Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Should PAP therapy eliminate all snoring?
Should PAP therapy eliminate all snoring?
If some snoring is still present, does this mean that PAP is not optimal?

If so, should EPAP or IPAP be raised to correct this? Obstructive apnea is pretty much at 0 but still have some snoring.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Should PAP therapy eliminate all snoring?
good question. I'm no expert but a couple comments: ideally, treatment for oa will reduce if not eliminate snoring. as a practical matter, at least in my limited experience, it does not completely eliminate snoring. it is of diagnostic use however, inasmuch as my ex sleep doc asked about snoring a couple times in relation to the efficacy of my treatment. in addition, I'm not convinced all flagged snores are snores. regardless, I'm sure that I continue to snore a little, judging by my wife's active elbow (nothing like pre cpap though). listening to an audio recording, my cpap snores are quite different with treatment. certainly quieter. and smoother if you can imagine such a thing. occurs mostly during leaks, both leaks and snoring caused I believe by supine palatal collapse in deep sleep. only thing to do is raise inhale pressure to see if the snores decline. otoh, they say that snoring in and of itself is not so harmful. ahi of near 0 is pretty hard to beat unless you feel poorly.
Post Reply Post Reply
Interesting question.
I do meditation with a group. I have issues with snoring. I know, I should be meditating. I'm trying to....
DaveL
compliant for 35 years /// Still trying!

I'm just a cpap user like you. I don't give medical advice. Seek the advice of a physician before seeking treatment for medical conditions including sleep apnea. Sleep-well