Post Reply 
Setting my ResMed 9 back to 17
Author Message
Route67 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 68
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: On CPAP for 2 years, still can't sleep. Edit; make that 4 years now, still can't sleep.

Sex: Male
Location: New Hampshire, USA

Post: #1
Setting my ResMed 9 back to 17
Hi All......I have a ResMed 9 and it's been working great.

I bought it on my own from SecondWind and figured out how to set the pressure; they had set it at 10 but it wasn't working too well so I moved it to 15 and that was great, worked like a charm.

I finally went to a DME last week [because my local sleep DR told me to, not because I *wanted* to] and they set it to 20; way too high! Now, as mentioned in another thread, I can't fall back asleep after I wale up to urinate at 4am; before the re-set I had no trouble at all.

I know it's a simple fix but I have played around with the knobs and buttons for an hour and no luck......can someone tell me how to get my pressure back down to 15 from 20? Thanks!
10-14-2012 09:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Bernie Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 23
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: Resmed Autoset Spirit, ResMed S9 autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift LT
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-15
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #2
RE: Setting my ResMed 9 back to 17
(10-14-2012 09:14 AM)Route67 Wrote:  Hi All......I have a ResMed 9 and it's been working great.

I bought it on my own from SecondWind and figured out how to set the pressure; they had set it at 10 but it wasn't working too well so I moved it to 15 and that was great, worked like a charm.

I finally went to a DME last week [because my local sleep DR told me to, not because I *wanted* to] and they set it to 20; way too high! Now, as mentioned in another thread, I can't fall back asleep after I wale up to urinate at 4am; before the re-set I had no trouble at all.

I know it's a simple fix but I have played around with the knobs and buttons for an hour and no luck......can someone tell me how to get my pressure back down to 15 from 20? Thanks!

Check the private area of this board for instructions on getting a copy of the clinitian's manual. Complete instructions are in that manual.
10-14-2012 01:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,062
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #3
RE: Setting my ResMed 9 back to 17
manuals:
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

Also consider using the ResScan software or the Sleepyhead software
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Master-Members-Forum

Once you get the manual, if you still have trouble after that, let us know and we'll help.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-14-2012 02:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: Setting my ResMed 9 back to 17
Take the SD card out and do the change ... wait for a while and check if OK this time then the DME locked the setting on the card
and when you put the card back into the machine it,ll revert to the old settings

either use the machine without the card or get a new card
not sure how to reformat the card

what other software are you using
do you know how to read data on your machine (AHI, leak)
do you have a followup with sleep doc
what was the titrated pressure
10-14-2012 02:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,062
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #5
RE: Setting my ResMed 9 back to 17
I keep forgetting they sometimes do that. I'd get another card.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-14-2012 02:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #6
RE: Setting my ResMed 9 back to 17
(10-14-2012 02:24 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  I keep forgetting they sometimes do that. I'd get another card.

Getting another card is an option, but I found out the hard way that it's best to get one of the fewest GB and make sure it is mini, not micro inside a micro-to-mini adapter. I bought a 4 GB SanDisk (because that was the fewest GB the store had) only to discover that it was really a micro in a micro-to-mini adapter. At first it worked OK, but I kept noticing it took a long time to mount and for SleepyHead to read the data. Finally I went back to using a 2 GB card that came with the PRS1 and suddenly read-write speeds were instantaneous and it mounted right away. Apparently the connections were just a bit flaky on the micro + adapter arrangement.

As for formatting, the CPAP machine will do that for you if the card is not already formatted. If you want to do it yourself, the filesystem is VFAT (which Microsoft calls FAT32). VFAT is a rotten filesystem as filesystems go because it cannot handle permissions or security settings, has limited file size capacity, and is easy to corrupt. On the other hand it is open source, so every operating system can read and write to it. For this reason it has become the de facto standard for USB sticks and SD cards.

Periodically I copy everything off the SD card into a folder on my computer, overwriting the previous data in the folder. If something happens to the card I can just copy the data back onto a different card. The amount of data on the card is trivial; less than what a typical single jpg picture file would be.

If someone is concerned about the doc or DME erasing the card I would suggest asking them not to. Their software does not automatically erase the card, so there is no reason for them to erase it.
10-14-2012 04:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Ugly Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 568
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Micro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 7-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Hydrocephalus, myopia, depression, chronic ugliness, stupidity, tinnitus, mixed sleep apnea.

Sex: Male
Location: Barrie Ontario Canada

Post: #7
RE: Setting my ResMed 9 back to 17
(10-14-2012 09:14 AM)Route67 Wrote:  Hi All......I have a ResMed 9 and it's been working great.

I bought it on my own from SecondWind and figured out how to set the pressure; they had set it at 10 but it wasn't working too well so I moved it to 15 and that was great, worked like a charm.

I finally went to a DME last week [because my local sleep DR told me to, not because I *wanted* to] and they set it to 20; way too high! Now, as mentioned in another thread, I can't fall back asleep after I wale up to urinate at 4am; before the re-set I had no trouble at all.

I know it's a simple fix but I have played around with the knobs and buttons for an hour and no luck......can someone tell me how to get my pressure back down to 15 from 20? Thanks!

That's not a universal truth. So far there is no clinician/setup/service manual available for the REMstar SE. I've tried a few suggestions from others and tried to mimic the button sequences from other machines. No such luck. The store where I got my machine denies that such a manual exists (but of course they know how to do it) and claim I don't "need" a copy. Getting passwords for "My Respironics" and "The Online Learning Centre" of the Philips website were easy. While I was able to snag some random manuals along the way, they don't have the one I need. Trying to discreetly pose as a professional I made a simple request for a "replacement" manual but I have yet to hear from them. I find I can usually get access to "professional" resources simply by posing as one. But it's no guarantee. But until I hear back from Philips I don't think I'm defeated just yet. And sooner or later my doctor will return from holidays (how convenient) and I can question him about my settings or he can forward me to the Otolaryngologist - but I need a referral before he will talk to me.
10-31-2012 09:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [CPAP] Machine turning self off and back on rstroudmsdwc 34 13,725 11-22-2016 11:23 AM
Last Post: Dr_Romeo_Chair
  [Equipment] what setting for mask airsense 10 abrun7 1 168 11-17-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 283 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Can't Find Device Number (DN) on Back of Machine gamegrrl 5 175 11-14-2016 05:32 PM
Last Post: gamegrrl
  Need help with mask setting please trader37 3 275 11-03-2016 02:34 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Gross I AM BACK !! Lost53 15 1,050 10-31-2016 09:14 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Any setting changes when adding O2 to CPAP Ham Radio 2 173 10-28-2016 11:54 PM
Last Post: Ham Radio

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)