Post Reply 
Saving & Restoring Card to unit
Author Message
R_W_B Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Phillips PR System One 560P, 60 Series REMstar Auto A-flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: C1
CPAP Pressure: 6 to 12 on Auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: U.S.

Post: #1
Saving & Restoring Card to unit
I'm using the Phillips PR System One machine, I got it from the Veterans Clinic. They changed my setting (sent my card back with an Auto set). I've tried it for awhile but had less problems the old way. The new auto setting gets too much pressure after it ramps and I have several mask blow outs during the night.

I have a card reading adapter that I can save the card's contents to my laptop via usb cable. What I would like to do is save the card's contents, and then set the machine back to the old pressure with steady (non auto) air and a less aggressive ramp.

My question is: If I ever want to reset my CPAC like the Veterans had it, will simply reloading the card from the laptop and putting the card back in the machine do that ??

Or is there more to restoring settings than simply plugging in the card ??

Best I remember when I received the card in the mail I just stuck it in the machine and that's all I did and the new settings were in place.

Appreciate any input on this.
09-03-2016 03:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,160
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #2
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
There is nothing special to do.

Do you know how to get into clinicians menu to change settings? Order your manual here:
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

The cpap retains all the information and any changes you make. When you put your SD card into the cpap, it will write everything onto the SD card.

You may want to consider downloading the SleepyHead software.
http://sleepyhead.jedimark.net/

This way when you put your SD card into the computer, you can download to the software program and all your information will be there.

OpalRose
09-03-2016 03:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
R_W_B Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Phillips PR System One 560P, 60 Series REMstar Auto A-flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: C1
CPAP Pressure: 6 to 12 on Auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: U.S.

Post: #3
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
(09-03-2016 03:59 PM)OpalRose Wrote:  There is nothing special to do.

Do you know how to get into clinicians menu to change settings? Order your manual here:
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

I think so, it's been awhile since I played with it, but I think I can get into the clinical menu. I may just leave it on Auto and lower the maximum pressure some so my mask doesn't blow out as much.

(09-03-2016 03:59 PM)OpalRose Wrote:  The cpap retains all the information and any changes you make. When you put your SD card into the cpap, it will write everything onto the SD card.


Ok, but just to make your our words are meaning the same thing here, when I put the card into the CPAP, the CPAP then reads and writes the settings stored on the card to the CPAP settings correct ?? (i.e. what's on the card when inserted overwrites what's in the CPAC settings, correct ?)

However I do understand that the CPAP also stores sleep data back to the card also. Please correct me where I might be missing something.

(09-03-2016 03:59 PM)OpalRose Wrote:  You may want to consider downloading the SleepyHead software.
http://sleepyhead.jedimark.net/

This way when you put your SD card into the computer, you can download to the software program and all your information will be there.

Thanks I will try that, I surmise once I transfer the card's contents to the laptop I then open that saved file (of whatever extension) from inside the SleepyHead app (?)
09-03-2016 04:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,160
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #4
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
Ok, don't want to make this sound harder than it is. Believe me, I'm not a computer wiz, and I'm not sure how other brand cpaps work, but with the System One, it fairly simple.

Lets say you don't have an SD card in your machine, and you have been using it for a couple days, then insert an SD card in the cpap. The cpap has all the data stored and will write to the SD card.

If you make setting changes on the cpap, then it will write those changes onto the card for the day you made those changes. All previous information will still be on the SD card for days before the changes. Nothing is lost.

When looking at SleepyHead data, you can see any changes you made to the machine and what day you made the changes, plus so much more. You can track you AHI, and breakdown of AHI, such as Obstructive events, Hypopneas, and Clear Airways, and leak information, and more.

Any changes you make aren't on the card itself, but on the Cpap.
The Cpap writes to the card.

OpalRose
09-03-2016 05:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
R_W_B Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Phillips PR System One 560P, 60 Series REMstar Auto A-flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: C1
CPAP Pressure: 6 to 12 on Auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: U.S.

