Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
#51
Like my departed ex-father-in-law used to say about the microwave-cooked Thanksgiving turkey . . .

"just brush the microwaves off"
Post Reply Post Reply
#52
(03-18-2015, 11:47 AM)retired_guy Wrote: 3. "My DME might change stuff without telling me." Just for the fun of it I suppose, because why else would they go to the trouble of giving you the time of day and risk their business while they're at it? It's not like, as a general rule, they do that when you call them up for help or assistance.

I thought it might be of interest to report that - indeed the DME changed my wife's pressures back to the prescription ones and changed A-Flex from 2 to 1. There was no prior communication nor any follow-up. I do not believe this was done at the direction of the doctor because they are not associated with each other and physically they are 700 mile apart with no DME branches in our city. She noticed it when we looked at Sleepyhead pressure graph. The only theory we have is that the DME was asked by her to prepare reports to send to my her sleep doctor prior to an upcoming appointment. It is possible they noticed the difference and changed to prescription values. Perhaps they have a routine that checks data around the 30 day point (which is when this happened) and made the changes. Don't know. Should this happen again, we will simply disconnect the modem until we need it for reporting.
Post Reply Post Reply
#53
(03-21-2015, 02:30 PM)retired_guy Wrote:
(03-21-2015, 02:18 PM)player Wrote: I find the older generations that I am encountering on the apnea forums have a very different attitude towards health risks than younger gens. the older gens scoff and ridicule the messenger. It is as if they buy the rhetoric of the corporations and heckle anyone who has a fresh look at harmful chemicals, food additives, microwaves etc. A completely different attitude, and it reminds me of my parents.

One could argue that the reluctance of some of the young bucks to embrace new technological advancements could be construed as making them the recalcitrant ones.

Being that I am of the "older generations" I can assure you that I have never, in my long and industrious life, have ever, not even once, purchased a rhetoric.

Hey I'm just glad this week they find red wine beneficial. Have to wait until next week to drink coffee again though.

I'm waiting for the day they say my radium watch is safe to wear again.


Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie

Post Reply Post Reply


#54
Thanks for the detailed instructions!

There ARE valid reasons why someone might want to do this... other than what some are making fun of... and this made it easy.

Took me 10min to carefully follow the instructions, then turned airplane mode off, and finally not getting the annoying "turn airplane mode off" message every time it fires up Smile

...and no I do not care at all about warranty, health provider, etc, etc.... just about convenience

Cheers
Post Reply Post Reply
#55
If you ask me WIFI for a CPAP is worthless over-sophistication.
I don't want some idiot DME tech across town messing with my pressure settings without my consent or knowledge.
I suspect that most of the time no one even looks at that data anyway.
Why would I say that?

I offered my doc and the DME to read my SD chip (yes I had a back up) from my S9 and they both came back with: "We don't have the software to do that with"

Oh-kay... That is like a car mechanic telling me the shop can't work on my car because they don't have
any tools to fix it with.
Thumbs-down-1

I digress though.
No one besides me needs physical control over the machine.
That feature is right up there wifh WIFI refrigerator. I can plant that right next to my more useful things like:
my gasoline powered turtleneck sweater.

Can't you just rip the WIFI card out of it or buy it with no WIFI?

And..in closing...It has been shown that whenever there is an opportunity to
abuse any system, the opportunity is *always* exploited.

Peace, Love and Carrots. =~.^=
"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
Post Reply Post Reply
#56
(08-02-2015, 08:21 PM)Shastzi Wrote: Can't you just rip the WIFI card out of it or buy it with no WIFI?

None of the machines I've heard of come with WIFI. You have to add that by purchasing an SD card with built in WIFI, set the card up right, then install a program on your computer to copy the day's files over and start up your program for inspecting your results.

I have a WIFI card in several of my computers and in my main router. I use the same security protocols for all of them except with different passwords. If someone wants for some strange reason to look at my CPAP results they are welcome to and I hope they get a thrill.

I didn't even know there were SD cards with built in WIFI transmitters when I first got my machine. Once I did hear (right here on this board) I thought "good idea" and bought one over the internet. There's no reason you should have the same reaction I did or for me to claim that your reaction is better or worse than mine. As the say, YMMV.


Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

The above is my opinion.  It is just possible that I may, occasionally, be mistaken.

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Everything put together sooner or later falls apart.
Your brain is not the boss.
Our forefathers took drugs.
He's no fun he fell right over.
Post Reply Post Reply


#57
(08-02-2015, 03:27 PM)soundguy Wrote: Thanks for the detailed instructions!
...
Took me 10min to carefully follow the instructions, then turned airplane mode off, and finally not getting the annoying "turn airplane mode off" message every time it fires up

You are most welcome! I'm glad I was able to help.
Post Reply Post Reply
#58
(08-02-2015, 08:21 PM)Shastzi Wrote: If you ask me WIFI for a CPAP is worthless over-sophistication....

...That feature is right up there wifh WIFI refrigerator.

Agreed! lol

(08-02-2015, 08:21 PM)Shastzi Wrote: Can't you just rip the WIFI card out of it or buy it with no WIFI?

As mentioned, it's cellular data, not wifi, and no, the Airsense10 does not come without a cellular modem installed...
Post Reply Post Reply
#59
(10-06-2015, 07:56 PM)soundguy Wrote: , and no, the Airsense10 does not come without a cellular modem installed...

I think it might if you are not in the USA
هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه
Tongue Suck Technique for prevention of mouth breathing:
  • Place your tongue behind your front teeth on the roof of your mouth
  • let your tongue fill the space between the upper molars
  • gently suck to form a light vacuum
Practising during the day can help you to keep it at night

هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه
Post Reply Post Reply


#60
(10-06-2015, 11:15 PM)DariaVader Wrote:
(10-06-2015, 07:56 PM)soundguy Wrote: , and no, the Airsense10 does not come without a cellular modem installed...

I think it might if you are not in the USA

Perhaps, but I was not able to find a manual that didn't reference it online, so I suppose I assumed... Also, I bought one from Canada (Elite), and one from USA (Autoset), and both had it.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  ResMed AirSense 10--SD data card? Agabaga 22 610 34 minutes ago
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Breeze Nasal Pillows with Resmed Airsense 10 TwoSleepy 0 110 05-20-2017, 08:56 AM
Last Post: TwoSleepy
  All you wanted to know about the ResMed Airsense 10 sharp56 221 133,997 05-19-2017, 11:01 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
Question Possible for resmed airsense 10 autoset/Sleepyhead to report false 0.0 AHI? pcplus2 4 300 04-27-2017, 05:47 PM
Last Post: dwd1249
  Noise level of Respironics Dreamstation vs Resmed Airsense 10 scottlink96 50 9,241 04-27-2017, 10:34 AM
Last Post: tonylkc1668
  Resmed Airsense 10 filters...please help! Clemmy 12 631 04-21-2017, 12:52 AM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
  Resmed Airsense 10 Gregkamp 3 282 04-17-2017, 02:46 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.