Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

S9 presssure problems
#1
I had been using Remstarauto set to cpcp mode at 16 cm with no ramp. That pressure didn't bother me at all. But I just picked up a used S9autoset and either I am doing something wrong of it's defective. I tried it in auto mode, no ramp and eer turned off and set the pressure at 12 to 16 and was using the slimline hose with a fullface mask. When I turned it on it had odd pulses of pressure either almost no air flow at all or short burst that felt way above 16 cm. I reset the pressure in cpap mode to 6 cm and it still pulses, pulses that feel stronger than 16 cm. I kept the mask on for 10 minuets and shure didn't go to sleep but the unit registered an AHI of 18 ! I am hoping I am missing something simple. And if it is defective would the original purchaser have to return it .
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
(01-12-2017, 05:52 PM)E.W. Wrote: And if it is defective would the original purchaser have to return it .

How did you obtain it?

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
The S9 is out of warranty, even to the original purchaser. My suggestion would be to do an inexpensive pressure test with a CPAP manometer. You can get one under $20 (search: Fisher and Paykel HC224 Water Column CPAP Manometer ). If the manometer confirms pressure is incorrect or is pulsing, then Supplier #27 may be able to give you an estimate for repair. An even cheaper DIY manometer an be built at home with very little investment: http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ew-dollars

Sometimes a Cragislist unit is just defective, and that is the risk you take. I hope it works out for you. The manometer can confirm if pressure is correct.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
I should have specified it's when I breathe that it acts like it sends out a pulse of very high pressure .
I have a home made manometer but that will just measure the static pressure not the pressure when
I have the mask on and start to breathe. Any way I may get the seller to take it back .
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Any transaction is an agreement between 2 parties. I doubt there is a warranty attached to this one, but you're welcome to ask. If you want my ethical opinion...meh. What is the nature of the transaction?
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#6
I just talked to Southwest the repair facility recomended here . There teck
thinks it's a problem in the settings but these settings have to be set
with special software on a computer. Oh well even if I got took with
this purchase it evens out like the nearly new Respridonix Everflow O2 concentrator I bought for $25 because it needed that flow valve a $40 part replaced.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
How many hours on the machine? You can read that in the settings menu.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
~ 4000
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Full Face Mask Problems larryslade66 7 338 07-10-2018, 07:27 AM
Last Post: larryslade66
  ResMed10 Sleep Report problems FJD3 3 188 07-04-2018, 10:49 AM
Last Post: snorybob
Question [Symptoms] Ear problems jkunnen 6 283 06-25-2018, 09:46 PM
Last Post: Melman
  AirFit F20 Mask Problems Rowdie 22 941 05-24-2018, 06:29 PM
Last Post: djensen9367
  recent problems with sleep disturbance sleepybones 18 975 05-18-2018, 09:21 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] Leak/Fit problems - looking for mask suggestions for first-timer fs12 13 701 05-06-2018, 05:30 PM
Last Post: fs12
  xPAP and Ear Problems holden4th 18 658 04-24-2018, 05:40 AM
Last Post: holden4th

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.