Post Reply 
Setting Pressure on S9
Author Message
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #11
RE: Setting Pressure on S9
[Image: s9-autoset-models.jpg]

If your S9 is the Elite or AutoSet model, you can view AHI and leak in the sleep report and further information and detailed data graphs on the SD card. SleepyHead software download link is at the top of the page

You can use the data to ascertain whether the new setting is working or not
11-18-2014 10:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #12
RE: Setting Pressure on S9
(11-18-2014 10:20 PM)foggbird Wrote:  I then copied and pasted those instructions, printed them and taped them to the bottom of my CPAP. Then I emailed them to myself and moved that email to a permanent file I use for important information that I can access anywhere in the world, as I do a lot of overseas traveling.

Yeah, there's not much chance you'll remember that............ Maybe if you embed a chip in the dog.

As the other guys have said, if you have a "data capable" S9 it would be a swimmingly good idea to install the Sleepyhead software on your machine and verify the results of lowering the pressure. ....and, if you don't have a data-capable machine, ask the dog.
11-18-2014 11:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
foggbird Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Western part of South East North Carolina

Post: #13
RE: Setting Pressure on S9
Hey Dude (isn't that a Beatles song?), you scared me with your comment "such a large jump as you are taking is not advisable for most users". So I set the pressure back to 7 ( it was 8 then I set it to 6). I did use the 6 setting last night and didn't notice an difference.

I think I have a software program as I can press Info and Setup and get a Sleep Quality screen that will give my Usage, Mask Fit and AHI and a Sleep Report with various categories. All those categories have information filled in there. I'm curious what AHI is.

I also looked at the label that says S9. It also says lPX1 and has a box with a person walking. None of that means anything to me. I did update my profile.

I did appreciate your comments. Thanks

John
11-19-2014 03:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #14
RE: Setting Pressure on S9
(11-19-2014 03:54 PM)foggbird Wrote:  I'm curious what AHI is.
AHI is the number of apnea events (obstructive/central/unknown) and hyponea per hour. Scoring an apnea/hypopnea require at least 10 seconds

AHI of 5 and below considered normal but also 'how you feel' is important and even more so
11-19-2014 04:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #15
RE: Setting Pressure on S9
To determine which S9 you have, look near the on/off button. Near it will say Escape, Escape Auto, Autoset, or Elite. It may also say Auto SV or SV Adapt or some other combination. If it says EPR, that's something else and not the name.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-20-2014 05:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
foggbird Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Western part of South East North Carolina

Post: #16
RE: Setting Pressure on S9
Paula, I have an Autoset. Thanks for the help; I wasn't looking there. I changed my profile.

Zonk, My episodes were 3.3, well below 5. Set on 7, I had a better than average night last night. 8 hours total and didn't even wake up to use the bathroom for the last 5 hours. When I was originally tested, I had an episode once every 60 seconds at the worst. A CPAP was straight from heaven.

John
11-20-2014 09:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #17
RE: Setting Pressure on S9
John, It sounds like you're doing well with your therapy and are in good hands with Paula and Zonk.

Your AHI sounds good so I'll not encourage you to change anything.

I will encourage you to gain more knowledge of how your machine is set and how you can benefit from the modes it is capable of. Since you already know how to set the pressure you should also find out what mode of operation you are running under. The AutoSet can run under either Auto mode or Manual mode. In auto mode, you are allowed to set a minimum and a maximum pressure whereas in manual mode you merely set a constant pressure that will not change. There are several other features available so get the clinician manual available here and check it out.

I also suggest that you get the free software (either Sleepyhead or ResScan, take your choice or try both) that is available from this forum and install it on your computer so you can see the actual readouts of your sleep sessions and make intelligent decisions about changing setting if need be. That will also allow you to get a benchmark of where you stand now so that if things ever go sour on you, you'll be able to get some idea as to why that happened.

The more you know about this therapy and the equipment, the better you will be able to make your therapy effective and comfortable.

Best regards, Dude
11-20-2014 10:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] what setting for mask airsense 10 abrun7 1 171 11-17-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 289 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,239 11-10-2016 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore
  Need help with mask setting please trader37 3 279 11-03-2016 02:34 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Any setting changes when adding O2 to CPAP Ham Radio 2 177 10-28-2016 11:54 PM
Last Post: Ham Radio
  [CPAP] Setting up this auto a-flex is really intimidating. SierraMadreMe 6 375 10-27-2016 04:25 AM
Last Post: SierraMadreMe
  setting for starting choce Bill Hall 2 213 10-26-2016 08:20 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)