Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Side vs. Back sleep - APAP tuning
Side vs. Back sleep - APAP tuning
Hi all, I am fairly new to the task of improving on what has been generally degrading sleep quality. Sleep study indicated moderate obstructive. I was assigned a ResMed S9 autoset w/humidifier. Being a techie, I learned of the software and downloaded the ResMed scan software and began studying the detailed graphs, with emphasis on the actual breath volume time-graph. I can see where the tool bumps control pressure (auto ranged from 7 to 12 cm in my case) when breathing stops and sensed to be obstructive type.

I don't have data on this but I suspect that obstructive is only happening while sleeping on my back. During those moments between awakeness and sleep I have on occasion sensed my airway closing, like a valve would snap shut. Is this true or mostly true that obstructive apnea happens only on back sleep?

Be that the case, we would want an APAP algorithm that could adjust quickly to the breathing pattern changes as one shifts sleep positions. If on side, the PAP should be able to settle into the low limit setting an stay there. A transition to sleep on back - the tool should be able to ramp up rather quickly on the first or second event so as to minimize total obstructive events while sleeping on back.

Can an S9 Autoset pressure "gain" be adjusted (maybe maximized), so that when obstructive events start (move to sleep on back) the pressure will increase quickly to maximum limit? I think the decay rate of pressure might be adjustable too, when on events are happening in time.

Regis - Pleasanton, CA
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Side vs. Back sleep - APAP tuning