Post Reply 
S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
Author Message
Dennis of the NorthWet Offline

Members

Posts: 16
Joined: May 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Respironics - TrueBlue
Humidifier: H5i w/ climate control tubing
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: 4th Corner - Blaine WA

Post: #1
Question S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
I just got a replacement for my "moaning" S9 from my DME. I asked if there would be any issues if I continue using the data card from the old machine. The DME "thought" that installing the old card in a new machine would wipe the prior data.

A new card came with the new machine, so I have a way to not loose my prior data if that data would be deleted from the old card by a new machine. However, continuing to use the old card and having a continuum of prior history on same would seem preferable (?).

I have both ResMed and Sleepyhead data programs in my computer, though I have stopped updating the ResMed, as Sleepyhead shows me what I want to know and is much more user friendly. Mucho kudos and thanks to Mark Watkins, the Sleepyhead author!

One of the possible issues with switching cards or machines is that both data programs report the model and serial number of the machine in use, and I would like to know how a new machine and serial number will be dealt with by the programs, particularly Sleepyhead.

So, bottom line(s):
1. Will prior data be wiped if a current card is used in a new S9 machine
2. Any other issues with using an existing card with a new machine or with the programs themselves?
3. Anything I didn't think of?

Thanks for your time,
Dennis
10-20-2012 12:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #2
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
I'll recommend new card, new machine. That way, there are no questions about it working.

Your software may have problems no matter how you do it. Try it, and if necessary, create a new user. It will be inconvenient for a while, but after a while, you won't really care about the old data any more.

I wouldn't be surprised if the new S9 wants to wipe the old card, but I can't say for sure.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
10-20-2012 05:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Dennis of the NorthWet Offline

Members

Posts: 16
Joined: May 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Respironics - TrueBlue
Humidifier: H5i w/ climate control tubing
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: 4th Corner - Blaine WA

Post: #3
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
(10-20-2012 05:13 AM)archangle Wrote:  ........, but after a while, you won't really care about the old data any more......

I have noticed (in myself), that as someone else said, new users tend to be obsessive about all things CPAP, particularly the data. But as you so wisely say, after a week or so, your prior data is old news. So, I've started with the new card, and will contact the ResMed folks for the answer.

Dennis
10-20-2012 11:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
(10-20-2012 11:46 PM)Dennis of the NorthWet Wrote:  
(10-20-2012 05:13 AM)archangle Wrote:  ........, but after a while, you won't really care about the old data any more......

I have noticed (in myself), that as someone else said, new users tend to be obsessive about all things CPAP, particularly the data. But as you so wisely say, after a week or so, your prior data is old news. So, I've started with the new card, and will contact the ResMed folks for the answer.

Dennis

Perhaps bad wording on my part. The data will still be there, but you might have to change users to look at it. You won't need to look at it every night.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
10-21-2012 06:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Dennis of the NorthWet Offline

Members

Posts: 16
Joined: May 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Respironics - TrueBlue
Humidifier: H5i w/ climate control tubing
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: 4th Corner - Blaine WA

Post: #5
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
(10-20-2012 05:13 AM)archangle Wrote:  I'll recommend new card, new machine. That way, there are no questions about it working.

Your software may have problems no matter how you do it. Try it, and if necessary, create a new user. It will be inconvenient for a while, but after a while, you won't really care about the old data any more. .......

I used the new card and have subsequently downloaded two days data to both ResScan and Sleepyhead with no issues. The programs logged the new machine serial number and other than Sleepyhead saying that I averaged 13:08 hours of sleep on the 6 month and year average, everything seems to have carried on normally.

Have yet to contact ResMed about what would happen if I used the old card in the new machine.

BTW, the new machine makes the same noises as the "old" one it replaced. Kind of a whistling moan on exhalation. More annoying for the wife than myself. She thought it was a train whistle first time she heard it ;' >

Dennis
10-22-2012 02:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
Mine started sounding like a sick duck last night. I turned it off then back on but it continued. I checked the hoses then pushed down on the humidifier lid. The noise stopped. This is the third time it has done this. The lid decides to open. All three times, I had not opened it in several days so it's not like I hadn't closed it all the way just prior. Maybe it gets lonely and feels unloved.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-22-2012 09:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,973
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #7
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
(10-22-2012 09:52 AM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  Mine started sounding like a sick duck last night.

Uh oh... not good. Are you any closer to the point at which you can upgrade to the S9 AutoSet?

Inquiring minds want to know... Thinking-about

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

10-22-2012 10:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #8
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
Every time I have money set aside for it, something comes up. Like new shoes for the truck. A broken tooth. Etc.

We've gotten ahead on everything and as long as nothing breaks down, I will be getting in the beginning of November.

I am sorely tempted to get the Respironics.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-22-2012 01:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #9
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
(10-22-2012 02:41 AM)Dennis of the NorthWet Wrote:  Have yet to contact ResMed about what would happen if I used the old card in the new machine.
you can reformat the card and if the machine read the card then should be alright but just guessing
10-22-2012 03:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #10
RE: S9 - New Machine - Old Data Card. Any Glitches?
(10-22-2012 01:38 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  I am sorely tempted to get the Respironics.

You know how much I like mine!

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-22-2012 06:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Totally Confused by Airsense 10 Data - Centrals - Problem machine... ? mymontreal 22 1,094 Today 11:34 AM
Last Post: robysue
  Nw ASV machine does not download to SD card jmayer180 7 316 11-24-2016 01:11 PM
Last Post: ruach
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,500 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
  No Data on SD Card jamr005 3 240 10-29-2016 08:22 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 2 6,174 10-12-2016 11:37 AM
Last Post: DariaVader
  [CPAP] Do sleep MD's use memory card data? beet 15 785 09-23-2016 07:25 PM
Last Post: richb
  Sleepyhead data vs. Doctor's data Daisylouu 8 1,404 09-01-2016 06:10 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)