Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Sore nasal opening
Sore nasal opening
Good morning all, I am new to the cpap and to this forum. This was my second morning of cpap use and I woke up with my nasal openings sore, along with area under my nose. I have a mustache and thinking of shaving it off until I get used to device. Im using the resmed swift fx nasal pillow, i'm thinking i had it to tight but looking for any suggestions. Thank you, one-eye
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Sore nasal opening
I use the swift FX as well. I originally started with the large pillows (as sized by my DME) and had terrible issues with sore nostrils. It was difficult to change to the medium because I felt that I just couldn't get enough air through them, but after I got used to it I was very happy, the soreness went away and life is good again.

My wife experiences the same type of pain when she runs out of water and gets dry air. Perhaps try an increase in humidification level?

The mask should fit just tight enough to avoid leaks. Resmed has a pretty good video on mask fit at -
http://www.resmed.com/us/products/swift_...s&sec=true
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome to Apnea Board, one-eye!

I rub a small amount of extra virgin olive oil where my nasal pillows touch my nostrils right before bedtime (I get really dry skin in winter months).

Kevin gave a good video link there. Also, might want to read Jeff's post on obtaining a perfect mask fit, HERE.

My bet is you're wearing the mask way too tight. It's designed to "float" against your skin, not be smashed up against your skin by force.

And, yep, you're going to get a better seal if you get rid of any facial hair near where the mask seals against your skin.

Sleep-well
SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com