Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Humidity set to 0, no water in tank. Is this ok to do?
Humidity set to 0, no water in tank. Is this ok to do?
Trying out my new Airsense 11.   I had my previous Airsense 10 set to humidity = 3, but wanted to try 0 and get out of topping off the tank every day or two.      I did this last night, no dry mouth or discomfort.    Is humidity = 0 a crazy idea?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Humidity set to 0, no water in tank. Is this ok to do?
JohnReam,

I hope its OK. I have been doing it for over 15 years; when no matter what settings I used, even water in off position, I got congested. Which is what you did.

Everyone has to find out what works best for them.

Initially I bought a heated hose because ambient temperature was cold. When it gets very dry I have used a nasal gel. I have not in at least last two years. I do drink a lot of water. I have postnasal drip with some allergens so I wonder if that keeps my nose moist.

My old RemStar M series and the Resmed Elite 9 I am using now can be used without attaching the humidifier. Nice and compact.
Post Reply Post Reply
If it's working for you, then there is nothing crazy about it!  I'm not sure about the AS11, but the AS10 had a blank side cover that you could use.  Remove the humidifier and replace it with the blank side cover.
I would say to check the humidity setting and change it to zero if your not using water.  Some users report a slight burning smell if the humidifier heat is on and the tank has no water in it.  

You are still getting some sort of humidity based on what the RH is in your room, so it won't be zero RH, just no additional humidity.  IIRC the AS10 maintained a humidity level of 85% in auto mode.