Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P | Simplus Full Face
Humidifier: Integrated in AirSense10
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Simplus, Leaking After Pressure Reached
Hello, I'm new to both CPAP therapy and the group.

I have been lurking all week as I started my journey 1 week ago. I have already gathered great information, and fully appreciate everyone's feedback and experiences.

I have been averaging only about 4.5 hrs of "mask time" each night out of about 6 hrs of bed time. I keep waking in the middle of the night with side leaks or "chin" leaks while breathing in, not out. It's when the system is at "max" pressure, inhaling well after ramp-up is complete.

I've messed with straps and position, but maybe I'm not approaching it correctly... Tighten, loosen, adjust position on face up/down???

I searched for leaks at pressure, and Simplus, etc... but most were nose leaks or similar. This seems specific to max pressure and lower side leaks...

Thanks again for having this forum, and I look forward to gathering more intel from everyone!

Thanks
01-22-2016 11:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PoolQ Offline

Advisory Members

Machine: AirCurve 10 VAUTO
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 6.2, 15, PS4.0
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

RE: Simplus, Leaking After Pressure Reached
Not surprised that it happens when breathing in. The CPAP tries to keep the pressure in the mask constant, at least short term. When you exhale you are actually increasing the pressure in the mask so the blower slows down. When you inhale you are lowering the pressure in the mask and the blower tries like crazy to keep the pressure up.