Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
#1
SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
Take a look at this last night. It put my baseline O2 at 98%. So all night long it registered over 200 desats, even though my oxygen levels seemed okay, except for some dips during OA's. As far as I can see, I didn't have many OA's or CA's, so this O2 desats have to be wrong.

How does Sleepyhead figure out the baseline O2 that it uses? Is this adjustable, to say put it down to 95%?
   
ResMed AirCurve 10 vAuto
Pressure EPAP min 4.4, IPAP 8.4, IPAP Max 18, PS 4.

Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
You should be able to adjust the setting under files-preferences-oximetry.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
5
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.



Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
No setting there to adjust the baseline. I guess that is determined automatically and cant be adjusted?
ResMed AirCurve 10 vAuto
Pressure EPAP min 4.4, IPAP 8.4, IPAP Max 18, PS 4.

Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
Look at the File->Preferences->Oximetry tab.
   
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
(10-03-2018, 10:46 AM)Crimson Nape Wrote: Look at the File->Preferences->Oximetry tab.

I see no option there to change the baseline SpO2.
ResMed AirCurve 10 vAuto
Pressure EPAP min 4.4, IPAP 8.4, IPAP Max 18, PS 4.

Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
Could you explain what you mean by baseline?
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
5
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.



Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
I think, ... and I'm not sure... that your baseline is established during the awake time at the beginning of the recording period. I thought desats were based on the recent (for some time period) level, but I am not sure of that at all. I haven't studied my own data that closely. I really just look at how often and how long I am below 88% (fortunately not often enough to worry me). I'm not sure enough of the stability of the Contec units with respect to artifacts and arm motion while sleeping to put a lot of stock in their data.
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies. Monitors are also Advisory Members, just with Extra Work assigned.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
(10-03-2018, 11:42 AM)Walla Walla Wrote: Could you explain what you mean by baseline?

On the sleepyhead screenshot, on the left side under Oximeter information. "SpO2 Baseline Used". It uses this baseline reading, and then if your O2 drops below the baseline, it marks that as a Desat. The last few nights, it automatically calculated 98% baseline. So if I drop below that, it marks Desats, which in my case, is hundreds. Because my normal O2 at night during sleep, is usually around 95%. I'd like to decrease the baseline to 95%, and then if anything drops below that, then mark it as a Desat.

I think what sleephead is doing, is that when you import your O2 readings, it uses the first minute or so to calculate a baseline. So if I have 98% for first minute or so, it just uses that as baseline. Last night again, after importing O2, it showed it used 98% baseline. And because of that, it calculated 252 Desats that were below that. Bascially I guess I can just ignore the Desats, but I'd rather not see so many Desats marked up on my chart, when they are not real desats.
ResMed AirCurve 10 vAuto
Pressure EPAP min 4.4, IPAP 8.4, IPAP Max 18, PS 4.

Post Reply Post Reply
#9
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
The default flag for a O2 desat is 3%. You could set it to say 6% and it won't long as many events and you still can track your O2 on the flow chart. It also will still fag any desat at 88% and below.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
5
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.



Post Reply Post Reply
#10
RE: SleepyHead - Change SpO2 baseline? Too many incorrect desats
Greetings, I'm new to Sleepyhead and have run into exactly the problem described in thread. 

My baseline SpO2 seems to vary by my initial saturation reading, based on about a week of monitoring. The calc of # of desat events seems to be tied to that, and it made the session with a 98% baseline very high. My median SpO2 figure for the night was exactly on point with my average for the week, which was 93.5. 

Between the lack of accurate metrics definitions and the apparent inability to customize and set benchmarking, this program seems quite useless on the oximetry side. I know open-source is challenging, but if you've seen "golden cheetah"-- _that's_ how you measure control and explain in an open source environment. I'll keep trying and listening.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  OSCAR Bug Report - Oximetry .SpO2 File Import dlbzone 2 164 05-08-2019, 09:52 PM
Last Post: dlbzone
  CMS50FW and SPO2 Assistance gumleafau 0 121 05-01-2019, 06:51 PM
Last Post: gumleafau
  SpO2 Assistant Data File Conversion WSHenry 2 208 04-08-2019, 08:57 PM
Last Post: WSHenry
  CMS50F cannot download data even in the spo2 andreasnasioudis 28 875 02-14-2019, 12:14 AM
Last Post: czroy69
  Sleepyhead: forgotten passsword.... any idea how to find it/change it? pollyottis 7 690 12-21-2018, 10:15 PM
Last Post: biyahero
  SleepyHead - Change Apnoea Hypopnea Index Label Text to AHI cjsimmons 8 456 10-02-2018, 05:17 PM
Last Post: cjsimmons
  SPO2 Assistant crazy event or unit error? help007 2 358 09-25-2018, 08:39 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.