Post Reply 
Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
Author Message
2Tim215 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 283
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: S9 ResMed AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nasal Pillow - Medium
Humidifier: ResMed H5i w/Climate Hose
CPAP Pressure: 6cm-12cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: OSA, Fibromyalgia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoarthritis, Gout, PTSD, & Meralgia paresthetica.

Sex: Male
Location: Finger Lakes Region, NY

Post: #1
Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
First I extend my sincere apologies for not having logged in for so long. Long story, boring details!

Recently in the last week I felt compelled to raise my max cm to 6-14 instead of 6-12cm. I have been keeping an eye on my stats and uploading them to the computer. When I was at the top 12cm I often had a 11.9 reading and thought it strange that it never hit the 12 with so many 11.9's. So I raised it to 6-14cm and sure enough 13.9! I believe it may be the Resmed software, anyone else seeing this type of report with .001 below? I know it isn't significant but at least enough to cause me to check it at 14. Question is this, now that I see the 13.9cm at the high, should I start raising it maybe 1 or 2 more cm's to see where I land and hopefully stay under the whatever .9 scenario? Hope everyone's well, appreciate the replies! Here's a photo, hope I got it right!
[Image: res1_zpsf3c648a5.png]

Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
(This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 07:29 PM by 2Tim215.)
06-29-2013 07:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,449
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #2
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
Hi 2Tim215,
GREAT to hear from you again.!
Hang in there for answers to your question.
Don't stay away so long, I look forward to more posts from you.

trish6hundred
06-29-2013 07:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
I would turn EPR off and increase the minimum pressure or even set the machine at constant
If you have a problem with flow limitation, flow limitation can cause the pressure to run away

Do you sleep on your back?
Edit: when congested, my pressure goes a bit higher than normal but not by much and don,t reach the maximum
(This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 08:07 PM by zonk.)
06-29-2013 08:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
2Tim215 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 283
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: S9 ResMed AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nasal Pillow - Medium
Humidifier: ResMed H5i w/Climate Hose
CPAP Pressure: 6cm-12cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: OSA, Fibromyalgia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoarthritis, Gout, PTSD, & Meralgia paresthetica.

Sex: Male
Location: Finger Lakes Region, NY

Post: #4
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
(06-29-2013 07:41 PM)trish6hundred Wrote:  Hi 2Tim215,
GREAT to hear from you again.!
Hang in there for answers to your question.
Don't stay away so long, I look forward to more posts from you.

Thank you Trish! Good to see you are with our welcome committee!

Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
06-29-2013 08:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
2Tim215 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 283
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: S9 ResMed AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nasal Pillow - Medium
Humidifier: ResMed H5i w/Climate Hose
CPAP Pressure: 6cm-12cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: OSA, Fibromyalgia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoarthritis, Gout, PTSD, & Meralgia paresthetica.

Sex: Male
Location: Finger Lakes Region, NY

Post: #5
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
(06-29-2013 08:02 PM)zonk Wrote:  I would turn EPR off and increase the minimum pressure or even set the machine at constant
If you have a problem with flow limitation, flow limitation can cause the pressure to run away

Do you sleep on your back?
Edit: when congested, my pressure goes a bit higher than normal but not by much and don,t reach the maximum

Hi Zonk, thanks for reply. I tend to move a lot in my sleep from side to side, rarely on my back. I have a Hose hanger that allows me to this without any tangles etc. I haven't been congested. And I should mention it has been months of reaching the 11.9cm when the setting was 6-12cm. I don't believe there are any flow limitations? Filters clean, hose clean, nasal pillows working fine. The first machine I was stuck with had the EPR turned off, when the AutoSet arrived it feels like I am breathing better without "fighting" to exhale. I only became concerned when I seen the pattern of 11.9 so often. I was thinking of going up to 6-14cm and see if it keeps climbing? I wasn't sure if that was the right thing to do but the data showed an increase right away when I went from 12 to 14cm. I'll take your advice and notch up the bottom from 6 to 7cm and see what happens. I would like to hear some other opinions from others and see what they think? With the variation how would I know the data if I set it to a constant? Appreciate your advice and reply!

Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
06-29-2013 09:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
jgjones1972 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 516
Joined: Nov 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50I PulseOx

Sex: Male
Location: Ohio - USA

Post: #6
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
What do the waves on the pressure graph look like? Is the pressure just touching max then coming back down or does it look more like it hits max, stays there a while and then comes back down?

If it were me, I would probably be looking at raising the max until I just get sharp peaks near the max. I would probably be looking at raising the min also - based on the 95% pressure shown.

Welcome back!
Sleep-well
06-29-2013 10:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
2Tim215 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 283
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: S9 ResMed AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nasal Pillow - Medium
Humidifier: ResMed H5i w/Climate Hose
CPAP Pressure: 6cm-12cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: OSA, Fibromyalgia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoarthritis, Gout, PTSD, & Meralgia paresthetica.

Sex: Male
Location: Finger Lakes Region, NY

Post: #7
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
(06-29-2013 10:15 PM)jgjones1972 Wrote:  What do the waves on the pressure graph look like? Is the pressure just touching max then coming back down or does it look more like it hits max, stays there a while and then comes back down?

If it were me, I would probably be looking at raising the max until I just get sharp peaks near the max. I would probably be looking at raising the min also - based on the 95% pressure shown.

Welcome back!
Sleep-well

Thanks, glad to be back! Rescan won't show me the "detailed graphs" for some reason? I can see the summary graphs but that's it.

Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
06-30-2013 02:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #8
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
(06-30-2013 02:28 AM)2Tim215 Wrote:  Rescan won't show me the "detailed graphs" for some reason? I can see the summary graphs but that's it.
Double click the day that you want to see. If you click on detailed graph and shows "No detailed data available", maybe when downloading "All available data" (can be set as "default" so always stay that way) not selected or the card was not in the machine. Detailed data written directly on the card (not stored in the machine)
[Image: attachment.php?aid=60]
06-30-2013 03:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #9
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
Me personally, (and I'm not recommending this for anybody else) I would set it a couple cm H20 higher than my 95%'ile number on auto. If I was on straight CPAP, I would probably set it at the 95%'tile number (average over several nights).

OMyMy
06-30-2013 09:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
2Tim215 Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 283
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: S9 ResMed AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nasal Pillow - Medium
Humidifier: ResMed H5i w/Climate Hose
CPAP Pressure: 6cm-12cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: OSA, Fibromyalgia, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoarthritis, Gout, PTSD, & Meralgia paresthetica.

Sex: Male
Location: Finger Lakes Region, NY

Post: #10
RE: Should I Raise the Max on my AutoSet?
(06-30-2013 03:10 AM)zonk Wrote:  
(06-30-2013 02:28 AM)2Tim215 Wrote:  Rescan won't show me the "detailed graphs" for some reason? I can see the summary graphs but that's it.
Double click the day that you want to see. If you click on detailed graph and shows "No detailed data available", maybe when downloading "All available data" (can be set as "default" so always stay that way) not selected or the card was not in the machine. Detailed data written directly on the card (not stored in the machine)
[Image: attachment.php?aid=60]

Thank you, I never knew to choose that option! I appreciate you teaching me this. I will get a photo up soon. last night I did better, only 10.6 max, 95% 9.1.

Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
06-30-2013 11:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Time for Adjustment, drop EPR or raise pressure? Rcgop 16 1,009 07-12-2016 06:35 PM
Last Post: Rcgop
Question I feel horrible. My doctor won't raise the pressure, why would she lower it? Debra 12 2,272 06-03-2015 02:52 PM
Last Post: TyroneShoes
  airsense 10 autoset or resmed S9 autoset sleepybeaver 18 6,116 05-30-2015 07:38 PM
Last Post: zonk

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)