Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Standard Filter Only With Either Climateline!
#11
Here's a pic.

[Image: IMG01330-20110701-1240.JPG]
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
here is another one
Antibacterial filter to be fitted inline with the CPAP tubing
[Image: 22021917_200x200.png]
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
(11-16-2012, 11:05 PM)2Tim215 Wrote: I just found this information after reading my manual. Also the RT/Clinician advised that the filter it came with is the one that should be used. Just thought I would get some input and if anyone else stumbled across this, sort of bumbed out as I liked the Antibacterial Filters!
Antibacterial Filters
Antibacterial filters are not compatible with the ClimateLine, ClimateLineMAX or SlimLine tubing but can be used with the Standard air tubing. Antibacterial filters increase resistance in the air circuit and may affect accuracy of displayed and delivered pressure, particularly at high flows. ResMed recommends using a filter with a low impedance (eg, less than 2 cm H2O at 60 L/min).

Maybe I'll go back to the Standard Tubing depending on what others with experience with this think. I can still turn on the Humidifier from what I see with the AutoSet. Looking forward to feedback!

That warning is for the "in-line" antibacterial filter.

There are actually two (2) different filters you can use for with the S9(See page 27 of the Clincial Manual):
The Standard Filter - 88% efficiency at 7 microns
A Hypo-allergenic filter - 89.8% efficiency at 0.5 microns, bacterial efficiency of 99.54%

Most DMEs now sell "generic" filters of both types.
I have found the that ResMed brand of both filters are actually of better quality.

Since your insurance will pay the same price for either the generic or name brand, I always demand the ResMed brand.
Post Reply Post Reply


#14
(11-21-2012, 12:08 PM)StuUnderPressure Wrote:
(11-16-2012, 11:05 PM)2Tim215 Wrote: I just found this information after reading my manual. Also the RT/Clinician advised that the filter it came with is the one that should be used. Just thought I would get some input and if anyone else stumbled across this, sort of bumbed out as I liked the Antibacterial Filters!
Antibacterial Filters
Antibacterial filters are not compatible with the ClimateLine, ClimateLineMAX or SlimLine tubing but can be used with the Standard air tubing. Antibacterial filters increase resistance in the air circuit and may affect accuracy of displayed and delivered pressure, particularly at high flows. ResMed recommends using a filter with a low impedance (eg, less than 2 cm H2O at 60 L/min).

Maybe I'll go back to the Standard Tubing depending on what others with experience with this think. I can still turn on the Humidifier from what I see with the AutoSet. Looking forward to feedback!
Thank you, appreciate the info! Question, are the ResMed Filters in a sealed package so we know we received the right ones?

That warning is for the "in-line" antibacterial filter.

There are actually two (2) different filters you can use for with the S9(See page 27 of the Clincial Manual):
The Standard Filter - 88% efficiency at 7 microns
A Hypo-allergenic filter - 89.8% efficiency at 0.5 microns, bacterial efficiency of 99.54%

Most DMEs now sell "generic" filters of both types.
I have found the that ResMed brand of both filters are actually of better quality.

Since your insurance will pay the same price for either the generic or name brand, I always demand the ResMed brand.

Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Post Reply Post Reply
#15
Yes, they are in sealed packages (1 filter per pack)
Have your DME special order just 1 filter, if they do not have them in stock. Then, see if YOU can tell the difference.

The sealed pack does say ResMed on it.
Check the pack before you leave the DME.
If it does not say ResMed, it is NOT the ResMed filter.
Post Reply Post Reply
#16
(11-21-2012, 12:48 PM)StuUnderPressure Wrote: Yes, they are in sealed packages (1 filter per pack)
Have your DME special order just 1 filter, if they do not have them in stock. Then, see if YOU can tell the difference.

The sealed pack does say ResMed on it.
Check the pack before you leave the DME.
If it does not say ResMed, it is NOT the ResMed filter.

Okay, appreciate it!
Tim
Finger Lakes Region, NY
Post Reply Post Reply


#17
Did they mention that the 0.5 micron filter will clog up faster than the 7 micron?
Keep that in mind and keep the filter changed if you use the 0.5 micron.

So is it really a 0.5 micron filter?

Check this out:

Human Hair ......................................... (70 - 100 microns)
Human Sneeze ................................. (10 - 100 microns)
Pet Dander .......................................... (0.5 - 100 microns)
Pollen ................................................... (5 - 100 microns)
Spores from Plants .............................. (6 - 100 microns)
Mold...................................................... (2 - 20 microns)
Smoke ................................................... (.01 - 1 micron)
Dust Mite Debris ................................. (0.5 - 50 microns)
Household Dust ................................. (.05 - 100 microns)
Skin Flakes ........................................... (0.4 - 10 microns)
Bacteria................................................. (0.35 - 10 microns)


Just my S.W.A.G:
I bet the finer filter is really a 5 micron filter and not 0.5. Why? The 0.5 micron filter would be so restrictive
that the airflow through the machine would very well be insufficient to work properly.
How come?
I have an air purifier from Honeywell that uses a HEPA filter. That is good down to 0.3 microns HOWEVER.
The filter is the size of a large canister shop vac and has a motor bigger than two CPAP machines in size.
It also uses a pre-filter that gets changed often so the HEPA element does not get clogged.

Final test. Hold the 0.5 micron filter up to a strong light. See any pinholes?
You wont with 0.5 micron filters.

Just my 2 cents worth. Wink






"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] Filter change time! PaulaO2 58 18,091 06-24-2017, 09:44 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
  [Equipment] Airsense 10 Autoset with ClimateLine heated hose - water in hose Electric Dreamer 4 262 06-16-2017, 08:18 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Weinmann / Löwenstein Prisma 20A Auto CPAP: APAP settings: standard vs. dynamic Costas P 0 160 06-08-2017, 06:35 PM
Last Post: Costas P
  Respironics Everflo Q-Settings when connected to ClimateLine Oxy for AirSense 10 Auto Orionsnet 6 280 03-26-2017, 04:35 PM
Last Post: Orionsnet
  Resmed Airsense "response" soft or standard Binti1962 9 730 03-21-2017, 01:22 PM
Last Post: Marillion
  CPAP FILTER, CHANGE OR NOT TO CHANGE pavelow360 20 877 03-16-2017, 02:38 PM
Last Post: hobbs
  Climician's Screen on DeVilbiss Blue Standard Plus Johnbrooking 3 281 03-06-2017, 08:48 PM
Last Post: OpalRose

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.