Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Sleepyhead Display Problem on High-Res Screens
#1
Hello, all. I searched, and couldn't really find anything on this. I apologize for not posting images in this thread, but I'm a new user and my post count isn't high enough (8 needed) to allow me to do so. I also can't post clickable links, so just copy and paste the links below to view my screenshots.

I have a Yoga 2 Pro running Windows 8.1 with a QHD+ display native resolution of 3200 x 1800. The scaling is all messed up. Here is what it looks like in native resolution:

http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q626...hkotoz.png

Using the same data, I viewed it on a Windows 7 x64 Home Premium laptop with a native resolution of 1366 x 768, giving me a much different and quite usable display:

http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q626...rvgiwf.png

So I thought I'd just change my resolution on my Yoga 2 Pro to 1366 x 768 to fix it. Doesn't work, exactly the same as at the native resolution. Here's what I got:

http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q626...nsnlru.png

It's a pain in the butt going to my backup POS laptop with the lower resolution just to view Sleepyhead data. Does anybody have any suggestions on how to view this on my high resolution Yoga 2 Pro? I think it's related to scaling but I'm not sure how to fix it.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Yeah, that is a mess. Not a clue how to fix that but I did fix your links for you.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Just a thought: Perhaps you could have SH show fewer graphs on the big machine.

Do you have windows set to upscale? Like I'm running W7 on this machine and I set the display settings in control panel to 125%. Some programs do not display properly with that setting.

I'm guessing you had to set the display to 150% when running 3200 x 1800.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
From the SH website, I remembered the following:

Which build to choose?
BrokenGL These are special compatability builds, that run on a wider range of video hardware.
OpenGL Standard, faster graphs, but require an OpenGL 2.0 compatible graphics card.

Could the problem be the graphics card compatibility?
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
The problem isn't graphics card compatibility.

It's definitely tied to the magnification. The default/recommended setting for this laptop is on the highest magnification. I can reduce the magnification to nothing and it displays everything a little bit better without the runover.....but it reduces everything on the laptop, including the Sleepyhead data, to an unusable and tiny size. It also requires a reboot to change the magnification settings, so this really isn't a reasonable solution.

I'm open to any other suggestions, and appreciate all the responses.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Hi Pig Vomit,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more suggestions and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
"Pig Vomit?" Really?

Are you using the "display scaling" or DPI resolution setting?

I decided some time ago that Windows DPI scaling was basically broken.

Luckily, none of my PC's are infested with Windows 8 yet. On Vista and Win7, there was a DPI or scaling setting of some sort under the right click-personalize options. None of the settings seemed to work correctly, but some of them were less broken than other versions. One option that helped a bit was to select "Use windows XP style DPI coding."

My understanding was that it required a lot of extra work for programmers to rewrite their programs to handle windows DPI scaling. Apparently, a lot of the tools and programs weren't rewritten to handle it. After spending a lot of time tinkering with it, I gave up on the windows display scaling options.

I saw screwed up screens similar to that when I tried to use the windows scaling functions.

It wouldn't surprise me if Win 8 has changed the way such things work again and screwed it all up in a new and improved way.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
There's an option in SleepyHead to use larger fonts. Preference-appearance.

I suspect that there will be a number of programs other than SleepyHead that have similar problems if you're trying to run programs that aren't Windows 8 specific.

You might find the Windows magnifier function to be somewhat useful, but I haven't used it that much. Microsoft deprecated Aero in Windows 8 and a lot of the cooler zoom functions were tied to Aero.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Yes, I'm "Pig Vomit". Has a lot of meanings. To me. And it's catchy and memorable, no?

The magnification I referred to is more or less the Win 8.1 equivalent to DPI Scaling settings in Win 7.

I'm not fond of Win 8, but I needed a new laptop and wanted a high-res touch ultrabook. Win 8.1 was really the only way to go. Haven't tried SH on Win 10 yet. I suppose I should try that in a virtual machine environment....that might be the easiest solution if it appears correctly in Win 10.

I've already tried the compatibility setting for SH to "Disable display scaling on high DPI displays". Nope.

Tried changing the font size. Nope.

Tried screwing around with the Y-axis setting. Nope.
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
I just installed SH on Windows 10 Technical Preview. Displays exactly as on Windows 8.1, so this isn't a solution.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  SleepyHead Graph display problem Joe Fox 7 139 03-22-2017, 11:11 AM
Last Post: RichardVT
  SleepyHead / Flashair problem seawolf 6 479 11-21-2016, 03:34 PM
Last Post: AlanE
  SH Full Screen problem Slim1950 4 329 11-01-2016, 11:33 PM
Last Post: Ockrocket
Question PRS1 + Oxy import problem: bug or PEBKAC? strix 0 196 10-15-2016, 01:29 PM
Last Post: strix
  EncorePro password problem KD6OBB 0 262 10-03-2016, 06:51 PM
Last Post: KD6OBB
  EncorePro problem Triggerracing 3 445 09-22-2016, 09:05 AM
Last Post: rkl122
  RDI graph wont display sleepyhead beta2 car54 2 284 09-09-2016, 05:37 PM
Last Post: car54

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.