Post Reply 
S9 Autoset or Elite
Author Message
Gabby Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 665
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Philips Nuance Nasal Mask
Humidifier: ResMed AirSense 10 For Her
CPAP Pressure: 8-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Sunshine Coast, Qld., Australia.

Post: #11
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
(06-08-2014 10:08 PM)bwexler Wrote:  Your op is not totally clear. Your equipment list says you have an S9 Escape. Half the responses indicate you have an S9 Elite.

I think you have the Escape and are trying to decide weather to acquire an Elite or An Autoset.

If I have it right I would go for the Autoset, no question..

Bwexler, sorry for the confusion. Yes I am using an Escape now which I hate, not being able to see what is happening to me.
Prior to being given this machine by our Government I had hired an Elite for three months and I found that to be adequate for what I needed.
I loved being able to download my sleep plan and see what was going on.
With the Escape I feel as if I have been batting blind. Waste of space machine.

Thanks for taking the time to answer and I think I will go with the Autoset, it seems to be the general consensus.

Sleep Tight...
Gabby
06-09-2014 04:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Gabby Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 665
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Philips Nuance Nasal Mask
Humidifier: ResMed AirSense 10 For Her
CPAP Pressure: 8-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Sunshine Coast, Qld., Australia.

Post: #12
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
Everyone who answered me from #2 through to #10, thank you all very much.
You were all very kind and gave me much the same advice, go for the Autoset.
Once I have the Autoset I am then able to set it at CPAP mode if that is what I am most comfortable with.
Also if I need the Autoset down the track I will have it.
You all did a good job of mostly assuring me I would be ok with the settings so I am definitely going with the Autoset and have gone ahead and ordered it.

So thanks to you all, I am going to be the owner, finally of an S9 Autoset.
It will be a few weeks before it arrives, I will have been on CPAP for five months by then.

Sleep Tight...
Gabby
(This post was last modified: 06-09-2014 04:50 AM by Gabby.)
06-09-2014 04:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JWR Offline

Monitors

Posts: 455
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: DreamStation DSX700 , PR 760 bipap auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed mirage FX
Humidifier: DreamStation DSXH , system one
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 17.5max IPAP = 21
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: .

Post: #13
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
You all did a good job of mostly assuring me I would be ok with the settings so I am definitely going with the Autoset and have gone ahead and ordered it.


Thumbs-up-2

06-09-2014 08:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
jaycee Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 115
Joined: May 2014

Machine: S-9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air Large
Humidifier: 5i
CPAP Pressure: 9-13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: RT at a DME

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #14
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
Once you have your autoset and YOU determine what the correct pressures are on your machine you can put that pressure into your S-9 Escape and have that be your "travel/back up machine".
06-09-2014 08:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #15
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
(06-08-2014 08:31 PM)robysue Wrote:  The only thing the S9 AutoSet can do that your S9 Elite cannot do is autotitrate. That's it.

It can also adjust the pressure during the night as things like your sleeping position change.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-09-2014 11:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #16
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
(06-08-2014 08:36 PM)JWR Wrote:  I know on a fixed pressure I can't sleep on my back , but with my auto my pressure will creep up from around 13.5 on normal nights to 17.5 to 18 when I'm on my back . Yes I know shouldn't sleep on my back . I can still get a good nights sleep and have around .17 to .38 even a few 0 AHI nights on my back . can't do that with a fixed pressure machine cause it can't compensate when something changes in your sleep pattern or your having a bad night.

You could just go with a fixed pressure of 18. That's essentially what you'd have to do if you had a fixed pressure machine.

If you had trouble tolerating that high of a fixed pressure, that would be a situation where the auto-CPAP machine would become most useful.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-09-2014 11:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Stargazer Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 100
Joined: Apr 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quatro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10-15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Carolina Coast

Post: #17
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
(06-09-2014 04:48 AM)Gabby Wrote:  So thanks to you all, I am going to be the owner, finally of an S9 Autoset.
It will be a few weeks before it arrives, I will have been on CPAP for five months by then.

Terrific news!!!! Congrats

Very, very happy for you! I Haven't regretted a single day with my Autoset and I venture a guess to say you will be pleased as well!

Keep us informed and if there are any questions...we are here!

A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures....
06-09-2014 01:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JWR Offline

Monitors

Posts: 455
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: DreamStation DSX700 , PR 760 bipap auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed mirage FX
Humidifier: DreamStation DSXH , system one
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 17.5max IPAP = 21
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: .

