Post Reply 
S9 autoset and extension cord
Author Message
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #11
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
(04-26-2015 11:27 PM)surferdude2 Wrote:  There are two easy ways to check to see if your house is in compliance. Either there will be red & black buttons on the receptacle to press to test the operation of it or there will be a red & black button on the circuit breaker in your branch panel box that does the same thing.

A lot of the GFCI outlet are plain white or ivory. No black red buttons. But buttons on the face of the plug are pretty good indicators.

I have had one or two of the GFCI outlets go bad - where they would trip whenever you turned on anything plugged into the outlet.

OMMOHY
(This post was last modified: 04-27-2015 07:23 AM by OMyMyOHellYes.)
04-27-2015 07:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #12
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Unsure

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
04-27-2015 07:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #13
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Them guys in that pool is what you call geniuseseses. You can only hope that their reproductive bits get shocked just enough so that they cannot reproduce.

OMMOHY
04-27-2015 07:49 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,854
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #14
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
And, FYI, bedrooms are now required to have AFCI's.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arc-fault_circuit_interrupter

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-27-2015 01:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #15
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
(04-27-2015 01:47 PM)justMongo Wrote:  And, FYI, bedrooms are now required to have AFCI's.

The following has little to do with camping with the kids in the back yard and running power to a CPAP unit but I though to mention it anyway just for academic reasons.

That's true that the new code requires AFCI's in Bedrooms. However, they are causing a measure of grief for independent electricians due to call-backs for false triggering. Some of them have resorted to removing the devices to put an end to the problem. I will refrain from commenting on their risk management. I will advise against removing any protective device if it causes problems since that was the same history that GFI receptacles had when first introduced. It may well be tripping for a valid reason! A ground to neutral contact is a common cause of mysterious tripping.

I have worked many years in the trade and have the greatest respect for the City of Los Angeles Lab's opinion on such matters. They are of the highest regard in the industry and often advise NFPA (source of the N.E.C.) as to how to proceed. They have a way of cutting through the flak and presenting the requirements in plain talk that a job-site electrician can understand.

Here's how they present it:

[Image: 2v8hjee.jpg]

The above will fly with any authority having jurisdiction unless he has risen beyond his level of incompetence.
(This post was last modified: 04-28-2015 08:06 AM by surferdude2.)
04-27-2015 09:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
BadGoodDeb Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 210
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 for Her
Humidifier: no
CPAP Pressure: 8 (testing 7.8-10)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: New to AirSense 10 and AirFit P10, but 4 years on prev unit

Sex: Female
Location: Chicago outskirts (Aurora, IL)

Post: #16
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Since we're talking about voltages ..... and since the current topic seems mostly finished ? .....
when my ResMed AirSense 10 says it runs on "110 - 240V" and it has no switch to change between the two, does that mean when I travel to the UK (from the USA) I only need to bring adapters to that the plug prongs fit? And that the machine will make the power voltages all "just work"?
04-28-2015 12:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
wp6529 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 34
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quatro AIR
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9-16
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #17
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Exactly. When a voltage range is specified the power supply will operate at any voltage within that range. The same for power line frequency i.e. 50-60Hz. The only travel adapters required for such devices is a plug adapter.

With switch-mode power supplies being the norm for most things these days most devices you might travel with only require plug adapters.

Do of course check the actual label on each device since if you happen to have a device that does not have a wide input range power supply bad things will happen if plugged into the wrong voltage.
04-28-2015 12:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Homerec130 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 445
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Philips/Resperonics BiPAP auto SV Advanced System One (950P)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: Philips Respironics System 1
CPAP Pressure: 6-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: But it is a dry heat.

Sex: Male
Location: Tucson, AZ

Post: #18
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
Thing I have always been amazed at is that the outlets under the sink for the dish washer and garbage disposal do not have to be GFCI (at least that is the answer we were given when we asked). Also, it is not a good idea to put computer equipment and such on a GFCI circuit. I have a couple of devices here that the manual said specifically not to do it.

Homer
04-28-2015 01:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #19
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
That will change as soon as your AHJ adopts the new code. The 2014 N.E.C. requires dishwashers have GFCI protection. "210.8(D) Kitchen Dishwasher Branch Circuit. GFCI protection shall be provided for outlets that supply dishwashers installed in dwelling unit locations."

The definition of an outlet from Article 100 is, "A point on the wiring system at which current is taken to supply utilization equipment." Which means receptacle outlet, lighting outlet, or hardwired.

Can you give me the make & model of the computer components you have that specifically requested they not be on a GFCI protected circuit? I suspect it may be asking that you not connect it to an "ungrounded" GFCI. Ungrounded GFCI's are allowed in older homes where no equipment grounding conductor is present (2-wire systems). They must be clearly marked as ungrounded. AFAIK, all computers and other IT equipment require grounding to function reliably and have adequate shielding to conform to R.F. radiation standards that are imposed by the FCC.
(This post was last modified: 04-28-2015 08:34 PM by surferdude2.)
04-28-2015 08:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #20
RE: S9 autoset and extension cord
I notice that my HP laptop doesn't have a grounding type plug and I suspect that may be true for other laptops as well. Evidently they have adequate shielding to prevent radiation without the need for grounding. Since they operate on an isolation type power supply or batteries and they don't have exposed metal parts that would require or be able to use an equipment grounding conductor, they get a pass. Landing it on plastic wouldn't do much for protection. Smile
(This post was last modified: 04-28-2015 09:07 PM by surferdude2.)
04-28-2015 09:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Insurance won't pay for power cord? CharlotteYork 13 917 11-17-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: tzk321
  airsense 10 autoset or resmed S9 autoset sleepybeaver 18 6,126 05-30-2015 07:38 PM
Last Post: zonk
Grin Left Power cord at home. dsk0875 5 1,580 01-05-2015 07:03 PM
Last Post: archangle

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)