Post Reply 
Sleepy Head Software and ResMed S9
Author Message
treemkr Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8 mmHg
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Sleepy Head Software and ResMed S9
Huhsign

I have been using ResMed software for reviewing my sleep patterns, but recently downloaded the Sleepy Head software. I read in data from my card - however this was before I read the instructions re: cautioning the user to lock card before reading in data.

As it turns out the card can still be read by the ResMed machine BUT when I go into Clinician Mode I cannot change any settings!! (Actually the only setting that I can change now is the compliance duration)

Obviously something was written to the card that is interfering with the ResMed control. Does anyone know how I can restore this?

Thanks in advance for any comments.
12-12-2014 09:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,332
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #2
RE: Sleepy Head Software and ResMed S9
By chance are you running Win 8 or 8.1? If so, it writes System Volume information to the SD. That is reason why you need to write protect the card.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
12-12-2014 10:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
treemkr Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8 mmHg
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Sleepy Head Software and ResMed S9
sgearhart -

Yes, I am running Win 8.1. So, how do I get control back on my machine?
12-12-2014 10:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,332
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #4
RE: Sleepy Head Software and ResMed S9
OK, Here is an exert from a previous post as well as info links.

Windows 8.1 creates a directory and file "\System Volume Information\IndexerVolumeGuid". (The folder is hidden, but you can see the file by opening your card in Windows Explorer and manually entering the directory in the location bar.)

Their presence seems to confuse the ResMed and some other equipment. If you forget to lock the card before using it with Windows 8.1 and your ResMed wants to reformat the card, choose "No" and put the card back in your computer (still unlocked).

You can remove the directory and file from the command prompt (or a batch file) with the following commands (for an SD card in drive F: in this example):

(Note: Replace the letter "F" with the drive letter that your card uses on your computer.)

del "F:\System Volume Information\IndexerVolumeGuid"
rmdir "F:\System Volume Information"

It should then be accepted by the ResMed without reformatting.

Links:

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windo...3f5?page=2

http://www.thewindowsclub.com/prevent-sy...folder-usb

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
(This post was last modified: 12-12-2014 10:49 AM by Crimson Nape.)
12-12-2014 10:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
treemkr Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8 mmHg
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Sleepy Head Software and ResMed S9
sgearhart

I have never seen a query from the ResMed machine re: reformatting the SD card. The card is accepted and new data is written to it. I just can't change settings in Clinician Mode. (I did noticed that it took longer to initialize the card in the ResMed machine after I used SleepyHead for the first time - and this is what makes me think that SleepyHead wrote something to the card).

I can try deleting this hidden directory and see if that solves the problem. I'll keep you posted.
12-12-2014 11:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  screen shot from ResMed software Beej 9 448 10-26-2016 02:07 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Newb Brisbane Hose Head BigWillyAus 10 533 10-20-2016 05:36 PM
Last Post: BigWillyAus
  Can someone take a look at this Sleepy Head Data? crezman 19 843 09-12-2016 11:03 PM
Last Post: crezman
  DIY idea to stop itching and rash back of head? okieman 8 636 09-11-2016 09:17 PM
Last Post: okieman
  ResMed software for OSX mikec 5 9,994 09-06-2016 03:18 PM
Last Post: livingwithapnea
  fullness in head Bebe 3 302 08-30-2016 10:34 AM
Last Post: PoolQ
  Preventing head gear marks on bald head wxmcpo 17 743 08-21-2016 03:13 PM
Last Post: chill

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)