Post Reply 
SD Card
Author Message
jimjam Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: May 2012

Machine: unsure
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
SD Card
Can I use a generic SD card on an Resmed S9 Auto. I am planning to restore a used machine to factory reset. I do not have the original SD card.
05-11-2012 10:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,064
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: SD Card
Yes, any card of the appropriate type will work.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-11-2012 12:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JumpStart Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 297
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ResMed Mirage Quattro

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #3
RE: SD Card
Any SD card will work, however, depending on the machine's firmware, it may not accept an SDHC, which are now more generally available. I understand that at least one machine made within the last 18 months does accept SDHC, so, as I said, it will depend on your machine's firmware.

Breathing keeps you alive. And PAP helps keep you breathing!
05-11-2012 12:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,064
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #4
RE: SD Card
If he puts in a SDHC and it does not work, would it ruin the card or simply not see it?

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-11-2012 12:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JumpStart Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 297
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ResMed Mirage Quattro

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #5
RE: SD Card
(05-11-2012 12:23 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  If he puts in a SDHC and it does not work, would it ruin the card or simply not see it?

It would simply not see it, or write to it. A non-event.

Edit: When an SDHC card is inserted in an S9 autoset which accepts that version of the card, the screen will immediately display something like "preparing SD card" or words to that effect. Of course, the machine must be "on". :grin: If it doesn't, it is unlikely that anything will record on that card.

Breathing keeps you alive. And PAP helps keep you breathing!
(This post was last modified: 05-11-2012 04:42 PM by JumpStart.)
05-11-2012 04:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #6
RE: SD Card
Hi jimjam
Also make sure the "Sleep Quality" in the clinical menu is set to ON not usage otherwise no data get recorded and the SD card in unlocked position inserted in the S9 prior going to bed.
FYI: S9 AutoSet is full data capable machine shows efficacy data and the S9 Escape Auto is not full data capable it only shows AHI (no breakdown AI, HI, CAI) and no leak info either or some of the other features.
Welcome
(This post was last modified: 05-11-2012 06:06 PM by zonk.)
05-11-2012 06:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jimjam Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: May 2012

Machine: unsure
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: SD Card
Thanks guys. Very helpful.
05-11-2012 06:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #8
RE: SD Card
On April 3 I got a Respironics System One with A-Flex from the DME on the prescription from my doc. It came with a 2GB SD card. I returned the machine, but kept the card. I bought a used machine (same model) on a local Craigslist, and it came with another 2GB SD card. Now I use a plain 4GB SanDisk SD card that I got from Fry's for $3.99. The SanDisk is actually a micro SD card in a mini adapter. The only difference is that SleepyHead takes a long time to read the SanDisk card.

There really is no reason for me to use the SanDisk, except that I have been using it for several days now, so it has all the latest data on it. The amount of data for each night's sleep is only a few bytes, so a 2GB card will last ages.

If you put a blank SD card in the machine the screen says something like "transferring data" for a while, after which the card is ready. What the machine transfers is the folder format and some basic files that the machine will be looking for. The machine does not reformat the card; it just puts the necessary beginning files and folders on it. Having said that, I once tried a card from my Android phone and the machine puked it up. I don't think it liked the Android/Linux filesystem.
05-11-2012 10:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,988
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #9
RE: SD Card
I have also used one type of PRS1 machine for several nights, took the card out and put it in a different model PRS1 machine, and then went on using that machine. Data from both machines coexists nicely on the card, and is read by SleepyHead with no problems.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-11-2012 11:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 28 27,387 03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: palerider
  Downloading data to SD card of Resmed for nights that SD card not in ResMed machine Robert6 8 4,904 06-19-2015 09:28 AM
Last Post: estgad
  Forgot to put card back in machine, is there a way to copy it from machine to card? Marnid2014 6 3,777 04-06-2014 08:54 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)