes watched the local Craigslist for a few months to get a better machine when it wasn't urgent to do it now.

Do you ever take visits to your wild, lawless neighbor to the south? Maybe you could find one for sale down in New York state, drive around the lake and do some other shopping or visiting and bring it back. I don't know how hard it is to bring things back into Canada, but I suspect that medical equipment isn't screened as hard as other things. For that matter, do they search or charge you at all for bringing stuff back if you go shopping in the US?

Data capable is "worth it" long term, in my opinion, but unless you're having problems or are thinking of quitting, I don't see a big hurry. You've probably been living with apnea for years. It probably won't do you any harm to use the current setup for a while.

I think some people have used some sort of US based trans-shipping service to get around the restrictions on cross border sales, but don't have the details.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
05-23-2014 11:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepyb Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: resmed
CPAP Pressure: 11-13
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Northwest

Post: #9
RE: S8 Autoset?
Is there a reason you are stuck on Resmed?
I have an s9 and I think its great, but I also have a devilbiss intellipap that works just as good.
The devilbiss doesn't give quite as pretty graphs, but I actually prefer the smartflex, and it will automatically switch to battery if the power goes out. That is important to me since I am the last house on the line.
I also have a Respironics system one. Gives more info then either the s9 or the intellipap, but it is not my favorite, more because it doesn't fit my breathing pattern as well as the other two. As for price, the s9 I often see used around $500, which is more then the intellipap new, and around here the prs1 is pretty cheap used, around $300 or less.
06-02-2014 12:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  airsense 10 autoset or resmed S9 autoset sleepybeaver 18 6,130 05-30-2015 07:38 PM
Last Post: zonk

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)