Post: #5
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
(09-03-2016 05:20 PM)OpalRose Wrote:  Ok, don't want to make this sound harder than it is. Believe me, I'm not a computer wiz, and I'm not sure how other brand cpaps work, but with the System One, it fairly simple.

Lets say you don't have an SD card in your machine, and you have been using it for a couple days, then insert an SD card in the cpap. The cpap has all the data stored and will write to the SD card.

If you make setting changes on the cpap, then it will write those changes onto the card for the day you made those changes. All previous information will still be on the SD card for days before the changes. Nothing is lost.

When looking at SleepyHead data, you can see any changes you made to the machine and what day you made the changes, plus so much more. You can track you AHI, and breakdown of AHI, such as Obstructive events, Hypopneas, and Clear Airways, and leak information, and more.

Any changes you make aren't on the card itself, but on the Cpap.
The Cpap writes to the card.

Uh Ok, well that kinda confuses me cause awhile back the Vet clinic had me remove the card and mail it to them. Bout a month later they sent the card back to me with a letter stating they had new settings on it and to put it back in the unit. So I plugged it into my unit and it did output a new setup. And this new setup doesn't work as well for me.
My unit is the Phillips Respironics 60 Series
Model number is, DS560
Model Name is,
60 Series REMstar Auto
---
If you look on my actual unit on the bottom
it says,
REMstar Auto, DOM
REF 560P
SN P124232253801
---
On the top of my unit it says,
REMstar Auto A-Flex
System One
--------------
09-03-2016 06:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,160
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #6
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
Yes, we are using the same apap, but I've never had to send my SD card into my DME. They really didn't care whether I changed settings.

A couple questions....are you renting this machine from the veterans clinic, or is insurance/Medicare paying. Do you have to show compliance? Compliance has to do with usage, not changing your pressure settings.

I ask because they should not care if you change your own settings. If the auto mode does not work for you, then just change it back to Cpap mode and let them know.

Whatever changes you make on the Cpap, then those changes will write back to the SD card.

OpalRose
09-03-2016 07:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
somnus Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Amara View
Humidifier: Resmed with ClimateLine tube
CPAP Pressure: 4 - 16 sort of
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia

Post: #7
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
As OpalRose says, the machine writes to the SD card. However, there are settings files on the SD card which can be modified by software that can read and write those files. When you insert the card into the machine it checks to see if the settings files have been updated and if so will update the machine settings from the SD card.

I can't be specific about the System One as I use a Resmed machine. However there is a lot of data stored on the cards and in my case there is well over a thousand files. About 40 of these are settings files.

Again as OpalRose says, the simplest way to change your settings is to use the clinicians menu. Changing your settings on the machine will then update settings on the card. If you want to return the settings to what was set by the Veterans Clinic then you can simply do that via the clinicians menu. Be aware though that unless you go to a lot of trouble you won't be able to disguise the changes. Firstly, the card will probably retain a history of settings changes (the Resmed certainly does). Secondly, the daily data will clearly show in both summary and detail form what the settings were.

Downloading and using the Sleepyhead software will give you a much better idea of what's going on with your therapy and also let you see just how much and what data is stored on the card.

Hope this resolves your 'confusion' and doesn't add to it.
09-03-2016 07:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
R_W_B Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Phillips PR System One 560P, 60 Series REMstar Auto A-flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: C1
CPAP Pressure: 6 to 12 on Auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: U.S.

Post: #8
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
Well I will answer your questions, but wanted to let you know the data I found on this forum and (both of you) your replies have helped me a great deal regardless of my confusion. My unit is one of the ones that the manual has to be emailed and it's a weekend plus I don't know if my ISP email server will even let me receive a file that large. Will just have to see on that come Monday.

However I found a youtube video of how to get into the clinical setup for this machine, and I've left the unit on A-Flex Auto but lowered the max pressure some. I will try that for awhile. I also downloaded the SleepHead software but have not installed it yet.

