Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Sleep Study Report Question
Sleep Study Report Question
Hello ... can someone explain what these numbers mean? This is from 12/4/17, so I am really new to this. I just received my own CPAP machine this past Friday. I have downloaded SleepyHead but have not learned what to do with it yet. 

Thanks Much ... JoLyn

Ambulatory home-based nocturnal sleep study Interpretation report:
For more information, please see additional data provided in sleep tech note and scanned sleep report. 

Summary of study data::
· Valid sleep time= 5 hours, 55 minutes.   
· All night pRDI= 38.3/h and pAHI= 34.1/h.  
? Supine pRDI= 38.2/h and pAHI= 34.0/h.
· SpO2 data: Mean = 91%, minimal 74% and < 90% is 11.8% of TST. 

Findings:
· Study is valid and the data are acceptable.
· This study is consistent with severe sleep apnea.
· Oximetry data consistent with moderate abnormality. 

Recommendation:
· Sleep lab will schedule patient for home-based 7 night A-PAP trial to determine compliance and ideal therapeutic pressure range
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Sleep Study Report Question
Hi Jo! Your sleep study resulted in a moderate to severe sleep apnea result. The RDI means respiratory related arousals, and apnea means a cessation of breathing of at least 10 seconds. Most of your events were apnea (34 of 38 arousal events). Your home study did not differentiate obstructive or central events, but this looks like plain obstructive apnea. You slept a bit less than 6-hours with 38 events per hour, so you had a total of about 228 events and your minimum oxygen levels showed a pretty serious desauration to 74%, and your O2 levels were impaired on average most of the night.