Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Should I purchase a 0 hour 2 year old S9 Autoset?
#1
I have a opportunity to purchase a ResMed S9 Autoset that has 0 hours on it but is almost two years old. ($400.00)

The seller put it on a shelf shortly after receiving it and now want to get rid of it. (claiming he never needed it)

Has the S9 Autoset been updated over the past two years to correct any bugs?

I looked on ResMed's web site but can't find that they ever release any firmware updates.

Thanks,
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hi k.eschmitz and WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(12-01-2012, 06:07 PM)trish6hundred Wrote: Hi k.eschmitz and WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you.

You could check the software version on your machine against that of others to see how current you are. I don't know of any user actually "updating" their machine except by replacing it.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(12-01-2012, 05:55 PM)k.eschmitz Wrote: I have a opportunity to purchase a ResMed S9 Autoset that has 0 hours on it but is almost two years old. ($400.00)

The seller put it on a shelf shortly after receiving it and now want to get rid of it. (claiming he never needed it)

Has the S9 Autoset been updated over the past two years to correct any bugs?

I looked on ResMed's web site but can't find that they ever release any firmware updates.

Thanks,
there are few firmware upgrade since then, 905 is the latest or maybe there is more recent upgrade. if any major upgrade ... it will S10
just minor upgrade ... smartstart can be enabled with full face mask, Resmed logo on the sreen, software humidifier number appear on the service screen when humidifier connected, maybe there are others but not important as far the machine concerned
just make sure its zero hours and include the humidifier, water tank (cleanable tank preferred), slimline and climate hoses, SD card, power brick. any warranty?

Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Eh, $400 for a used machine, even allegedly never used, is about right. The changes to the "software" would be minimal. Anything too big and it would be an S10.

Make sure you find out if it is truly zero hours. A user can change the hours for that user but can't clear the total hours used for the machine. Not sure where to find that.

A few things to ask the seller:
Was it in it's case for that time? (bag means less chance of some creepy crawly or a ton of dust or whatever being inside of it)
Where did he get it? (if he cannot easily say the name or location of the DME, then he is being untruthful)

Compare the prices to SecondWind (Supplier #2)
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Firmware version is probably not a big thing.

"Run hours" is the hours that can't be reset. Press and hold setup and info until another menu comes up. Turn the knob right one click until the sleep report comes up. Press the knob to enter the menu. Turn the knob to the right. "Run hours" is near the bottom of the menu.

$400 is probably a fairly reasonable price.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
How can I tell the age of my AutoSet? Is there a code in the serial number?
Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(12-01-2012, 11:12 PM)2Tim215 Wrote: How can I tell the age of my AutoSet? Is there a code in the serial number?
I think the first two numbers of the serial number denote country of manufacture ... 22 Australia ... 23 Singapore
the next two numbers ... year of manufacture


Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(12-01-2012, 11:35 PM)zonk Wrote:
(12-01-2012, 11:12 PM)2Tim215 Wrote: How can I tell the age of my AutoSet? Is there a code in the serial number?
I think the first two numbers of the serial number denote country of manufacture ... 22 Australia ... 23 Singapore
the next two numbers ... year of manufacture
Okay, Thank you, mine are 2312 and does say made in Singapore on both AutoSet & H5i. Appreciate the info. This thread had me curious.

Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Post Reply Post Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Canadian here without insurance. Purchase advice needed. TrailerSweetheart 18 812 04-14-2017, 07:30 AM
Last Post: craig001
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet APAP vs ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet For Her SingerWang 11 529 04-04-2017, 12:07 AM
Last Post: JamesW
  [Treatment] One Year in and still have tired days Sleepyv 27 1,311 04-01-2017, 10:43 PM
Last Post: Pvtcollins
  What would be the best machine to purchase sleepy1235 13 371 04-01-2017, 04:53 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  Do I still meet the 4 hour a night compliance if my mask leaks? UKwildcatfan 4 301 03-18-2017, 01:25 AM
Last Post: Ockrocket
  A year later & still not happy with the numbers joyced490 28 1,118 02-28-2017, 10:11 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Events Per Hour looks61 8 489 02-09-2017, 09:45 AM
Last Post: RichardVT

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.