Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

SD Card for the Resmed line of machines
#1
Is there anything special about the SD Cards ??

I broke mine !! This is the first card that I have broken in all the years of computing! And have not even had one corrupted either, so they must be of very poor quality!

yep .. I sure did.. took it out of the machine this morning and as I always do I locked the SD Card so it couldn't be written to. Or at least I attempted to. The tiny little tab that you slide well it broke off and fell on the table. Hummmm, what to do ?? put it in the computer and it won't read it, put it back into machine and it says to unlock the card. Its broke, called the DME and they gave me a new one I picked it up as was near their shop this afternoon anyway.

It appears I lost last nights information as can't find anything for it . Checked to make sure all the settings hadn't changed and all looks good.

But am wondering if there isn't anything special about them .. If not I think I will go get a 2 gig SD card of better quality and use it!

So can other brands of SD Cards be used and is there a limit on the size of the card that can be used. It says a 2 gig will hold 365 days of entries so will a 4 or 8 gig card hold 2 or 4 years worth??
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Nope, nothing special about them. Any 2GB SDCard will work fine.

Post Reply Post Reply
#3
I already have a 4 gig card will it work also ?? and would the card need to be formatted in the computer first ??
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
A 4 GB will work. There may be an issue with SDHC cards.
The machine will format the card if needed.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
1GB SD card all you need, larger size is not necessary better
The maximum data stored on the card: 365 days of everyday data, 30 days of detailed data and 7 days of flow data

Generic cards are cheaper, I've always used ResMed SD card, cost double but still using the same card for over 4 years
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
I wonder if you can pop open that "locked" card and somehow put that thing back in long enough to get the data from that one night?
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(10-13-2014, 06:07 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote: I wonder if you can pop open that "locked" card and somehow put that thing back in long enough to get the data from that one night?

Should be able to. Might have to use tape to keep it closed afterwards. But I guess, for him, it doesn't matter if it doesn't work.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
DME tried to pop it open and slide the tab down but it didn't work.. But think he slide the knife he was using too far in and messed up the circuit I think .. anyway it didn't work and I only lost one day so can live with that.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
If you haven't otherwise damaged it, you can just place a piece if scotch tape across the groove where the switch used to be and it will perform as an unlocked card. Be careful the tape doesn't get on the contact area.

As long as the side is completely closed, the computer will treat it as unlocked because there is no electrical circuit in the card. The slide just functions to close the groove, the same as you will be doing with the scotch tape. The actual switch mechanism is located in your computer SD port. There is just a tiny switch arm that falls down into the card groove when it is in the locked position.
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
That tab is not an electrical switch. It's merely a tab that a feeler in the reader detects to prevent writing to the card... much the same as those sliding locks on 3.5 inch floppy disks. Some software came on floppies with those tabs removed to prevent overwrite.

You can use a sharp blade to cut that little tab off an SD card; and it will be permanently write protected.

Breaking the tab this morning should not have prevented reading that one day of data with a computer.
A broken tab will forever prevent writing to the card.

Edit: And the scotch tape trick should work if the card was not damaged by trying to open it with a knife.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Backup power options for CPAP machines terp1984 22 854 Yesterday, 03:53 PM
Last Post: OMyMyOHellYes
  [Equipment] Resmed S9 SD card no longer works rpc981 4 184 10-08-2017, 04:44 PM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  Transfer IntelliPAP Smartlink Module between machines? firecat 1 80 10-06-2017, 02:13 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] Resmed Airsense 10 SD card fitmart 11 456 10-01-2017, 07:38 AM
Last Post: Anaja09
  [Treatment] ASV Versus Other PAP Machines Greggory 12 531 09-23-2017, 04:39 PM
Last Post: Greggory
  [How to] Start a New Thread with the Right Subject Line! PaulaO2 41 3,409 09-19-2017, 01:03 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
Cool Reading Resmed data card Busdriver58 6 354 08-31-2017, 12:57 PM
Last Post: Busdriver58

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.