Post Reply 
Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
Author Message
Pig Vomit Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: REMstar Auto A-Flex 560P / System One
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 9.0
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
Hello, all. I searched, and couldn't really find anything on this. I apologize for not posting images in this thread, but I'm a new user and my post count isn't high enough (8 needed) to allow me to do so. I also can't post clickable links, so just copy and paste the links below to view my screenshots.

I have a Yoga 2 Pro running Windows 8.1 with a QHD+ display native resolution of 3200 x 1800. The scaling is all messed up. Here is what it looks like in native resolution:

http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q626...hkotoz.png

Using the same data, I viewed it on a Windows 7 x64 Home Premium laptop with a native resolution of 1366 x 768, giving me a much different and quite usable display:

http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q626...rvgiwf.png

So I thought I'd just change my resolution on my Yoga 2 Pro to 1366 x 768 to fix it. Doesn't work, exactly the same as at the native resolution. Here's what I got:

http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q626...nsnlru.png

It's a pain in the butt going to my backup POS laptop with the lower resolution just to view Sleepyhead data. Does anybody have any suggestions on how to view this on my high resolution Yoga 2 Pro? I think it's related to scaling but I'm not sure how to fix it.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
03-02-2015 01:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
Yeah, that is a mess. Not a clue how to fix that but I did fix your links for you.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-02-2015 04:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #3
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
Just a thought: Perhaps you could have SH show fewer graphs on the big machine.

Do you have windows set to upscale? Like I'm running W7 on this machine and I set the display settings in control panel to 125%. Some programs do not display properly with that setting.

I'm guessing you had to set the display to 150% when running 3200 x 1800.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-02-2015 04:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
on the virge Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 53
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: PRS 1 (560) Auto with A-Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10
Humidifier: Philips Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 7-11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Northern Virginia

Post: #4
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
From the SH website, I remembered the following:

Which build to choose?
BrokenGL These are special compatability builds, that run on a wider range of video hardware.
OpenGL Standard, faster graphs, but require an OpenGL 2.0 compatible graphics card.

Could the problem be the graphics card compatibility?
03-02-2015 05:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Pig Vomit Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: REMstar Auto A-Flex 560P / System One
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 9.0
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
The problem isn't graphics card compatibility.

It's definitely tied to the magnification. The default/recommended setting for this laptop is on the highest magnification. I can reduce the magnification to nothing and it displays everything a little bit better without the runover.....but it reduces everything on the laptop, including the Sleepyhead data, to an unusable and tiny size. It also requires a reboot to change the magnification settings, so this really isn't a reasonable solution.

I'm open to any other suggestions, and appreciate all the responses.
(This post was last modified: 03-02-2015 06:40 PM by Pig Vomit.)
03-02-2015 06:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,449
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #6
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
Hi Pig Vomit,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more suggestions and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
03-02-2015 06:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #7
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
"Pig Vomit?" Really?

Are you using the "display scaling" or DPI resolution setting?

I decided some time ago that Windows DPI scaling was basically broken.

Luckily, none of my PC's are infested with Windows 8 yet. On Vista and Win7, there was a DPI or scaling setting of some sort under the right click-personalize options. None of the settings seemed to work correctly, but some of them were less broken than other versions. One option that helped a bit was to select "Use windows XP style DPI coding."

My understanding was that it required a lot of extra work for programmers to rewrite their programs to handle windows DPI scaling. Apparently, a lot of the tools and programs weren't rewritten to handle it. After spending a lot of time tinkering with it, I gave up on the windows display scaling options.

I saw screwed up screens similar to that when I tried to use the windows scaling functions.

It wouldn't surprise me if Win 8 has changed the way such things work again and screwed it all up in a new and improved way.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
03-02-2015 07:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #8
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
There's an option in SleepyHead to use larger fonts. Preference-appearance.

I suspect that there will be a number of programs other than SleepyHead that have similar problems if you're trying to run programs that aren't Windows 8 specific.

You might find the Windows magnifier function to be somewhat useful, but I haven't used it that much. Microsoft deprecated Aero in Windows 8 and a lot of the cooler zoom functions were tied to Aero.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
03-02-2015 07:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Pig Vomit Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: REMstar Auto A-Flex 560P / System One
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 9.0
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #9
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
Yes, I'm "Pig Vomit". Has a lot of meanings. To me. And it's catchy and memorable, no?

The magnification I referred to is more or less the Win 8.1 equivalent to DPI Scaling settings in Win 7.

I'm not fond of Win 8, but I needed a new laptop and wanted a high-res touch ultrabook. Win 8.1 was really the only way to go. Haven't tried SH on Win 10 yet. I suppose I should try that in a virtual machine environment....that might be the easiest solution if it appears correctly in Win 10.

I've already tried the compatibility setting for SH to "Disable display scaling on high DPI displays". Nope.

Tried changing the font size. Nope.

Tried screwing around with the Y-axis setting. Nope.
03-02-2015 07:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Pig Vomit Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: REMstar Auto A-Flex 560P / System One
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 9.0
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #10
RE: Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
I just installed SH on Windows 10 Technical Preview. Displays exactly as on Windows 8.1, so this isn't a solution.
03-03-2015 11:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  SleepyHead / Flashair problem seawolf 6 307 11-21-2016 03:34 PM
Last Post: AlanE
  SH Full Screen problem Slim1950 4 211 11-01-2016 11:33 PM
Last Post: Ockrocket
Question PRS1 + Oxy import problem: bug or PEBKAC? strix 0 132 10-15-2016 01:29 PM
Last Post: strix
  EncorePro password problem KD6OBB 0 185 10-03-2016 06:51 PM
Last Post: KD6OBB
  EncorePro problem Triggerracing 3 309 09-22-2016 09:05 AM
Last Post: rkl122
  RDI graph wont display sleepyhead beta2 car54 2 216 09-09-2016 05:37 PM
Last Post: car54
Exclaimation Problem downlaoding Sleepyhead Infinity2902 5 381 06-22-2016 07:31 AM
Last Post: AlanE

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)