Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

S9 questions
RE: S9 questions
(12-29-2013, 12:58 AM)bigfish Wrote: I prefer to have CPAP vs APAP delivery to my mask.
Whats the model of your machine, model name printed next to on/off button

Post Reply Post Reply
Newbie here but I've been using the S9 for about a year...My current mask whistles but previous masks did not. I noticed it as soon as I switched masks. Not a big bother but definitely noticeable.

teebee
Post Reply Post Reply
(12-31-2013, 07:44 PM)teebee Wrote: ...My current mask whistles but previous masks did not.
Hi teebee, welcome aboard
Depend on the mask, the vents on my mask are located on the elbow allows air disperse quietly
[Image: 01-l.jpg]

Post Reply Post Reply
It can really be weird about how a mask makes noise. My previous mask was a Swift LT for Her. The Medium pillows were the right size but they whistled as I breathed. I hated it. I couldn't sleep listening to that. So I went to the small which didn't make that noise.

I tried several times to figure out what it was about that set that was making the noise and I just couldn't find the source. There were no leaks, it was just noisy.

So the first thing to check is to double and triple make sure that you have the mask assembled correctly. Then put it on and turn on the machine. When you hear the noise, run your finger lightly over the edges to see if the sound changes at any point, like it is from a leak or a bend in the mask's shape. Check any connections to the mask such as the hose connections. I once had a swivel joint that whistled. I changed it out for an older one to solve that problem.

If you can't find the noise and if it is so bad you can't sleep, take it back to the supplier and request another.
PaulaO

Take a deep breath and count to zen.