Post Reply 
S9 SD card
Author Message
harmonicamoon Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: resmed s9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P forma
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Yucatan, Mexico

Post: #1
S9 SD card
Hello-
I took out the SD card and reviewed info with SleepyHead.
I put the card back in the S9. It says invalid SD card. Why is it invalid? Then it asks: Erase card data? I put in "no". It says please remove card. The CPAP won't work with the card in. Do I have to erase data each time it is removed? Please help. Thank you
08-06-2013 09:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: S9 SD card
you can lock the card before put into card reader so nothing can be written on the card, remember to unlock the card before put into machine

By choosing "Yes" ... the machine over write the old data and write fresh therapy/compliance data (up to 365 days) on the card but you would loose any detailed data on the card as detailed data written directly on the card and not stored in machine memory

download the data on your computer before letting the machine erasing the data so you don,t loose any detailed data. The card also stores 30 days of detailed data and 7 days of flow data
08-06-2013 11:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
harmonicamoon Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: resmed s9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P forma
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Yucatan, Mexico

Post: #3
RE: S9 SD card
(08-06-2013 11:43 PM)zonk Wrote:  you can lock the card before put into card reader so nothing can be written on the card, remember to unlock the card before put into machine

By choosing "Yes" ... the machine over write the old data and write fresh therapy/compliance data (up to 365 days) on the card but you would loose any detailed data on the card as detailed data written directly on the card and not stored in machine memory

download the data on your computer before letting the machine erasing the data so you don,t loose any detailed data. The card also stores 30 days of detailed data and 7 days of flow data

Gracias zonk. So, if I lock the card then put it in the computer, the S9 will accept the card? I didn't do that before and now it says the card is invalid.
If I got a SD with more memory would it store more detailed data?
Thank you for your replies.
08-07-2013 12:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,067
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #4
RE: S9 SD card
Locking the card before you put it into the computer is to prevent you from accidentally either erasing or removing data from the card. It also prevents extra stuff from being written onto the card.

If you put a locked card into the CPAP, it will say "locked card" or similar.

What zonk was saying is:
- make sure you have imported the data into whatever program you are using
- copy the data off the card into a folder on your desktop
- put the card into the machine. If it wants to reformat the card, let it. It will then rewrite the data from the machine.

However, it will only have the flow data for the previous 7 days, the detail data for the past 30, and then the rest will be compliance hours for the previous 365 days. But since you just imported the data into the software of your computer, all is well and nothing was truly lost. Next time you put the card in your computer, it will recognize it as from the same machine.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-07-2013 12:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: S9 SD card
(08-07-2013 12:18 AM)harmonicamoon Wrote:  Gracias zonk. So, if I lock the card then put it in the computer, the S9 will accept the card? I didn't do that before and now it says the card is invalid.
If I got a SD with more memory would it store more detailed data?
Thank you for your replies.
Locking the card is just precautionary measure, the “Invalid SD card” message could appear on LCD if there are some foreign files found on the SD card. If you choose “Yes” to erase data, it does erase all the current content on the SD card, but at the same time, it writes another copy of all summary data on the card. So, you can choose “Yes” to erase the data and continue using the same card
However, by erasing the SD card data, you will lose the last 30 days of detailed data which cannot be retrieved after erasure. So, if detailed data is very important for you, download before erasing the data.

Card size makes no difference, here is was the machine and the card stores
http://www.s9morecomfort.com/s9morecomfo...ement.html
08-07-2013 12:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Paptillian Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 474
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4 - 10, EPR x2
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post: #6
RE: S9 SD card
(08-07-2013 12:32 AM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  However, it will only have the flow data for the previous 7 days [...]

I found out that the flow data is not stored on the device at all. It only saves the last 7-days' worth if the SD card is present. Otherwise, all you'll get when you put the SD card back in is the compliance data (and maybe the 30-day detail data but I'm not sure).

In other words, the S9 writes the flow data directly to the SD card as it records it.
08-07-2013 09:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
harmonicamoon Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: resmed s9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P forma
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Yucatan, Mexico

Post: #7
RE: S9 SD card
Thank you so much Paula02 and zonk. With your help I am getting to know my new sleep partner better. My original sleep study said I needed a 15. Average pressure on the S9 is less than 11. One apnea per 8 hours. Before CPAP it was 90 per hour. Life is good! Thank you all!
08-07-2013 10:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,973
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #8
RE: S9 SD card
(08-07-2013 10:03 AM)harmonicamoon Wrote:  Thank you so much Paula02 and zonk. With your help I am getting to know my new sleep partner better. My original sleep study said I needed a 15. Average pressure on the S9 is less than 11. One apnea per 8 hours. Before CPAP it was 90 per hour. Life is good! Thank you all!

That's one of the reasons why so many of us around here recommend a data-capable Auto-CPAP machine, over a fixed-pressure CPAP. Once your settings are tweaked and optimized, you generally require a lower pressure than your sleep lab-titrated pressure and your overall AHI is lower as well, since the machine can adapt to your needs as you sleep, as opposed to pushing out one single pressure all night long.

Good to hear your new sleep partner is working for you! SHa_biggrin5

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

08-07-2013 10:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
harmonicamoon Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 25
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: resmed s9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P forma
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Yucatan, Mexico

Post: #9
RE: S9 SD card
I erased the data, and now my new sleep partner accepts the SD card. Because I didn't lock the card before feeding it to the Mac, the Mac shook hands with the card and they talked and then it was an invalid card. Next time, I will lock the card before I insert and see what happens. Thanks troops!
08-07-2013 08:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 28 27,486 03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: palerider
  Downloading data to SD card of Resmed for nights that SD card not in ResMed machine Robert6 8 4,935 06-19-2015 09:28 AM
Last Post: estgad
  Forgot to put card back in machine, is there a way to copy it from machine to card? Marnid2014 6 3,797 04-06-2014 08:54 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)