Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Same AHI at low and high pressures
Question 
Same AHI at low and high pressures
Hi All, so I am a bit confused. I am new to CPAP, I've been using it for about a month now.

My prescription was for 6-16 to then see how that went and possibly narrow down on a single pressure (I'm currently hiring a machine, and it is much cheaper to buy a straight CPAP here, however I'm thinking I might import the machine I am hiring from the US).

I initially had no real problems adjusting to CPAP - I could wear the mask the whole night etc, however a month in, I noticed I was gassy and I was still waking up during the night more than normal. A few nights I also had issues where the pressure had gone up to the maximum and the mask leaked like crazy and I had to stop, adjust and start again.

My AHI had been ~0.4 from the very start of using CPAP - so I thought I'd try a couple of nights of lowering the pressure to see if this would make it more comfortable - expecting it to increase my events.

So I've spent a few nights now with a 4-4 pressure (I found it quite comfortable to breathe at) - and my AHI was basically exactly the same ~0.4 - I still had 3-4 OA towards the end of the night, just like the nights where I had the higher pressure. The funny thing is, this was never when the machine increased the pressure, there was always a lump earlier in the night.

From my sleep study they would have prescribed a straight pressure of 10 apparently - I had a only 2 OA, but a number of Hypos during the night as they titrated me.

I'm a little confused by the whole thing really - is it normal to have the same AHI at low and higher pressures? Huh
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Same AHI at low and high pressures