Post Reply 
Settings mysteriously changed
Author Message
Daisylouu Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 69
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: Philips Respironics Rem star Auto
Mask Type: Hybrid
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Liberty
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 8-16
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #1
Settings mysteriously changed
I'm almost 3 months in - after non response and lots of periodic breathing and high ahi was pulled in for another study with though of going to AutoSV .....cut during study did not have cheyne stokes and only 1 or 2 centrals.... I was eventually set on a flex of 11-14. My Ahi and periodic breathing improved but ahi was still hovering around 5 then creeped up to 10. Periodic breathing was at 0 then creeped back up to 2. My 7 day average ahi was 6.9 and periodic breathing 2%.

Last night I felt my machine ramp almost immediately instead of the usual 30 min. I looked at the display and saw 13.5. I went into the manual settings myself from reading online how to do it, and discovered I was on a fixed 13.5 with a .05 ramp. I also noticed the AHI and periodic breathing totals disappeared!!

How did my machines settings change?

I emailed my doc who contacted the medical supply company who programs my machine. Lady from there called me and said they decided to switch me to 6-16 flax. She has no explanation for the changes to my machine and didn't respond to my asking what happened. She said new changes wouldn't take effect until tomorrow.

So tonight I figured I'd try the 13.5 fixed, and I read online how to once again display AHI and periodic breathing, and those numbers completely changed. Now saying my 7 day AHI is 4.2 and 30 day os 5.1. And periodic breathing 0%!?!?!?!
When machine started, it started to feel REALLY REALLY warm what I was breathing. My humidifier was at 3 when mine was always at 4.

So I'm not wearing it tonight. I know it's set wrong, but I need to know WHY THIS HAPPENED? Could it happen all on its own or did someone at the clinic program the wrong cpap with someone else's specifications??

I'm so stressed out

Good news is I finally got a new laptop so can try to download sleepyhead. Hope it's not hard to learn. I really have to figure out why I'm not responding well. Or if I need a cardiac or neuro checkup.

Anyone have settings change randomly?
08-12-2015 09:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ghost1958 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 957
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: PRS1 Series Sixty Auto Aflex
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson
Humidifier: PRS1 with Heated Hose
CPAP Pressure: 10.5 min 16 max
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Moderate to Severe SA Obstructive. Rapid O2 desat off the machine.

Sex: Male
Location: KY

Post: #2
RE: Settings mysteriously changed
Some dufus has set your machine in auto trial mode. At the end of whatever no of days that was set for the machine shifts to cpap check mode which is a fixed pressure mode to fine tune a single pressure setting. Cpap chk will only movd 1cm every 30 hrs.
Go into clinical and set your machine for auto mode then set your min and max pressure.
08-12-2015 10:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Cali Lecat Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 with Autoset for Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Airsense 10
CPAP Pressure: 10-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Started APAP in 2009 with PR System One Autoset

Sex: Female
Location: Maryland, USA

Post: #3
RE: Settings mysteriously changed
If your CPAP machine has a modem via which data is sent automatically to a sleep doctor or DME to monitor compliance and treatment, I have been told that the DME or dr. can remotely change your settings via the modem. I made changes via the clinical menu the day after I got a new CPAP, since the DME had used settings that did not work for me on my previous CPAP machine and that I didn't want the DME to remotely change. To prevent remote changes, I keep my Airsense 10 in "Airplane Mode" most of the time.
08-13-2015 12:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: Settings mysteriously changed
A lot of the time the DME personnel will tell their clients that they cannot make any changes to the machine without a prescription from the doctor but they must be doing it because it isn't just changing itself. The explanation of Ghost1958 makes sense.
08-13-2015 01:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Shastzi Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,174
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: FitLife Total face mask
Humidifier: F&P HC150 with Hybernite heated hose.
CPAP Pressure: 15cm-20cm H2O (auto)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: CMS50-F wearable Oximeter; Software: SPO2 Assistant

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Florida, USA.

Post: #5
RE: Settings mysteriously changed
I do not like the idea of some jerkface clerk, who probably shouldn't even be pushing a broom, messing with my machine over the internet.
99% if the time I know what I am doing and they don't even have the data on hand to make any kind of decisions.

Angry

"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
08-13-2015 08:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AshSF Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 356
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: PRS1 D560TS
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed P10, Bkup: Airfit F10 & Quattro Air
Humidifier: PRS1 60 series with Heated Tube
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 8 w/ Aflex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Using APAP mode with fixed pressure

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #6
RE: Settings mysteriously changed
It could be multiple reasons:
1) As Ghost1958 said, your machine was in auto trial mode. We can find that out if we know the exact name and model no. Of your machine.
2) your earlier settings were wrong and the sleep lab changed them remotely. For this, we need to know if your machine has a modem attached to it.
3) maybe you were given a used machine. You should check the 'blower hours' in the clinician menu to find out.
4) Sometimes, electronics malfunction and some changes may happen. But it's unlikely. Another likely explanation here may be that the SD card came loose and the machine couldn't read the settings off the card and in some mixup, ended up changing them.

Hope you find the exact reason.

Started APAP 4-20, Closed range to 7.5-14, then straight 8.0 w/ Aflex 3
RDI always below 1. But sleep much much better at straight pressure.
Started on F10, Tried Quattro Air successfully. Finally settled on P10.
08-13-2015 09:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Dream Station Ramp and Pressure Settings knowoneuno 15 304 12-02-2016 06:50 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Dream Station Settings Autumnseer 15 484 11-26-2016 07:01 AM
Last Post: Weird Tolkienish Figure
  Who generally is in charge of your CPAP settings? Mezzrow 9 460 11-12-2016 01:47 AM
Last Post: blueelement2016
  do I have the right machine (and settings) JaminV 4 368 10-31-2016 10:05 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Dreamstation heated tube/humidifier initial settings. NorthernGuy 9 701 10-28-2016 09:21 AM
Last Post: Perchas
  Flex settings and hypopneas KSMatthew 4 510 10-21-2016 09:47 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Symptoms] My Cpap Settings atobias80 4 328 10-18-2016 05:43 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)