Now to answer your questions,
I'm not renting it, and it's not paid for by Medicare or supplement insurance. It's provided solely and completely by the VA. I don't have any compliance requirements other than it takes a long time to get an in person appointment at the VA clinic. I've had the unit over a year and if I don't contact them, they don't contact me, nor do they ask for the unit back.

The logistics of the VA are kinda unique but to explain in short order, I went there in person first when they gave me the machine. Then I used it for awhile they sent me an envelope asking for me to return the card.

I did so, & eventually they sent the card back (via postal mail) with a letter stating what they had done to the setup. I put the card back in the unit. I never took the actual unit back to the VA. So if they did in fact change the setup (?) they could have only done it through the card mailing.

The setup (to me) seemed different from before I got the card back. I might just be imagining that but don't think so. They told me (in the letter) that specifically they had changed the unit from regular CPAC to Auto (A-Flex) and gave it a maximum pressure of 20 (a min of 6). Previously I had a constant (CPAC) pressure of 8 (non auto). They also changed the humidifier to the Classic setting.

But I started having so many mask blow outs in early morning hours most times I'd just take it off the rest of the night and sleep on my side. In any case actually driving over to the VA hospital (in another town) is 50 min each way drive. And it takes 2 months (or longer) to even get an appointment.

And I really feel I can adjust my own settings from experience better than they do, especially since it takes so long to get a new appointment. I will just experiment with it awhile, I feel I've learned enough about the Auto to see how each pressure range (min to max) works out.

The only thing I need to find now and read up again is how to set the humidifier back to the original setting. The VA set it to the what they called the Classic setting. And it did give more moisture but the air coming our of it got too hot during the night. I want to set it back to less heat.

You know how to do that ?
(This post was last modified: 09-03-2016 07:55 PM by R_W_B.)
09-03-2016 07:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,160
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #9
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
If you go back into the provider menu, you should see a setting for either System One humidification or Classic setting. If using classic setting, there should be options C1 through C5.
If it's too much heat, turn the knob to a lower number.

OpalRose
09-03-2016 08:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
R_W_B Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Phillips PR System One 560P, 60 Series REMstar Auto A-flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: C1
CPAP Pressure: 6 to 12 on Auto
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: U.S.

Post: #10
RE: Saving & Restoring Card to unit
(09-03-2016 08:23 PM)OpalRose Wrote:  If you go back into the provider menu, you should see a setting for either System One humidification or Classic setting. If using classic setting, there should be options C1 through C5.
If it's too much heat, turn the knob to a lower number.

In my clinical setup, I don't really see a humidifier setting, what I do see are two settings the may or may not relate to this.

One setting listed is, SYSTEM ONE RESISTANCE.
This menu has 6 settings, 0 and X1 thru X5

The second setting listed is, LOCK SYSTEM ONE
This menu has settings of either ON/OFF

Please correct me where I guessed wrong, but I surmise these are the humidifier menus and the first one (RESISTANCE) sets the System One humidifier level to 0 (being off ? ) or levels X1 - X5 humidity

And the second one (LOCK SYSTEM ONE) sets the Classic heater to on if the LOCK is set to OFF.

And the reverse of the Classic off with standard System One humidifier on if the LOCK is set to ON. (?)

Further discussion,
If I detach the humidifier completely (physically) from the CPAP unit like for taking it to the hospital for one day surgery, then I surmise I should put the LOCK setting to ON and the level to 0 (?) or does it matter what the settings are on if the humidity unit is detached ?
09-04-2016 08:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  3 graphs that are saving my life Rcgop 4 321 11-23-2016 02:23 AM
Last Post: PoolQ
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,426 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
Gross [Equipment] Unit not working Monty6894 3 356 09-18-2016 06:52 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  GoodKnight unit ramps down, "drops out of warp" jpap 5 309 09-05-2016 06:04 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  [CPAP] Battery powered unit for motorcycle camping David Petersen 9 3,728 07-19-2016 12:55 PM
Last Post: MrGadget
  Now having to try a ASV unit jalexand 12 1,412 04-30-2016 01:36 PM
Last Post: richb
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 28 27,383 03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: palerider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)