Post: #18
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
(06-09-2014 11:38 AM)Sleepster Wrote:  
(06-08-2014 08:36 PM)JWR Wrote:  I know on a fixed pressure I can't sleep on my back , but with my auto my pressure will creep up from around 13.5 on normal nights to 17.5 to 18 when I'm on my back . Yes I know shouldn't sleep on my back . I can still get a good nights sleep and have around .17 to .38 even a few 0 AHI nights on my back . can't do that with a fixed pressure machine cause it can't compensate when something changes in your sleep pattern or your having a bad night.

You could just go with a fixed pressure of 18. That's essentially what you'd have to do if you had a fixed pressure machine.

If you had trouble tolerating that high of a fixed pressure, that would be a situation where the auto-CPAP machine would become most useful.


Congrats Gabby on the Autoset Banana
That's why I Do have a Auto machine . Get to enjoy being able to sleep how ever I like and still be covered instead of high pressure all the time like on a fix pressure machine to do the same Agreed

(This post was last modified: 06-09-2014 02:15 PM by JWR.)
06-09-2014 02:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #19
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
I assume, you,re getting the machine from Supplier #2, they sell new and used machines
If buying used machine, ask them for the 'run hours', run hours are not reset when data is erased (the lower, the better),
maybe the serial number too
Also as you have the humidifier, you can save some money of not getting the humidifier at this time around
The machine comes with power brick and cord with US wall plug at the end but you can take it out and use the cord you have now with AU plug

you need 90W power supply to operate the machine and humidifier (30W power supply only operate the machine)

Used machines are not normally comes with an SD card, you might want to confirm with them

In Australia CPAP are GST exempt but might be some tax (not sure what they call it) to be paid on purchases over $1000
06-09-2014 06:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Gabby Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 665
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Philips Nuance Nasal Mask
Humidifier: ResMed AirSense 10 For Her
CPAP Pressure: 8-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Sunshine Coast, Qld., Australia.

Post: #20
RE: S9 Autoset or Elite
(06-09-2014 06:05 PM)zonk Wrote:  I assume, you,re getting the machine from Supplier #2, they sell new and used machines
If buying used machine, ask them for the 'run hours', run hours are not reset when data is erased (the lower, the better),
maybe the serial number too
Also as you have the humidifier, you can save some money of not getting the humidifier at this time around
The machine comes with power brick and cord with US wall plug at the end but you can take it out and use the cord you have now with AU plug

you need 90W power supply to operate the machine and humidifier (30W power supply only operate the machine)

Used machines are not normally comes with an SD card, you might want to confirm with them

In Australia CPAP are GST exempt but might be some tax (not sure what they call it) to be paid on purchases over $1000

Zonk, I have a different supplier in the U.S. that I have bought my humidifier, masks, pipes, hoses and any other equipment I have needed since the start of my journey.
I know this site highly recommends 2 & 10 but I still found them expensive.
I have had no problems whatsoever with this lady.
She is always AT LEAST a third cheaper than other U.S. sites and that really helps me.
I am getting a brand new Autoset S9 with a two year guarantee and it does not have Escape in it's name anywhere. I made extra certain to check.

Thank you for the information about the leads.
Did you say that the new one will come with an SD card?

I am just very happy to finally be getting one of these machines.

Sleep Tight...
Gabby
06-09-2014 06:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] Water tub maintenance for ResMed S9 Elite Maggie 9 370 10-30-2016 01:53 PM
Last Post: Maggie
  Resmed s9 elite stats jxyzobrien 0 233 08-19-2016 04:32 PM
Last Post: jxyzobrien
Question [Equipment] SmartStart on ResMed S9 Elite BarryM 3 507 06-13-2016 04:57 PM
Last Post: zonk
  Air sense 10 Elite vs Autoset. FrankNichols 15 1,485 04-21-2016 08:32 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  REsMed Air Sense 10 Auto vs. ResMed S9 Elite Data BobF 8 1,089 03-25-2016 04:11 PM
Last Post: palerider
  S10 Elite? BobF 3 456 03-23-2016 06:44 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
Question AirSense 10 CPAP vs AirSense Elite with Sleepyhead FrankNichols 6 1,284 03-22-2016 04:07 PM
Last Post: FrankNichols

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)