Post Reply 
S9 autoset and extension cord
Author Message
truetopath Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 421
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PR system one 560p auto with a flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resumed F10
Humidifier: PR system one
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Lake View, NY

Post: #1
S9 autoset and extension cord
So I have a silly question. I like to camp out in the tents in the backyard with the kiddos when we're not out roughing it in the woods. My question is can I run an extension cord from the outdoor outlet on the house and plug my s9 autoset into it? I would use the manufacturer cord that came with the machine.
04-26-2015 10:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #2
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Should be fine. Use a good one rated for outdoors.
04-26-2015 10:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,005
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #3
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Don't see why not.
04-26-2015 10:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Quila Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: AirSense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 13
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post: #4
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
I used to camp a lot and have actually woken up rather damp after some heavy rain. The only thing I'd suggest is to make sure the machine, power cord and brick are raised off the tent floor and protected from getting wet. It might not be an issue in your climate, but just something to think about. Of course, if you're camping at home, you can always sleep in bed if it's raining. Other than that, I can't think of any other reason why it wouldn't work.
04-26-2015 12:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
GeoffD Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 194
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: Integral + ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 14-17
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: New England

Post: #5
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
It's only 90 watts. Like an incandescent light bulb. You don't need a particularly beefy extension cord. An electric grass trimmer or hedge trimmer consumes at least 3x more power.
04-26-2015 04:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
I use an extension cord all the time when I travel since rarely are hotel outlets where I need it.

Due to dampness, invest in a decent but cheap GFI/surge or get a cord that has one. They make small ones for laptops that plug into just before the power brick. Saves space.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-26-2015 04:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,840
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #7
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
An outdoor outlet should by code be a GFCI outlet. Max current for the brick is 1.5 Ampere. Let's say you had a really cheapo extension, like 18 Gauge wire running 100 feet. (That's 200 feet total for the Hot and Neutral.) 18G copper wire is 0.00762 Ω/ft @65 °C. 0.00762 Ω/ft x 200 ft = 1.524 Ω. The Voltage loss would be 1.524 Ω x 1.5 Ampere = 2.286 Volts. So, if you have 120 Volts at the outlet, you would have 117.7 Volts at the Brick. Well within the 100 Volt minimum required per the power brick label. Most likely you would use a better extension cord.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-26-2015 06:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
truetopath Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 421
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PR system one 560p auto with a flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resumed F10
Humidifier: PR system one
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Lake View, NY

Post: #8
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Awesome!! Thanks everyone!
04-26-2015 06:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #9
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Unless you verify GFCI in circuit and test it to prove it woks use a plugin and be sure the cord is in good shape. No nicks ! Yes the GFCI should save you but stepping on an abraded cord in wet grass is something you don't want to test. Do not ask how I know this.

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
04-26-2015 09:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #10
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Modern homes are required to have GFCI protected receptacles in all bathrooms and any outdoor receptacles (if present). It is also required on kitchen receptacles that are withing reach of any grounded water pipes or faucets. There are two easy ways to check to see if your house is in compliance. Either there will be red & black buttons on the receptacle to press to test the operation of it or there will be a red & black button on the circuit breaker in your branch panel box that does the same thing. Pressing the black button will trip the device and power will be shut off. Press the red button to reset it. Alternately you can use a test device that introduces a fault current at a level that is deemed proper to trip the device. That's how building electrical inspectors check for compliance. That device costs under $10 and is also available at those stores mentioned below.

If you have one of those GFCI receptacles available, you can run a cord from it to anywhere outside and be reasonably safe from a ground fault causing an electrocution. That doesn't mean that you are completely safe since a line to neutral hazard will not trip the GFCI and the circuit breaker will not protect at a level that will save your life. Use good judgement and keep the business end of the cord enclosed in a plastic bag and be sure the cord is rated for outdoor use and has no nicks in the jacket. Place it where it won't likely be walked on and warn others not to walk on it.

If no GFCI protected receptacle is present, you can buy a plug in device that provides that protection as a temporarily measure. They cost about $30 at builders supply houses like Lowe's or Home Depot. Later you should have proper receptacles installed as required by the N.E.C.. They cost under $15 and are easily installed without need for an electrician.

I've used drop cords outdoors many times without any GFCI protection and I'm not dead yet but with the advent of cheap protection from the possibility of ground fault electrocution, why not take advantage of it? You certainly don't want to risk harming one of those kids!
(This post was last modified: 04-26-2015 11:38 PM by surferdude2.)
04-26-2015 11:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Insurance won't pay for power cord? CharlotteYork 13 879 11-17-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: tzk321
  airsense 10 autoset or resmed S9 autoset sleepybeaver 18 6,100 05-30-2015 07:38 PM
Last Post: zonk
Grin Left Power cord at home. dsk0875 5 1,572 01-05-2015 07:03 PM
Last Post: archangle

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)