Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] ResMed Air Sense 10 for her
ResMed Air Sense 10 for her
I am brand new to this forum and have only been diagnosed with Sleep Apnea a month ago. I am using the ResMed Air Sense 10 for her machine. I am still learning how to use this machine and find that I am waking up after only 2-3 hours of use. When I wake up, my machine is off such as no air can be felt within the mask. Could somebody tell me why and how to fix this? Second, I find the mask extremely uncomfortable and I wake up with headaches. Is this normal? Thank you !

Susanne
Michigan
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: ResMed Air Sense 10 for her
Welcome

Has the machine actually shut down after 2-3 hours of use? Like it would if you pressed the start/stop button?
It may be that auto start is set to "ON." It's possible that the machine "thinks" you removed the mask; and has done an auto shutdown.
It may think this if your leak rate is too high. There's also a slight possibility of a defective machine.

So, what to do. If on, turn off autostart. Second, make sure your leak rate isn't too high. I suggest you download the software (see link to sleepyhead at top of page.) Read your SD card with sleepyhead and check for high leak just before "shutdown."

The headaches are likley because the therapy isn't effective until you fix the other problems.

Please, if you can, find out what pressure you are set to; and what type of FFM you are using; and update your profile.

Some people find FFMs uncomfortable. Finding the best mask is the key to tolerating CPAP therapy. You may do better with another type of mask.
(Nasal or nasal pillow perhaps.)

Mongo
California

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~