Post Reply 
Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
Author Message
Shastzi Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,174
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: FitLife Total face mask
Humidifier: F&P HC150 with Hybernite heated hose.
CPAP Pressure: 15cm-20cm H2O (auto)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: CMS50-F wearable Oximeter; Software: SPO2 Assistant

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Florida, USA.

Post: #11
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
I would get the AutoSet.
It is a more flexible machine and you can run down leak and pressure related issues more quickly.

Wink

"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
06-29-2013 10:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #12
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
How many centrals do you get?

Look at the centrals with SleepyHead and see how many seconds they last and whether you completely stop breathing or only partially stop breathing.

Higher pressure may increase centrals in some people.

If you are having too many centrals, you may need an ever more complicated machine than the AutoSet.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
07-01-2013 04:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SilverSleeper Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: Resmed Humidfier
CPAP Pressure: 9,2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Belgium

Post: #13
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
Hi archangel.
I'm taking june 19 as an example. AHI 5.29. Clear airways 3.55(in total 63 events), obstructive 0.51, Hypopnea 0,84.
Events ranging from 10 to 26 seconds. In total there were 8 events of + 20 seconds.
I don't know why but there are only 32 of the 63 events split up in the events log.
I just have to add that the total AHI (last 3 month's) is under AHI 5.
Thank you all!

http://i1308.photobucket.com/albums/s607...5ed199.jpg
(This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 05:05 PM by SilverSleeper.)
07-01-2013 04:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
tokyo43 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 27
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: RESMED S9 Elite (Fixed pressure CPAP)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q
Humidifier: RESMED H5i/climite line
CPAP Pressure: 8.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: 46 yrs old, 5'11, 180lbs.

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #14
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(06-29-2013 10:23 PM)Shastzi Wrote:  I would get the AutoSet.
It is a more flexible machine and you can run down leak and pressure related issues more quickly.

Wink

How does the Autoset let you "run down leak" issues more quickly? I've read that the Elite has the exact same features and reporting as the Autoset with the exception of auto pressure. The Elite does have full leak reporting.
(This post was last modified: 07-02-2013 01:35 PM by tokyo43.)
07-02-2013 01:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
tokyo43 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 27
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: RESMED S9 Elite (Fixed pressure CPAP)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q
Humidifier: RESMED H5i/climite line
CPAP Pressure: 8.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: 46 yrs old, 5'11, 180lbs.

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #15
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(06-29-2013 05:43 PM)Tez62 Wrote:  SilverSleeper, I would definitely be trying to get an Autoset, apart from the auto adjusting feauture, I think they are more comfortable than constant pressure CPAPs. Basically the machine does everything for you. At 8 your pressures are not very high, from Sleepyhead or Rescan are you hitting 8 most of the time? Even if you don't get the Autoset at least he can look at your data and make so suggestions, good luck and keep us advised.

Are you talking about the EPR feature? The Elite has it. It's exactly the same system as the Autoset if I'm not mistaken.
07-02-2013 01:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #16
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
All S9 series have the EPR feature including non-data capable Escape models

Leak only available on S9 AutoSet and S9 Elite
S9 Specification http://www.resmed.com/us/products/s9_ser...nc=dealers
07-02-2013 04:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Tez62 Offline

Monitors

Posts: 837
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post: #17
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(07-02-2013 01:38 PM)tokyo43 Wrote:  
(06-29-2013 05:43 PM)Tez62 Wrote:  SilverSleeper, I would definitely be trying to get an Autoset, apart from the auto adjusting feauture, I think they are more comfortable than constant pressure CPAPs. Basically the machine does everything for you. At 8 your pressures are not very high, from Sleepyhead or Rescan are you hitting 8 most of the time? Even if you don't get the Autoset at least he can look at your data and make so suggestions, good luck and keep us advised.

Are you talking about the EPR feature? The Elite has it. It's exactly the same system as the Autoset if I'm not mistaken.

tokyo43, I was talking about the difference between constant pressure and auto adjusting being the difference between the Elite and Autoset.
07-02-2013 06:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
dangar Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: Resmart
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmart
Humidifier: Resmart
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #18
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
I had a brick before and I got a resmed S9 vipap auto.
It can run CPAP also, but the auto settings are spectacular.
07-02-2013 09:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SilverSleeper Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: Resmed Humidfier
CPAP Pressure: 9,2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Belgium

Post: #19
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
Next week I'm having an appointment with the doctor. I hope she will agree with trying the S9 autoset. I'will inform you how things work out.
THX
07-03-2013 01:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #20
RE: Should I replace my Resmed S9 Elite for a S9 autoset?
(07-01-2013 04:57 PM)SilverSleeper Wrote:  Hi archangel.
I'm taking june 19 as an example. AHI 5.29. Clear airways 3.55(in total 63 events), obstructive 0.51, Hypopnea 0,84.
Events ranging from 10 to 26 seconds. In total there were 8 events of + 20 seconds.
I don't know why but there are only 32 of the 63 events split up in the events log.
I just have to add that the total AHI (last 3 month's) is under AHI 5.
Thank you all!

http://i1308.photobucket.com/albums/s607...5ed199.jpg

[Image: CAE_zps665ed199.jpg]

Those central apnea events look "real." Watch out for them. In particular, be careful if they get more frequent or longer lasting, especially if you do anything to increase your pressure, including using auto CPAP. Just turning your pressure up may make CA worse.

Look at the events, and see how long a period of time you're not breathing and how often you stop. Get a gut feel for how bad your CA is.

If your CA problems get worse, you may need an ASV machine, but they're much more expensive and may be much more difficult to live with.

An AutoSet will probably not help your CA. It could even make it worse if you end up going to a higher pressure. However, the AutoSet can be adjusted such that it doesn't increase your pressure to a higher level, or it can even be set to do manual CPAP at 8.

By the way, upgrade to SleepyHead 0.9.3. It fixes a few bugs with the display of data on the S9 machine. The link is in my signature.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
(This post was last modified: 07-03-2013 11:18 PM by archangle.)
07-03-2013 11:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,218 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Is it time to replace cushion on the mask worthog 3 198 11-26-2016 10:50 PM
Last Post: GP49
  Is my ResMed S9 Autoset dying? gkainz 10 507 11-09-2016 11:35 AM
Last Post: gkainz
  [Equipment] Resmed S10 Autoset Humidifier question keithb4158 6 386 11-02-2016 05:13 AM
Last Post: keithb4158
  [Equipment] Water tub maintenance for ResMed S9 Elite Maggie 9 358 10-30-2016 01:53 PM
Last Post: Maggie
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 524 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed Autoset 10 alarm sound Ibiban 3 251 10-28-2016 07:30 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)