Post Reply 
Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
Author Message
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #21
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-18-2015 11:47 AM)retired_guy Wrote:  Good grief.

1. "Someone could hack my cpap machine!" So what? There really isn't anything there that they can fool with that will kill me. It might inconvenience me, or screw up a nights sleep or something, but that's about it. So if someone's greatest desire in life is to find out what my ahi results are? Well, ya coulda just asked me. But nooooooooooo you picked me out of what, maybe a million or so cpap users to futz with? Ok. Have your way with me, but first I'm gonna go by a lottery ticket.

2. "I don't like Resmed, etc. monitoring me." How about "google?" or "yahoo," or "Microsoft." Problem with those? They know a heck of a lot more about you than Resmed or anyone can learn from monitoring or hacking your cpap machine. Why aren't you pulling the cord to your computer connections if this is a concern.

3. "My DME might change stuff without telling me." Just for the fun of it I suppose, because why else would they go to the trouble of giving you the time of day and risk their business while they're at it? It's not like, as a general rule, they do that when you call them up for help or assistance.

4. Most compelling of all to me is "Wow, I've got this nice new machine. Like all nice new machines there will be updates to it's software or firmware. Perhaps very important updates. I won't get those because I keep my modem disabled/turned off. Ha ha! The jokes on them!"

All very true, but don't forget that the machine isn't the only thing they can hack. In fact, to hack your machine they need to know the cell number the modem answers to.

So first they would have to hack the machine manufacturer's web site and database. But if they can do that they can get all the information they want from them without hacking your machine.

Me? I'm willing to live with the possibility!

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
03-18-2015 11:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
on the virge Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 53
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PRS 1 (560) Auto with A-Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10
Humidifier: Philips Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 7-11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Northern Virginia

Post: #22
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-18-2015 11:47 AM)retired_guy Wrote:  3. "My DME might change stuff without telling me." Just for the fun of it I suppose, because why else would they go to the trouble of giving you the time of day and risk their business while they're at it?

Without trying to create an argument, I will suggest that a DME that notices you have changed your prescription pressures on your own, may feel it is their responsibility as a part of their monitoring to return the pressures to your prescription until the doctor provides concurrence with a new prescription.
03-18-2015 11:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,384
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #23
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
Keep in mind Resmed sends out firmware updates through the modem. It might be worth being able to turn on the modem from time to time.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
03-18-2015 11:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #24
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-18-2015 11:55 AM)on the virge Wrote:  Without trying to create an argument, I will suggest that a DME that notices you have changed your prescription pressures on your own, may feel it is their responsibility as a part of their monitoring to return the pressures to your prescription until the doctor provides concurrence with a new prescription.

No argument with that. That has occurred in the past. By less than "Patient friendly DME's" A situation easily solvable by telling them if they continue to futz with your equipment you will make them go away with one phone call.
03-18-2015 12:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
wp6529 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 34
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quatro AIR
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9-16
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #25
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-18-2015 11:57 AM)Sleeprider Wrote:  Keep in mind Resmed sends out firmware updates through the modem. It might be worth being able to turn on the modem from time to time.

The legality of that in the US is questionable as federal law prohibits installation of software on a computing device without the owner's express consent. So without prompting for your authorization for such an update it would seem to be illegal.

As for me and google, M$, etc., I don't use google or any "social networking", I run my own mail and web servers on my own firewalled network and I won't allow anyone remote access to my medical device either.
03-18-2015 12:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,331
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #26
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-18-2015 12:23 PM)wp6529 Wrote:  As for me and google, M$, etc., I don't use google or any "social networking", I run my own mail and web servers on my own firewalled network and I won't allow anyone remote access to my medical device either.

I think Hillary may want to talk to you. Big Grin

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
03-18-2015 01:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleep87 Offline

Members-b

Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ..
Humidifier: ..
CPAP Pressure: ..
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #27
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-18-2015 10:16 AM)trish6hundred Wrote:  Hi Sleep87,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you with your CPAP therapy.

Thank you very much!
03-18-2015 01:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleep87 Offline

Members-b

Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ..
Humidifier: ..
CPAP Pressure: ..
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #28
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-18-2015 11:07 AM)sgearhart Wrote:  Sleepy87,
Good job. I noticed that Resmed recently pushed a software update via the modem for the AS10. It's a shame you can't make that external connection for occasions like that.

Thank you very much!

<mild snark>
I don't suppose ResMed has published a change log showing what's new in the update?
<\mild snark>

It is a shame that there's not an easy-to-use switch. I suppose I could wipe data then reconnect the modem occasionally to try to pull updates. ResMed could have made it easier. :grin:
03-18-2015 01:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
player Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 412
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Resmed A10 Autoset For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed A10
Humidifier: Resmed A10 Autosset
CPAP Pressure: 11-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: It's a... mad world...

Sex: Male
Location: Canada

Post: #29
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
Nobody has mentioned the harmful microwaves that the modem gives off. That's why I will disconnect mine. Thanks for the instructions.

I bet is would be easy to cut the wires and hook up an external switch that would allow me to turn it on and off mechanically.
(This post was last modified: 03-18-2015 02:33 PM by player.)
03-18-2015 02:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Tawaki Offline

Members

Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara view
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 4 cmHg to 9.6 cmHg
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ~I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.~

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Occupied 313

Post: #30
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
I just received my machine today, and I know it is a REMstar that is data recording/transmitting.

I haven't cracked into the box to get actual model number.

BUT my DME and my sleep doctor make it a requirement that the modem be ON. The recorded data is transmitted to the doctor's office and the DME. It is considered noncompliance to shut it off during the 90 days. After that, I have a metal wire trash can I can put over it (Faraday cage). I probably can get in trouble after the 90, who knows..

My insurance requires this, and since mine is a rental (ugh), I have no choice. It is also a requirement of my DME and doctor. I will get punted from the doctor's practice.

I guess I could get a different doctor and pay straight up cash, but their is no way I can afford that now.

I was so worried about getting a brick, and now this thing is almost over kill.

So newbies check if it is an insurance, DME and doctor's requirement if you can't shut it off. If my machine doesn't transmitted once during a week (90 days), the DME will call me.
(This post was last modified: 03-18-2015 03:13 PM by Tawaki.)
03-18-2015 03:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,513 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,271 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 253 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Angry Resmed Airsense/Telstra 2G wireless kerput JamesW 2 214 11-24-2016 11:08 PM
Last Post: JamesW
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 572 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 519 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  [CPAP] ResMed AirSense 10 makes loud noise when inhaling. sanger 86 30,292 11-17-2016 09:14 PM
Last Post: comphelp

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)