Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

S9 presssure problems
#1
I had been using Remstarauto set to cpcp mode at 16 cm with no ramp. That pressure didn't bother me at all. But I just picked up a used S9autoset and either I am doing something wrong of it's defective. I tried it in auto mode, no ramp and eer turned off and set the pressure at 12 to 16 and was using the slimline hose with a fullface mask. When I turned it on it had odd pulses of pressure either almost no air flow at all or short burst that felt way above 16 cm. I reset the pressure in cpap mode to 6 cm and it still pulses, pulses that feel stronger than 16 cm. I kept the mask on for 10 minuets and shure didn't go to sleep but the unit registered an AHI of 18 ! I am hoping I am missing something simple. And if it is defective would the original purchaser have to return it .
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
(01-12-2017, 05:52 PM)E.W. Wrote: And if it is defective would the original purchaser have to return it .

How did you obtain it?
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
The S9 is out of warranty, even to the original purchaser. My suggestion would be to do an inexpensive pressure test with a CPAP manometer. You can get one under $20 (search: Fisher and Paykel HC224 Water Column CPAP Manometer ). If the manometer confirms pressure is incorrect or is pulsing, then Supplier #27 may be able to give you an estimate for repair. An even cheaper DIY manometer an be built at home with very little investment: http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ew-dollars

Sometimes a Cragislist unit is just defective, and that is the risk you take. I hope it works out for you. The manometer can confirm if pressure is correct.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
I should have specified it's when I breathe that it acts like it sends out a pulse of very high pressure .
I have a home made manometer but that will just measure the static pressure not the pressure when
I have the mask on and start to breathe. Any way I may get the seller to take it back .
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Any transaction is an agreement between 2 parties. I doubt there is a warranty attached to this one, but you're welcome to ask. If you want my ethical opinion...meh. What is the nature of the transaction?
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
I just talked to Southwest the repair facility recomended here . There teck
thinks it's a problem in the settings but these settings have to be set
with special software on a computer. Oh well even if I got took with
this purchase it evens out like the nearly new Respridonix Everflow O2 concentrator I bought for $25 because it needed that flow valve a $40 part replaced.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
How many hours on the machine? You can read that in the settings menu.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
~ 4000
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Respironics Dreamstation problems Rimaggio 5 373 09-29-2017, 09:35 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Back sleeper [causing problems] AngeliqueFox 21 564 09-04-2017, 08:00 PM
Last Post: Beej
  nuance to Swift FX for her setting problems akdog30 12 787 06-24-2017, 12:10 PM
Last Post: jsielke
  noob here, with the usual problems imrj 16 730 06-17-2017, 07:34 PM
Last Post: ajack
Surprised High Pressure Causing Problems - please explain leak data Zandor435 5 630 06-04-2017, 11:59 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Problems with CPAP & Mask ezymel 8 447 06-04-2017, 11:23 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
Question Dry Mouth problems Anthonyscic 16 1,147 06-01-2017, 11:17 PM
Last Post: Anthonyscic

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.