Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New Central Sleep Apnea diagnosis, Ontario veteran
New Central Sleep Apnea diagnosis, Ontario veteran
Hi all!
My first post!

I was just diagnosed with severe central sleep apnea, with most events being hypopnea.

I’m a veteran with Sunlife coverage.

I noticed that OHIP doesn’t cover ASV (yay *eye roll*).

I’m worried I’m going to be thrown a CPAP and it won’t help or will make things worse.

Anyone know of any sleep clinics in Ontario that are well versed in central apnea and will do ASV testing it I fail CPAP titration? Do sleep clinics in Ontario even do titration testing?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thank you!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New Central Sleep Apnea diagnosis, Ontario veteran
here’s the data from my study

More…

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
This clearly calls for an honest discussion of the issue with your doctor including the path to ASV in Ontario. We can help you find relatively affordable ASV therapy and get you setup for effective treatment if the provincial health system turns out to be a dry hole. I have no doubt they will trial CPAP, and that will fail. I think you need to have a forward-looking discussion to see what happens after that. Used ASV machines are available on the Dotmed marketplace. You will need to search the Respiratory/Bilevel devices and filter for Resmed. We often see the Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt 36007 and Aircurve 10 ASV at reasonable prices.