Post Reply 
Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
Author Message
AirSign Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed Airsense A10 for her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Nuance / Airfit P10
Humidifier: Airsense A10
CPAP Pressure: 9-16, average under 14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Seasons here: Wintah, Mud, Road Repair, Wintah

Sex: Female
Location: Road Repair Season, New England

Post: #51
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
Like my departed ex-father-in-law used to say about the microwave-cooked Thanksgiving turkey . . .

"just brush the microwaves off"
03-21-2015 07:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
on the virge Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 53
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PRS 1 (560) Auto with A-Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10
Humidifier: Philips Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 7-11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Northern Virginia

Post: #52
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-18-2015 11:47 AM)retired_guy Wrote:  3. "My DME might change stuff without telling me." Just for the fun of it I suppose, because why else would they go to the trouble of giving you the time of day and risk their business while they're at it? It's not like, as a general rule, they do that when you call them up for help or assistance.

I thought it might be of interest to report that - indeed the DME changed my wife's pressures back to the prescription ones and changed A-Flex from 2 to 1. There was no prior communication nor any follow-up. I do not believe this was done at the direction of the doctor because they are not associated with each other and physically they are 700 mile apart with no DME branches in our city. She noticed it when we looked at Sleepyhead pressure graph. The only theory we have is that the DME was asked by her to prepare reports to send to my her sleep doctor prior to an upcoming appointment. It is possible they noticed the difference and changed to prescription values. Perhaps they have a routine that checks data around the 30 day point (which is when this happened) and made the changes. Don't know. Should this happen again, we will simply disconnect the modem until we need it for reporting.
04-12-2015 03:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,491
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #53
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(03-21-2015 02:30 PM)retired_guy Wrote:  
(03-21-2015 02:18 PM)player Wrote:  I find the older generations that I am encountering on the apnea forums have a very different attitude towards health risks than younger gens. the older gens scoff and ridicule the messenger. It is as if they buy the rhetoric of the corporations and heckle anyone who has a fresh look at harmful chemicals, food additives, microwaves etc. A completely different attitude, and it reminds me of my parents.

One could argue that the reluctance of some of the young bucks to embrace new technological advancements could be construed as making them the recalcitrant ones.

Being that I am of the "older generations" I can assure you that I have never, in my long and industrious life, have ever, not even once, purchased a rhetoric.

Hey I'm just glad this week they find red wine beneficial. Have to wait until next week to drink coffee again though.

I'm waiting for the day they say my radium watch is safe to wear again.



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
04-12-2015 03:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
soundguy Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Airsense10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed SwiftFX
Humidifier: Airsense10
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #54
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
Thanks for the detailed instructions!

There ARE valid reasons why someone might want to do this... other than what some are making fun of... and this made it easy.

Took me 10min to carefully follow the instructions, then turned airplane mode off, and finally not getting the annoying "turn airplane mode off" message every time it fires up Smile

...and no I do not care at all about warranty, health provider, etc, etc.... just about convenience

Cheers
(This post was last modified: 08-02-2015 03:28 PM by soundguy.)
08-02-2015 03:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Shastzi Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,174
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: FitLife Total face mask
Humidifier: F&P HC150 with Hybernite heated hose.
CPAP Pressure: 15cm-20cm H2O (auto)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: CMS50-F wearable Oximeter; Software: SPO2 Assistant

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Florida, USA.

Post: #55
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
If you ask me WIFI for a CPAP is worthless over-sophistication.
I don't want some idiot DME tech across town messing with my pressure settings without my consent or knowledge.
I suspect that most of the time no one even looks at that data anyway.
Why would I say that?

I offered my doc and the DME to read my SD chip (yes I had a back up) from my S9 and they both came back with: "We don't have the software to do that with"

Oh-kay... That is like a car mechanic telling me the shop can't work on my car because they don't have
any tools to fix it with.
Thumbs-down-1

I digress though.
No one besides me needs physical control over the machine.
That feature is right up there wifh WIFI refrigerator. I can plant that right next to my more useful things like:
my gasoline powered turtleneck sweater.

