Post Reply 
Starting pressures for new (used) vpap
Author Message
MaddMike Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: May 2015

Machine: S9 Vpap Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Simplus
Humidifier: F&P
CPAP Pressure: 7.4-16 PS2.6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Starting pressures for new (used) vpap
Hello all, new user here after becoming curious about my machine. I had tried a year ago to get my 7 year old cpap (S8 autoset II) replaced with a Vpap due to mixed apnea that i knew i had, however they refused to cover it without a new sleep study that i reduse to take part in for several reasons. I'm sure others have noticed that their insurance also forces them to buy through a higher priced "in-network" provider.. What good is insurance that covers 50% if the price is double the going rate?
Anyhow- my cpap is set at 7-20. I recently discovered the clinical settings and have attempted to improve my AHI which has been over 15 and as high as 30. I played with a few things and the only thing that helped was turning EPR to full time at max setting of 3. In auto mode it seems to want to be around 10cm.
Now i am excited that i have found a used S9 Vpap Auto with very little ise and it is on the way.
Does anyone have any suggestions on where to start with the settings?
05-26-2015 06:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #2
RE: Starting pressures for new (used) vpap
What events are you seeing? OA's vs CA's vs Hypops...... What is your median and 95% pressure?

You mention you're at a min 7, with EPR of 3 which indicates an effective exhale rate of 4, vs: a max pressure of 20? Sometimes specifying a max pressure way removed from your actual therapeutic levels is not a great idea. Nor is having a minimum pressure too far below your median and 95% level. So before you worry too much about what the new machine should be set to, it would be great to try to understand where you're at right now.
05-26-2015 06:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
MaddMike Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: May 2015

Machine: S9 Vpap Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Simplus
Humidifier: F&P
CPAP Pressure: 7.4-16 PS2.6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Starting pressures for new (used) vpap
Sorry, i shoulded included a little more info. 7-20 with fulltime EPR off was what it came set at and stayed at until i got into it. Noting that it wants to run around 10, i narrowed it to 8-16 but i know that is still fairly broad. Also, i dont believe it goves me the info you are asking for. It gives AHI info and the rest im not sure whaat it means (such as AI). I know it isnt compatible with the sleepyhead software so i wanted to start collecting better data once i use the new machine.
I know i'm no expert, but i feel like i dont need more pressure, but more exhale relief. I have always been a lazy/periodic breather even during the day, ans occasionally i need to take pain things that make that issue worse
05-26-2015 07:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trailrider Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 304
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: A10 Autoset for Her
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Eson or P10
Humidifier: autoset
CPAP Pressure: 6-12 DME, 7-13 me
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: engineer. EPR at 3, unheated hose, humidity at 2. Routine hose entanglement.

Sex: Female
Location: Ontario

Post: #4
RE: Starting pressures for new (used) vpap
So, you are really now at 8-16, EPR 3? I think leave it for a while that way. Does that model have a SD card? If so you can download the ResScan software from Resmed and have a look. If not, get used to the pressures and when your new-to-you machine arrives, put in those settings.
05-26-2015 08:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: Starting pressures for new (used) vpap
Hi MaddMike,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy and CONGRATULATIONS! on the new machine, .!
Hang in there for more responses to your post.

trish6hundred
05-26-2015 09:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
MaddMike Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: May 2015

Machine: S9 Vpap Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Simplus
Humidifier: F&P
CPAP Pressure: 7.4-16 PS2.6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #6
RE: Starting pressures for new (used) vpap
Thank you for the welcomes, and the replies. Trailblazer- i agree. And yes, my S8 autoset II does have an sd card, but i do not believe it can differentiate between the event types. I believe that i am having central apnea that it is unable to conpensate for, and for the price i found this new one at, I feel it was a great investment.
So- it does seem more simple the way you put it. I can simply put the same settings in, along with a bit more exhale pressure relief and let it titrate while i collect the data for a while.
Thanks,
Mike
05-26-2015 10:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
krelvin Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 155
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Auto BiLevel
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air
Humidifier: S9 Series H5i Heated Humidifier with Climate Control
CPAP Pressure: 10.6cm - 18cm - PS 4cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: FlashAir WiFi SDcard with SleepMaster/FlashPAP - Weather Nut

Sex: Male
Location: Mesa AZ

Post: #7
RE: Starting pressures for new (used) vpap
Sleepyhead which you were using before will work with the new machine. You might need to get the newer version.

That will give you more than a simple text display of your info.

Current Settings PS 4.0 over 10.6-18.0 (cmH2O) BiLevel Auto
TNET Sleep Resource Pages
CPAP Machine Database
05-27-2015 03:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question [Equipment] S9 VPAP AUTO QT2U 0 149 11-05-2016 12:27 AM
Last Post: QT2U
  setting for starting choce Bill Hall 2 212 10-26-2016 08:20 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  resmed s9 vpap s faliure marcus112 6 363 10-21-2016 08:57 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
Question 109AHI, starting 2nd week on CPAP, have some questions toinewi 38 2,428 10-14-2016 06:19 AM
Last Post: JaneAM
  Question on masks that will handle higher pressures like 27 nanook683 13 898 09-21-2016 07:14 AM
Last Post: nanook683
Question Is there a benefit to increase my starting pressure? Rousseau21 10 1,504 09-13-2016 12:14 PM
Last Post: Maskup Sleepwell
  Just Diagnosed - Starting Treatment SleepySleeps 30 1,194 09-12-2016 03:14 PM
Last Post: SleepySleeps

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)