Post Reply 
Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
Author Message
SilverSleeper Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: Resmed Humidfier
CPAP Pressure: 9,2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Belgium

Post: #1
Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
I’m on on the elite for 8 months now, and like I said before I’m having very good results especially for the treatment of my heart symptoms, Atrial Fibrilation(AF), and tiredness.
When my AHI is low (< 5), the tiredness is gone. When it’s higher 7 - 11 I’m feeling the new “bad”, which is much better then before!
Next week I have to go to Clinic again and I want to ask the docter if it’s possible to try the S9 autoset.
The average AHI for the last 6 months is about 6/hour, but I ‘m having a lot more clear airways events then obstructive episodes ( 3 : 1). CPAP pressure is 8 cmH20.
What do you think I should do ?
Thank you all!
06-29-2013 05:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Tez62 Offline

Monitors

Posts: 837
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post: #2
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
SilverSleeper, I would definitely be trying to get an Autoset, apart from the auto adjusting feauture, I think they are more comfortable than constant pressure CPAPs. Basically the machine does everything for you. At 8 your pressures are not very high, from Sleepyhead or Rescan are you hitting 8 most of the time? Even if you don't get the Autoset at least he can look at your data and make so suggestions, good luck and keep us advised.
06-29-2013 05:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SilverSleeper Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: Resmed Humidfier
CPAP Pressure: 9,2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Belgium

Post: #3
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
The initially pressure setting at the beginning of the study was 6 cm H20 with an AHI of 8,5. Thanks to the board I gradually changed the settings to 8 cm H20. My AHI from march 26 is now about 4,56/hour. But still have days of 7 - 11 AHI's and lots of centrals episodes. I tried the settings of 9 - 12 cm but cannot tolerate that higher constant pressure. When I'm having an autoset I will try a range between 7 - 12cm H20? I'm hoping to reduce the clusters AHI's(REM sleep?) I'm having.

THX!
(This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 06:11 PM by SilverSleeper.)
06-29-2013 06:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Tez62 Offline

Monitors

Posts: 837
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post: #4
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
What was your AHI at your first sleep study? If you go with the Autoset your low pressure can be as low as 4, 12 sounds good as the high but your clinic should advise you on your high and low. If you get it, leave the settings on what they are set at for acouple of weeks, sometimes it takes people a couple of weeks to adjust and get good readings.
06-29-2013 06:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(06-29-2013 05:36 PM)SilverSleeper Wrote:  What do you think I should do ?
Thank you all!
I think ... if it ain't broken, don't fix it. Auto is not necessary any better
Some folk are sensitive to APAP pressure changes and do better on constant pressure while the reverse true for others

Elite and AutoSet gives the same amount of detailed data and both does not treat central sleep apnea (only detection)
06-29-2013 06:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SilverSleeper Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: Resmed Humidfier
CPAP Pressure: 9,2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Belgium

Post: #6
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(06-29-2013 06:13 PM)Tez62 Wrote:  What was your AHI at your first sleep study? If you go with the Autoset your low pressure can be as low as 4, 12 sounds good as the high but your clinic should advise you on your high and low. If you get it, leave the settings on what they are set at for acouple of weeks, sometimes it takes people a couple of weeks to adjust and get good readings.

At the beginning my AHI was about 22. The clinic didn't give me much more information. Had a second sleep study(February) but couldn't talk to a doctor, only nurses.... Have an appointment with a doctor on July 2. Gonna ask for an autoset thoughWink
06-29-2013 06:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SilverSleeper Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: Resmed Humidfier
CPAP Pressure: 9,2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Belgium

Post: #7
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(06-29-2013 06:24 PM)zonk Wrote:  
(06-29-2013 05:36 PM)SilverSleeper Wrote:  What do you think I should do ?
Thank you all!
I think ... if it ain't broken, don't fix it. Auto is not necessary any better
Some folk are sensitive to APAP pressure changes and do better on constant pressure while the reverse true for others

Elite and AutoSet gives the same amount of detailed data and both does not treat central sleep apnea (only detection)

I don't now for sure but if "things go bad" is it possible to change the autoset to a straight CPAP?
06-29-2013 06:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #8
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
Hi SilverSleeper,
You can run an S9AutoSet in straight CPAP if you should want to do that.

trish6hundred
06-29-2013 06:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #9
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(06-29-2013 06:40 PM)SilverSleeper Wrote:  I don't now for sure but if "things go bad" is it possible to change the autoset to a straight CPAP?
Yes ... AutoSet does both modes, CPAP (constant pressure) and AutoSet
You can choose to set the machine in either mode

Do you have to pay for the AutoSet out of pocket or its free in Belgium
06-29-2013 06:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SilverSleeper Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: Resmed Humidfier
CPAP Pressure: 9,2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Belgium

Post: #10
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(06-29-2013 06:54 PM)zonk Wrote:  
(06-29-2013 06:40 PM)SilverSleeper Wrote:  I don't now for sure but if "things go bad" is it possible to change the autoset to a straight CPAP?
Yes ... AutoSet does both modes, CPAP (constant pressure) and AutoSet
You can choose to set the machine in either mode

Do you have to pay for the AutoSet out of pocket or its free in Belgium

I'm paying € 7,5/month for the machine, including replacements of mask etc. For the visit and clinic we have to pay a little, much is included.
Thanks
06-29-2013 07:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Cloggd Nose elling with ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet edmund36 5 138 Yesterday 08:41 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,283 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Is it time to replace cushion on the mask worthog 3 237 11-26-2016 10:50 PM
Last Post: GP49
  Is my ResMed S9 Autoset dying? gkainz 10 531 11-09-2016 11:35 AM
Last Post: gkainz
  [Equipment] Resmed S10 Autoset Humidifier question keithb4158 6 396 11-02-2016 05:13 AM
Last Post: keithb4158
  [Equipment] Water tub maintenance for ResMed S9 Elite Maggie 9 374 10-30-2016 01:53 PM
Last Post: Maggie
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 551 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)