Can't you just rip the WIFI card out of it or buy it with no WIFI?

And..in closing...It has been shown that whenever there is an opportunity to
abuse any system, the opportunity is *always* exploited.

Peace, Love and Carrots. =~.^=

"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
08-02-2015 08:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 878
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #56
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(08-02-2015 08:21 PM)Shastzi Wrote:  Can't you just rip the WIFI card out of it or buy it with no WIFI?

None of the machines I've heard of come with WIFI. You have to add that by purchasing an SD card with built in WIFI, set the card up right, then install a program on your computer to copy the day's files over and start up your program for inspecting your results.

I have a WIFI card in several of my computers and in my main router. I use the same security protocols for all of them except with different passwords. If someone wants for some strange reason to look at my CPAP results they are welcome to and I hope they get a thrill.

I didn't even know there were SD cards with built in WIFI transmitters when I first got my machine. Once I did hear (right here on this board) I thought "good idea" and bought one over the internet. There's no reason you should have the same reaction I did or for me to claim that your reaction is better or worse than mine. As the say, YMMV.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
08-02-2015 08:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleep87 Offline

Members-b

Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ..
Humidifier: ..
CPAP Pressure: ..
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #57
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(08-02-2015 03:27 PM)soundguy Wrote:  Thanks for the detailed instructions!
...
Took me 10min to carefully follow the instructions, then turned airplane mode off, and finally not getting the annoying "turn airplane mode off" message every time it fires up

You are most welcome! I'm glad I was able to help.
10-06-2015 06:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
soundguy Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Airsense10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed SwiftFX
Humidifier: Airsense10
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #58
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(08-02-2015 08:21 PM)Shastzi Wrote:  If you ask me WIFI for a CPAP is worthless over-sophistication....

...That feature is right up there wifh WIFI refrigerator.

Agreed! lol

(08-02-2015 08:21 PM)Shastzi Wrote:  Can't you just rip the WIFI card out of it or buy it with no WIFI?

As mentioned, it's cellular data, not wifi, and no, the Airsense10 does not come without a cellular modem installed...
10-06-2015 07:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
DariaVader Offline
Apnea Board Facebook Editor
Monitors

Posts: 1,818
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10 for Her
Humidifier: H5i humidifier with ClimateLine heated hose
CPAP Pressure: 8-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: diabetes II, Thyroidectomized, Primary Immune Deficiency, and the list goes on :P

Sex: Female
Location: Oregon

Post: #59
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(10-06-2015 07:56 PM)soundguy Wrote:  , and no, the Airsense10 does not come without a cellular modem installed...

I think it might if you are not in the USA

هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه
Tongue Suck Technique for prevention of mouth breathing:
  • Place your tongue behind your front teeth on the roof of your mouth
  • let your tongue fill the space between the upper molars
  • gently suck to form a light vacuum
Practising during the day can help you to keep it at night

هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه هههههه
10-06-2015 11:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
soundguy Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Airsense10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed SwiftFX
Humidifier: Airsense10
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #60
RE: Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10
(10-06-2015 11:15 PM)DariaVader Wrote:  
(10-06-2015 07:56 PM)soundguy Wrote:  , and no, the Airsense10 does not come without a cellular modem installed...

I think it might if you are not in the USA

Perhaps, but I was not able to find a manual that didn't reference it online, so I suppose I assumed... Also, I bought one from Canada (Elite), and one from USA (Autoset), and both had it.
10-06-2015 11:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 25 2,184 Today 11:02 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,166 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 206 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Angry Resmed Airsense/Telstra 2G wireless kerput JamesW 2 176 11-24-2016 11:08 PM
Last Post: JamesW
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 503 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 467 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  [CPAP] ResMed AirSense 10 makes loud noise when inhaling. sanger 86 29,873 11-17-2016 09:14 PM
Last Post: comphelp

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)